Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: No Rovers in Flancare

Really dissapointed with the club for this,totally un called for and i hope they re-consider this.Its only going to harm the clubs reputation among el supporters.This is going to cause bad blood between rovers and town fans and possible future trouble,unless they are never going to let any rovers fans in agan .A totally stupid and un-proffessional decision.
    As for the recent incidents by rovers fans?What were they?
    A pitch invasion in celebration in a crucial dublin derby which led to bottles being exchanged between BOTH fans,a scuffle between 2 16-17 yobs outside the ground.These incidents hardly indicate that theres going to be any kind of trouble at flancare.Are they going to ban all shels supporters.As I remember the last time rovers came down they were excellent and no trouble occured.The mini-riot last year also involved town fans who were only to glad to get at the rovers fans.Why didnt the club ban the glens fans when alot of them had taken part in a full scale war at the oval the previous week.
    Once again,disgraceful decision and I for one will not be attending the game in protest.

As for why supporters would want to change sides?A better view i guess.Town fans rarely change sides but they often refuse to sit where they are told in the first place
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Another deplorable decision from LTFC. If Jim Hanley has any sense in that head of his he will resind that decision.It is an absolute disgrace to say that we can contain a large volume of Linfield and Glentoran fans in the setanta cup yet we cant contol a few hundered shams supporter.One would be a complete jester to believe the Rovers fans will accept this decision.They will travel down anyway i can garantee that.This will only create trouble outside the ground and imo even worse may happen in the town itself.Think of it logically these people dont have brain like you and me.If they dont get into the game they will cause havoc.It is an absolute crying shame on Longford Town F.C if this decision is upheld.The irony is its likely to cause more trouble.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Less of the hysteria lads. Overall it is a very, very good decision by the club. It costs the club an absolute FORTUNE when Rovers come to Town. We have to hire extra security - including the overpriced guards who don't seem to do anything.

As to "hitting" the gate receipts - our gate receipts take a dive anyway because parents don't want to bring their kids to the Rovers fixture because of the threat of violence. Perhaps (hopefully) they will come out on the night now that that threat is diminished.

As for damaging our "image" or "standing". Au contraire. It will do nothing but good for our image on two fronts - firstly it shows that we have absolutely no dealings with supporters intent on causing trouble and dragging the club into disrepute (It doesn't matter if the troublemakers are Town supporters or Rovers supporters - the local non-soccer-going population doesn't differentiate. The gossip the next morning in Town will begin with "Oh did ye hear there was trouble in Flancare park last night"?) Secondly it shows we have ball$ - we are the first club to stand up and declare that we are no longer willing to put up with this nonsense.

And for all you bleeding hearts - just remember a couple of seasons ago when the Rovers supporters bus parked in the cathedral car park after a match, let the boys out & they came down the Town & caused havoc - including cleaning out the off-licence and terrorising the young wan behind the counter. I take it none of ye are related to her ??

Don't worry your sweet head Sonic, I'd say Jim Hanley's brilliant mind has this one well and truly sussed out - I'll tell him to give you a shout next time he holds a conference call. Then again, you'd wanna change your mantra.

you would say that pile of garbage cause you are a steward and they are not exactly coming out too well on this thread and othr threads before this.At the end of the day it is gonna cause trouble in town.You would be stupid to think otherwise.The fact is unless you block the n4 and make sure noone in a hoops jersey heads on his way you wont prevent them from coming.The fact the club is banning them is going to infuriate them even moreso and i can see all hell breaking loose in the town. oh and the mantra is stayin dont you worry
    Last edited by Sonic; 24/06/2005 at 4:27 PM.

