Thread: Trimming the squad.

Trimming the squad.

It's obvious that the above mentioned is going to happen. If I'm not mistaken, here is the squad at the moment.

Gary Cassin, Stephen O'Brien, Michael Dempsey, Shay Kelly

Stephen Paisley, Barry Ferguson, Sean Dillon, Danny O'Connor, Sean Prunty

Alan Kirby, Dean Fitzgerald, Davy Byrne, Tom Mohan, Gary Cronin, John Martin, Gary Murphy, Alan Cawley.

Shane Barrett, Paul Keegan, Dessie Baker, Andy Myler, Dave Mooney.

Five Lads in bold, probably definatly gone. Nine in Italics should be staying, all the rest I'm not that bothered by. Would like to keep Barry. But realistically we should be looking at a reduced squad with the young lads making an impact.... will it happen. Times can't be always good, and we need to make in-roads on local devolpment.
    Last edited by Xlex; 05/11/2005 at 7:11 PM. Reason: to include my obvious happiness in Town73's post....
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Spoke to Sean Prunty today and he spoke about building the squad for next season, getting players in and having more consistency in the league. Not sure it's as clear cut that he's on his way.

I heard that John Martin has infact re-signed for Longford Town (I heard it from a guy who said he was told by Johnnys dad)
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Wheres Kirby going????????
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

I really hope he doesn't go. He's easily one of the best players we have.

Quote Originally Posted by themull69
    I really hope he doesn't go. He's easily one of the best players we have.
    I think he has had a bad season by Kirbys standards

3,489 Posts
    What's the story with Keegan? I've heard we're looking to sign him for next season.

Also, youz aren't keeping Cawley?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    What's the story with Keegan? I've heard we're looking to sign him for next season.

Also, youz aren't keeping Cawley?
    I'd say Keego will be gone, but as of yet no changes have been confirmed

As for Cawley I doubt it, I have heard he is a bit of trouble maker within the squad

3,489 Posts
    Is Keegan any good any more? I know he was a half-decent forward a few years ago - with Bray especially - but seems to be a bit-part player with youz now?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Is Keegan any good any more? I know he was a half-decent forward a few years ago - with Bray especially - but seems to be a bit-part player with youz now?
    Keegan had a good season for us this year actually (taking into consideration how our season has been). I think he would be in contention for player of the season. He got motm against waterford that was live on tg4 earlier in the year

Hes the kind of player who makes up for his lack of ability with hard graft and grit determination. His work rate in some matches (eg. waterford match on tv) is unbelievable. Unfortunately doesnt score enough goals..thats what lets him down, misses that clinical edge that separates the average strikers from the top strikers. Endears himself to the fans with his work rate though,took his fair share of knocks this season aswell!
    we are going up

1,104 Posts
    I believe Keego's looking to go to Scotland or at least considering it. His fiancee is Scottish and is based there apparently. I doubt he'll end up at UCD, no offence like but I don't see it.

Cawley thought he was a superstar, really good player but no man is bigger than a team, we don't need that sort
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RockofGibraltar
    His work rate in some matches is unbelievable. Unfortunately doesnt score enough goals..that's what lets him down, misses that clinical edge that separates the average strikers from the top strikers.
    Ah right - we've enough of those already, thanks!

We defo need a clean out alright and i'd have several players up for the chop.IMO those who should be let go or are going are the following
    Shane Barrett: Just hasn't lived up to 1st season
    Paul Keegan: Not good enough
    Barry Ferguson: Leaving anyway
    Mick Dempsey: Not good enough
    Stephen O' Brien: Leaving anyway
    Shay Kelly: Not good enough
    Andy Myler: Quite a let down this season
    Gary Cronin: See above
    Stephen Gough: Not good enough

Next season should be the one where we try and sustain a good league run and score some bloody goals with good cup runs to boot.
    Last edited by Wiseguy; 08/11/2005 at 9:08 AM.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    We defo need a clean out alright and i'd have several players up for the chop.IMO those who should be let go or are going are the following
    Paul Keegan: Not good enough
    Barry Ferguson: Leaving anyway
    Mick Dempsey: Not good enough
    Stephen O' Brien: Leaving anyway
    Shay Kelly: Not good enough
    Andy Myler: Quite a let down this season
    Gary Cronin: See above
    Alan Gough: Not good enough

Next season should be the one where we try and sustain a good league run and score some bloody goals with good cup runs to boot.
    Alan Gough? Who is he?
    never say 'what do girls know about football' !

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    The season was just getting into the height of it when he was injured and he was out for ages, so I think this season was a disaster for him.

I would keep him in the Team .

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Right full that has replaced Murph.

He is way too timid. Couple of classic instances of it on Friday. Doesn't show half enough aggression.
    He was completely at fault for the UCD goal that put us out of the cup - let his man wander about three/four yards . Bang. Goal. matthews out !"
    I think you will both find that his name is infact Steven Gough

keego will prob leave at the end of the season, his father in law died in recent weeks and he will be moving over with his wife to be ( or so i've been told )

now, i'm prob in the minority here.....but whats the difference between garto and baz leaving ??? both to other clubs and lets face it, both for money ????

all the abuse garto took, does baz deserve the same.....for leaving.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    I think you will both find that his name is infact Steven Gough
    I phrased the question in that was cos had the feelin Wiseguy didnt know he was wrong and wanted to give him the chance to see did he really know what he was talking about.... I did no Stephen was his name, hence the reason I only asked one question.... Some plp on this site like to think they know a lot more than they actually do... !
    never say 'what do girls know about football' !