Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: No Rovers in Flancare

176 Posts
    I must admit, that the Kilcoyne banner displayed by Cork fans against Rovers, was one of the most disturbing, and incitement-provoking banners, that I have ever seen at any LOI game. How anyone with the remotest interest in this league, whether they support Cork, Cobh, or Culdaff, could possibly describe a person who effectively destroyed an entire club in an instant, as a hero, is seriously fkd-up!!

Louis Kilcoyne is about as popular with Rovers fans, as Abu Al Zarqawi is in Liverpool. As I have said before, Kilcoyne in the Rovers dictionary = foul and abusive word. The man is among other things, a traitor, a repulsive parasite, and a permanent black mark in the history of Irish club football, and all who follow it's progress. The devastation he caused at Rovers is as vast, as the damage done in the Asian tsunami last year. However much the club has tried to pick up the pieces since then, it just can't. The club has no assets, no board, no home, no income, and solely exists on goodwill and charity, unlike any club at any level in this country. It's like a car running without petrol, or an engine. It merely has seats, and four wheels, one of them flat. No matter what direction we try to steer the club in, it can't go anywhere. LK is solely responsible for the state the club is in, and always has been in, since April 1987. The thought that any NL fan could gloat about him, after everything he did is frankly, quite disgusting.

The RK chant, while tasteless, is not specifically aimed in the direction of anyone connected with Cork City FC, and is tame by comparison.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Now I more than most have put up the issue of stewarding and policing when it comes to trouble in the eL, which often means sticking up for Rovers.

However, some of the reasoning here is pathetic from otherwise seemingly sane posters. Kilcoyne banners and songs no excuse, certainly no more than the likes of the Cork clubs thing mentioned (those clubs actually did die).

We get to the point where we agree that the standard of policing/ stewarding should be improved to prevent trouble, and youse have to push it that bit further...

If SRFC spent more time looking to solve the problem than looking for excuses they might actually make some headway.All the EL teams need to sit down and come up with a solution or we will always be hearing about the trouble at the Bohs v Rovers match ect..
    I have to say that using incitement as an excuse is rediculous.We listen to the sheep shagging chants and abuse at most Dublin grounds but we don't react.A SRFC fan asked me for a light outside of Mc Dowells after the replay last year.All of a sudden he had by the throat calling me Longford scum as his friends egged him on.Only for the cops wee there he would of choked me.I never said anything offensive or inciteful other that we should of finished the job the first day.There are just some who are looking for an excuse.If SRFC started something like stopping those who are trouble makers getting on the Buses to away matches and then having there own security at the ground to stop them getting in there it would be a start but it appears that so far the club have done nothing except make excuses.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Lads ignore this dfx character. Seems obvious he's a sh1t stirrer. Maybe he and eh 'cop on' should team up!

We'll be in the town for a few pre match bevvies. Honestly we wont eat your children!

The reason we want to change ends is to support the team shooting into that end, not to cause trouble.

Longford have left a bad taste though. And have created a problem where there is none. Treat anybody like animals and they will act accordingly.

BTW eanna why have the away fans been moved to the other stand in cark? Is this so you can see our banners on tv?!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    The reason we want to change ends is to support the team shooting into that end, not to cause trouble.
    Im sure taunting digger o brien never comes into the equation

I am a law-abiding Rovers supporter. However I would be sorely tempted to confront that first class idiot who made that flag. If I would, what do you think the reaction of 'less aware' thugs would be?
    Well if thats your attitude then you are every bit the thug as other Rovers fans. There is no excuse to "confront" someone as you put it

It seems you lot are taking what roddy says a little too seriously!
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Seems obvious he's a sh1t stirrer.

Longford have left a bad taste though. And have created a problem where there is none. Treat anybody like animals and they will act accordingly.
    Not everything is as it seems obviously.

Precisely. Nothing happened. As it was not likely to. Once we're not treated like animals - but according to people who've replied here it seems it's our fault when we react like animals when pushed to act like that (I'm thinking of the apparent 8 foot high fence).
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    Precisely. Nothing happened. As it was not likely to. Once we're not treated like animals - but according to people who've replied here it seems it's our fault when we react like animals when pushed to act like that (I'm thinking of the apparent 8 foot high fence).
    And according to people who replied hear no-one expected anything to happen and dont worry d f x,you've convinced us all that nothings ever rovers fault.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    and dont worry d f x,you've convinced us all that nothings ever rovers fault.
    I'm not going to repeat myself
    The Model Club

1,104 Posts
    Just want to (shock horror ) praise Rovers and their fans for their impeccable behaviour. Partciular credit to the SRFC stewards who, despite their grumbling about Rovers not paying them, were by all accounts the best stewards to have come down to Flancare, thoroughly professional. Hopefully future rows can be avoided. Nice of you to give us three points too by the way.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    I am a law-abiding Rovers supporter. However I would be sorely tempted to confront that first class idiot who made that flag. If I would, what do you think the reaction of 'less aware' thugs would be?
    It was a wind-up and it worked. You don't actually think we regard Kilcoyne as a hero, do you? Oh, and I'm not a first-class idiot

BTW eanna why have the away fans been moved to the other stand in cark? Is this so you can see our banners on tv?!
    AFAIK, its because the club were fed up sectioning off a sizeable block of the main stand that was rarely filled by away fans, so they moved it to a smaller section.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Just want to (shock horror ) praise Rovers and their fans for their impeccable behaviour. Partciular credit to the SRFC stewards who, despite their grumbling about Rovers not paying them, were by all accounts the best stewards to have come down to Flancare, thoroughly professional. Hopefully future rows can be avoided. Nice of you to give us three points too by the way.
    Yeah, bar the couple of idiots that would rather go through the fields and climb the back wall of section O rather than pay €15, no problems...

"Why didn't you help me bud?"
    "Why didn't you just pay at the gate?"
    "*long pause* erm, didn't want to...."

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    They're lucky farmer John didn't spot them & set the dogs on 'em
    Well the pigs in the field walking the dogs didn't see them. They were well worth the money

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Well the pigs in the field walking the dogs didn't see them. They were well worth the money
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Oh, and I'm not a first-class idiot
    Could've fooled me (Cue "you're a fool anyway" )

You're welcome, Longfordian..
    The Model Club

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345