ban is a good decision

Every time rovers come to town, there is pandemonium in longford. apart from the nasty incidents at the games which keeps over 100 longford peeps away from flancare, they wreck the town, just ask the publicans and shops who have been smashed up and robbed by their rowdy element and not to mention the people beaten up by those fans. also why should longford pay out €7500 ON SECURITY EVERY TIME THEY COME TO TOWN, WHEN USUALLY €500 IS THE NORMAL COST. THE CLUB DONT PAY FOR SECURITY OUTSIDE THE GROUND. ALSO IN OTHER COUNTRIES AWAY FANS HAVE BEEN BANNED FROM GROUNDS, SO IT AINT NOTHING NEW AND NOT FORGETTING BRAY LAST SEASON WHEN GOLF BALLS AND BOTTLES WERE THROWN AT PLAYERS AND RIOTING IN DALYMOUNT AND THIE FANS AND TEAM BEING BANNED FROM INCHICORE THIS SEASON!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by gheewhizz
    Every time rovers come to town, there is pandemonium in longford. apart from the nasty incidents at the games which keeps over 100 longford peeps away from flancare, they wreck the town, just ask the publicans and shops who have been smashed up and robbed by their rowdy element and not to mention the people beaten up by those fans. also why should longford pay out €7500 ON SECURITY EVERY TIME THEY COME TO TOWN, WHEN USUALLY €500 IS THE NORMAL COST. THE CLUB DONT PAY FOR SECURITY OUTSIDE THE GROUND. ALSO IN OTHER COUNTRIES AWAY FANS HAVE BEEN BANNED FROM GROUNDS, SO IT AINT NOTHING NEW AND NOT FORGETTING BRAY LAST SEASON WHEN GOLF BALLS AND BOTTLES WERE THROWN AT PLAYERS AND RIOTING IN DALYMOUNT AND THIE FANS AND TEAM BEING BANNED FROM INCHICORE THIS SEASON!!!!
    You are completely missing the point.The fact is you are not going to stop that roudy element from travelling anyway and i fear even more PANDEMONIUM then usual.

Two points, most people here are disagreeing with the club, are you going to let your feelings known or just rant and rave on here???
    Secondly, most seem to run down the stewards any chance they get, have you ever considered becoming one, even for one game???
    I'm not a steward by the way.......
    Maybe we should have an identity card scheme set up.........just an idea!

I did not once rant and rave about stewards.MY GRIPE is with the club on this issue.I feel its going to cause more trouble than its worth that is the only point i am making

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonic
    you would say that pile of garbage cause you are a steward and they are not exactly coming out too well on this thread and othr threads before this.At the end of the day it is gonna cause trouble in town.You would be stupid to think otherwise.The fact is unless you block the n4 and make sure noone in a hoops jersey heads on his way you wont prevent them from coming.The fact the club is banning them is going to infuriate them even moreso and i can see all hell breaking loose in the town.
    I don't have enough words to describe how angry and appalled I am with the decision taken by your club, a club that I had a lot of time for. Ultimately, it will be a self-defeating tactic for the club, if our fans go up there. If we are allowed in, the atmosphere will be tense, and the slightest incident could set the fans off. If we are refused entry, chaos may result outside the ground. If so, the Gardai will have to deal with a large crowd of angry Rovers fans, which won't be a pretty sight. There is talk about fans of other clubs making the journey to the game also, to show solidarity with our situation, because they recognise it could be their turn to be banned next.

We respect your right to uphold your family image, but this is an hysterical over-reaction to one incident last season, which would have been avoided, if there was enough communication given beforehand. At the last league game, stewards were hostile to our fans as we entered the ground, and after 20 minutes or so, one of them burst out of nowhere chasing a Rovers fan minding his own business at the touchline wall, which led to a crowd of fans gathering to find out why the said fan was singled out, which led to a stand-off, but luckily, no trouble.

What is it with your security? There is no history of aggro between fans of the clubs, your stadium has never been damaged by our fans, so why look to create problems that don't exist? Or maybe they're on a ego trip, and want to gain notoriety. Flancare Park is one of the best grounds to watch a game in, if your stewards did what they're asked to do, it would be a better experience than it currently is.

Longford used to be a welcoming, progressive club. However, following this unprecedented move by the club, it's now a stain on the league.

THE CLUB DONT PAY FOR SECURITY OUTSIDE THE GROUND.
    But how the fook are they going to prevent Rovers fans getting in? Surely that's the clubs responsibility and there's going to have to have extra men outside? And there's going to have extra men inside for the inevitable big scary Rovers fans slip through the net? It's a lose lose situation for the club now.

