Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: No Rovers in Flancare

Thumbs down Disgraceful decision

That is an absolute disgrace. Stopping Shamrock Rovers fans from going to support their team. If you are banning Rovers fans then I think Town fans should be banned too with the game been played behing closed doors. If ye are not happy with the stewarding there then why dont ye do it yerselves or write to the club complaining about them. Either way I dont think it will work because Rovers fans will be more determined to get to this match now, listen out for the cheers from the Shams fans when Rovers stick one in the back of the net .

1,104 Posts
    There's a meeting today to try and sort something out. The Eircom League are the ones making this a category A match, hence insisting on the extra security. The club doesn't want to spend another €7,000 on security, same way we got stung for over €20,000 in the Setanta Cup. We have 40 stewards who have been passed by the FAI and if Rovers as a club co-operate then that's enough. Rovers fans will be allowed in in the end I'd be very surprised if they're not but hopefully some concession will be made on the security.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    If Rovers can't (or choose not to) sort out the thugs and troublemakers in their midst, then what are we to do?
    We should - and will - discriminate against all groups of thugs, yobs, vandals, thieves and hooligans who bring our club and ground into disrepute. Shame on you Cork for not standing up to this thuggery.
    Not standing up to it? When have we not stood up to it? I (for one) have always condemned violence at football matches, but if you want to start on about thuggery have a look at the attitude of some of your stewards ebfore condemning rovers.

Ban lifted apparently.

So is that still a big security bill and scared off a lot of people from attending?

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Ban lifted apparently.

So is that still a big security bill and scared off a lot of people from attending?
    Yeah, we're bringing our own security. The last time we brought our own security to Flancare they were told in no uncertain terms that they weren't needed or wanted. That's why we haven't had our own security in recent seasons.

Incidentally, we always get the dogs/helicopters treatment at Flancare as we do at Waterford as well.

This whole thing has been handled shamefully. People willing to tar hundreds of fans with the one brush. All it's done is assure the biggest Rovers away following at Flancare for years. And, as Macy points out, probably scared off a good few locals. Well done.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Fair enuf Macy i know Bohs ran amuck in the Town that night.As for all the rest they have never caused half the trouble Rovers have.20 of them jumped a 60 year old man.I've seen them spitting at kids and adults provoking their kids to start trouble.Someone needs to stand up and say enuf is enuf.SRFC don't give a toss about the behaviour of their fans and it appears as if they have done nothing to stop the trouble.If nobody takes steps to stop it then it will just go on and on.
    Hopefully they will be allowed to attend the game Saturday night.Hopefully they will have to foot the bill for the additional security.Hopefully the game will pass off without any trouble but i can't see this.I just have a bad feeling that some Rovers fans will use this as an excuse to cause more mayhem.If they do i wonder who will be blamed then and what excuses will be made.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    I just have a bad feeling that some Rovers fans will use this as an excuse to cause more mayhem.
    A lose lose imo - some stewards just waiting to have an excuse to wade in, some rovers lads just waiting for the excuse for a scrap, and the rest of us left to pick up the pieces amongst the recriminations....

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Yeah, we're bringing our own security. The last time we brought our own security to Flancare they were told in no uncertain terms that they weren't needed or wanted. That's why we haven't had our own security in recent seasons.
    In this case it's absolutely paramount that there's no hassle from rovers fans whatsoever. No excuses about provocation from Longford stewards or anything, Rovers are close to putting their reputation on the line over this.
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    A lose lose imo - some stewards just waiting to have an excuse to wade in, some rovers lads just waiting for the excuse for a scrap, and the rest of us left to pick up the pieces amongst the recriminations....
    Exactly. Its all been handled very badly, and I fear you're right. I just hope both sides have enough common sense.

Eh, I know this sort of sounds pretty simple, but why didn't longford ask rovers to bring their own security before releasing a statement saying they were banned
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

We never bit the bait when the Linfield fans tried to taunt us and i feel it will be the same with Rovers but the ball is in their court now so there can't be any excuses now although if there is trouble you can be sure that they'll point the finger at everyone else other than take responsibilty for their own actions.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

1,104 Posts
    Presumably, the Rovers security will be looking after their fans so I cant really see our stewards causing much bother to them. Cosmo, it was the League who were insisting on extra security, the FAI stewards who would cost €75 a head. Grand with us if Rovers look after themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Shame on you Cork for not standing up to this thuggery.

What a muppet!
    I think a certain element of City fans are one of the few people who do "stand up" to Rovers whenever they come to the Cross!

Longford are a joke imo. Their stewards are clowns. They've tried to start aggro with the Rebel Army on a few occasions aswell, trying to make us change ends, stopping people from standing in the aisles, giving out to people for leaning over the wall etc etc etc etc.
    The most ridiculous of the lot though is that they don't allow the use of TIFO flags as they are weapons! And guess who they blamed when we questioned this decision.... you got it, the Rovers fans!

I hope Rovers travel in huge numbers now just to **** off the muppets at LTFC.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Rovers are close to putting their reputation on the line over this.
    What reputation?

If you were to believe the media, hysterical Bohs fans and some equally hysterical posters on here, we're a threat to the very fabric of society.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Absolutelty delighted that this decision has been lifted.Its not LTFCs problem now.The onus is on the rovers fans now to behave themselves!

I think banning Rovers fans would cost Longford alot of money in the future. If you put it this way, if Shamrock Rovers had 200 fans at Flancare Park on Saturday night each paying €10 to get in, that's €2000 gone strait away. It mighten sound like alot of money, but it would have a major affect on Longford's gate money. It would be the wrong decision anyway I think.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    What a muppet!
    I think a certain element of City fans are one of the few people who do "stand up" to Rovers whenever they come to the Cross!
    Would those be the moronic lowlives who think that throwing a few stones (and hitting their own fans with half of them) is "standing up to rovers"

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    What reputation?

If you were to believe the media, hysterical Bohs fans and some equally hysterical posters on here, we're a threat to the very fabric of society.

The reputation that most straight-thinking people ascribe to rovers when they ignore all the ****e that some gutter journo's write.

i am delighted that a compromise has being reached between both sides .lets hope that the rovers stewards will do their job properly and control their own fans.

phew! was not looking forward to the demonstration outside the ground. lets hope it will be a good sporting game on saturday night!

Whether our fans are banned or not, the *real* thug element of Rovers supporters who only go to Dalymount away and Inchicore every season now suddenly know which county Longford play in, how to get there and how easy it'll be to cause trouble there.

I suspect they might be paying a visit soon to test what the fuss is about..
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    Whether our fans are banned or not, the *real* thug element of Rovers supporters who only go to Dalymount away and Inchicore every season now suddenly know which county Longford play in, how to get there and how easy it'll be to cause trouble there.

I suspect they might be paying a visit soon to test what the fuss is about..

To be honest I have a bad feeling about this saturday hope im wrong but i have a bad feeling

Hopefully this will give the real rovers fans an oppurtunity to stand up to the trouble makers,they know that if any trouble happens,there will be serious problems for them
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast