What was the Attendence like?
(top of the league, Im on top of the world)
Funny, but loads of teams seem to be "handing things to us on plates" this year......!Originally Posted by pineapple stu
....now where's that ironic smilie......![]()
What was the Attendence like?
(top of the league, Im on top of the world)
UCD say 500 odd. About 50-70 city fans.
One of the most powerful & skillfull attacking performances in years. I hope the tv pictures do justice to the goals.
UCD had some good attacking at 0-0 but the 2 goals in 2 moinutes really killed them. George, Fenn & Kearney were dancing around midfield, some great one-twos, flicks & passes to feet. Then had the pace of O'Flynn & Roy.
Most impressive area of performance was the agressiveness & drive from City. Gamble & George stole the ball off midfielder numerous times. Played game at great pace & never let up even when game was over at 3-1.
O'Fynn rounded the keeper & had shot clearer off the line. George fecked up an open goal header by trying to place too much. Roy paniced when through on goal & passed instead of shooting.
23 points from last 27 whereas shels have got only 11.
I don't know what to say. We defended very very bad. Whitmarsh was awful aswell which blunted us. I think your first goal had a lot of luck in it to be fair and perhaps that was the catalyst as I felt we were doing grand up to then considering our league positions. The second goal was ridiculous. O'Callaghan just walked right through us. The penalty I honestly have no idea about. Can City lads clarify as it was in line with your end? I felt we were in with a shout up until that. But following the penalty it all went to hell for whatever reason. O'Callaghan walked right through us a fair few times that night. With all due respect to him it had more to do with our poorness than his brilliance. Fair play to Cork they had the clinicalness to take advatage of our collapse but the annoying thing was it wasn't as if you were very hungry for it or anything, it just happened. Your fans made a decent amount of noise, nothing close to Derry but more than any of our Dublin rivals.
Goal 1 - Kearney was lucky as just hit him but thats was becuase O'Flynn missed the header.
Goal 2 - Great passing throughout the team.
Goal 3 - Kearney fell over defenders outstretched leg but was definitely insdie the box. Think looked bad as he was heading towards the corner flag.
Goal 4 & 5 - City rampant at that stage with poor defending but clinical finishing.
I disagree about the hunger as City employed high pressure tactic closing down defenders & midfielders even when ahead whereas recently we'd have sit back at 3-1. I think team learnt leasson from Bray where totally dominated but almost lost it in dying minutes.
I was surprised to win so well as UCD been on good run recently. However our away form has been staggering this season with no fluke wins.
Fantastic to hear we dominated so much in midfield as the commentators said that UCD played with 5 in the center for the second half.
One other thing that impresses me is that we are not letting teams back level when they pull goals back - eg; Bray, UCD, etc
Well done to Cork, best performance I've seen from an EL team in a long time. We were hopeless, especially after going 3-1 down, but Cork didn't give us a chance to get back into the game at that stage. Had Whitmarsh put away that chance at 2-1 though we might have got something as we were putting Cork under some pressure at that stage, at least the final score might have been a bit closer!
lads still amazed by last nights performance, i woke up this morning with a hor^ thinking about it.![]()
First Division Champions
kevincronin2000
Without wishing to take anything away from City's peformance... that is too much information![]()
Originally Posted by kevincronin2000
True, but Fenn (?) walked through three or four "tackles" - should properly be termed "what should have been tackles" - before freeing Kearney for the cross.Originally Posted by pete
Once off from us, I hope. Just like the 6-0 defeat to Bohs a couple of years back. We came back with a dull 0-0 draw at home to Pat's and got back on the ropes. Guess who our next home game is against?!![]()
When I got the result last night by text. I couldn't belive the scoreline, because we always find U.C.D very hard to beat and our record against them is crap. I'm over the moon with the result.Surley now if we win our game in hand that we have we will go on and win the league.
COME ON CITY!![]()
City Til I Die
Champions 2005
I only bought the Echo yesterday so I didn't see any other papers but can anyone tell me if the usual headlines were written? You know the ones:
"5 star City outCLASS the students"
or
"5 star City TEACH the students a LESSON"
john back to his old tricks??
hats off to flynny??![]()
life is random
I thought it was O'Callaghan?Originally Posted by pineapple stu
City were attacking in such a blur hartd to notice one city player from another.Originally Posted by Poor Student
Do you work for Aertel?Originally Posted by sullanefc
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.
Do you think they would give me a jobOriginally Posted by Troy.McClure
Probably![]()
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.
Originally Posted by pete