Why Should The Town Pay 7oooeuro Extra For Security. You Have To Do What The Gardai Say, They Can Pull A Match If You Dont. The Fai Said They Would Split The Cost Of Security Last Season And Then Backtracked And Did Not!! The Club Are Not Willing To Pay Excessive Costs Again This Year And So The Gardai Instructions Dictate That If We Want Just Normal Security, The Club Have To Take The Alternative Action. If The Club Allowed All Rovers Fans To Pay On The Night, The Gardai Would Insist On About 15 To 20 Gardai And 60 To 80 Hired Security Pros From Dublin,and Thats Just For Inside The Ground. Usually There Are Onl 2-3 Gardai At A Match !!!!! The Fai Refused To Subsidise The Extra Costs.

I get the theory, even if I don't agree, but what about the practice? Surely there's going to have to be extra secruity, only without the extra gate money, for when Rovers fans try to get in or to cover for the fact they do get in?

Our actions are NOT a stain on the league - its the actions of a handful of "Hoops" supporters that are a stain on the league. We are a shining example in that we are standing up and saying we don't want to put up with this any longer !
    wrong. The behaviour of the handful of rovers fans who cause trouble IS a stain on the league, but ill-thought out, discriminatory behaviour like that which LTFC are indulging in by banning rovers fans is also a stain on the league. Shame on longford

Why Should The Town Pay 7oooeuro Extra For Security. You Have To Do What The Gardai Say, They Can Pull A Match If You Dont. The Fai Said They Would Split The Cost Of Security Last Season And Then Backtracked And Did Not!! The Club Are Not Willing To Pay Excessive Costs Again This Year And So The Gardai Instructions Dictate That If We Want Just Normal Security, The Club Have To Take The Alternative Action. If The Club Allowed All Rovers Fans To Pay On The Night, The Gardai Would Insist On About 15 To 20 Gardai And 60 To 80 Hired Security Pros From Dublin,and Thats Just For Inside The Ground. Usually There Are Onl 2-3 Gardai At A Match !!!!! The Fai Refused To Subsidise The Extra Costs.
    Why do the gardai insist on such security,its not needed at every ground where rovers play.I understand the club dont want to be forking out money but surely it could have been handled differently.Why couldnt the club sell tickets through the supporters club,then no security would be needed.If the club sat down and thought about this surely they would see its going to cause more trouble then prevent it.There seems to be more rovers fans coming down now to prove a point and fans from other clubs are thinking of joining them.700 rovers fans protesting on the strokestown road or 400 watching the game and singing inside the ground.Which game would a parent prefer to bring their kids to?Which game would the gardai prefer to cover?Our reputation as a club will be tarnished.Did you read the star on sunday.Not one chairman agreed with us,they all said it was ott and that they wouldnt consider it.What happens when rovers come to flancare next season,if we draw them in the cup or when we go up to dub to play them later this season?This is only creating bad blood and is asking for trouble.The club are getting us into trouble.I hope they change their mind
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

i cant honestly understand how cop on and gheewizz you thik it is a good decision.Surely the extra costs can be overlooked when one considers the trouble this going to cause.MORALLY ITS UNFAIR as it ladels all shams fans as the same and also as bosco says it is tarnishing any Goodwill the club has built up over the years.

Only read a bit of this thread and don’t know if this has been said already, but would it not be possible for Rover’s to bring their own stewards to the game to help out. This would mean that the Rovers fans would not have to be confronted by Longford stewards. They are unlikely to react in an aggressive manner towards decisions made by their own stewards.

It would also mean that Longford wouldn’t have the extra expense of hiring a security firm from Dublin to police the match. I think we did this in the semi final of the cup last year when we played down their and it work well. If they don’t allow Rovers fans to enter the game it will set a bad precedent and we could see other clubs doing the same in future.
    I never apologize.
    I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am.

-Homer J. Simpson

82 Posts
    Its obvious from the posts above that one of the main problems here is the Longford gardai.

If its true that they are making these ridiculous demand of 80 professional stewards and 20+ guards at the game then they need to get real. Am I correct in thinking that the same local guards insisted upon helicopter support and a dog unit for the Linfield game?!

Without wanting to pander to stereotypes, they are comin across like culchies who have an overwhelming fear of people coming up from the big smoke to wreck havoc in the idyllic paradise that is Longford, what with those city people and their car stealing, drug dealing and robbing things........

Rovers bring a big support to Derry and manage not to create any trouble in recent times and we don't have any police in the ground (despite Finn Harps best efforts) and use regular stewards.

And the net result is going to be the same, with the only difference being Longford Town won't have to pay for the policing outside the ground.

Oh and btw, have you ever thought that employing only volunteer fans as stewards might have something to do with the numerous complaints against them from many clubs? Security staff should be impartial and unless you have managed to get a hold of a load of people who are particularly community spirited, you are employing fans who view it as a cheap way to watch the game and as fans will be anything but impartial in their dealings with supporters of other clubs.

176 Posts
    It was not ONE incident, but a litany of incidents over the years that has led the club to this decision. An element of the Rovers support vandalised a number of businesses in the Town, which didn't exactly help either !!

Why should we have to foot the cost of the extra security for these games ??

Our actions are NOT a stain on the league - its the actions of a handful of "Hoops" supporters that are a stain on the league. We are a shining example in that we are standing up and saying we don't want to put up with this any longer !!
    It WAS one isolated incident. That's the main reason why we're booted out of your ground, a ground that was once suggested as a possible base for our home games not so long ago. I have heard about rumours of vandalism in the town, but I go around the town before the game every time we go there, and I have never once seen any disorder in the town centre.

You have to foot the cost of security, because the responsibility for security lies with the home club. If they policed the games in a professional manner, this unfortunate situation would never have arisen. All the money you got for your cup wins, European adventures, and Setanta Cup appearances should easily cover the increased security costs, of hosting one game every season. Pats, and Bohs fans as well as ourselves have complained of their experiences with your security at FP, so we're not alone. We're not the only NL club with a behaviour problem. If we get banned, then what's to stop other clubs' fans being banned from FP too?

All the goodwill that Longford have earned behind-the-scenes, to make themselves a role model for other clubs, has been undone with one terrible mistake that could easily backfire on them at the weekend, and it's all their own fault. All this dangerous stunt does unfortunately, is incite trouble, rather than prevent it. And even if the game does go ahead without incident, Longford will still be a pariah club in the eyes of most NL fans, and their fans will experience rougher treatment in the future when they go to away games themselves.

The FAI were also consulted at this "meeting" apparantly. What was their role in this?

As i said in my earlier post i do not agree with the clubs decision and it could of been handled much better.I can see where the club is coming from and the cops are being way over the top with their estimation.I don't believe the club should be responsible for footing the extra bill.This should lie firmly at Rovers door and if this was the case everywhere they went they would soon weed out the scum but so far it appears that they have done nothing about it.It's always the same old excuse of being incited and someone else started it.The fact remains that no other club has caused trouble in Flancare.Whenever you hear of trouble at a match it always involves Rovers but when they come on Foot.ie they always have some excuse for it.None of them ever heard of turning the other way and walking away or about worrying about what the troubel will do for the reputation of their club that they claim to love.All they ever do is drag the name of their club through the mud.I hope LTFC see sense on this matter and work something out so they can be let in but if that dosen't work i hope SRFC take action to rid that club of the scum which has caused this issue to arise.Isn't it amazing that several fans from different clubs have complained about our security yet none of them have ever caused trouble.
    LTFC sort this mess out
    SRFC sort your fans out
    Last edited by Wiseguy; 28/06/2005 at 9:18 AM.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    The fact remains that no other club has caused trouble in Flancare.
    Now that's blatantly untrue, whatever about the rest. Do you not remember when Bohs were down just before the first cup final, fighting with gards and stewards. Christ, even one of their buses fooked off and left them stranded they were causing so much trouble in town.

There's been trouble with Shels and I remember Dundalk causing hassle as well (never mind the monkey chants).

That's on top of the numerous trouble involving the stewards with various clubs (Pats, Galway, Bohs, Drogs, Derry etc). I mean, if we banned clubs based on incidents with our stewards we'd be banning every set of away fans....

75 Posts

Macy wouldnt agree

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    Isn't it amazing that several fans from different clubs have complained about our security yet none of them have ever caused trouble.
    LTFC sort this mess out
    SRFC sort your fans out

with you on this because when we pointed out about the attitude of the LTFC Stewards he blamed our supporters for causing the hassle.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast