Best of luck guys,.............
Tonight, Wednesday 22nd June, members of the working group will be officially signing the required documentation for setting up the trust.
This is the final step required following a long process. Once, approved by the regulating body, the trust will officially exist as a legal entity. (a business in it's own right for all intents and purposes). We hope everything will be tied up within 2/3 weeks at most.
This is an exciting time for the trust, as it will then begin to operate fully and under the rules and regulations set out for the trust. The trust will have the ability to now implement the many ideas that have been suggested and really make a difference towards Sligo Rovers and football in Sligo and it's surrounding counties.
Importantly, we will then be canvassing for all supporters of Sligo Rovers to join the trust. This unique opportunity gives supporters a constructive, purposeful and meaningful platform from which to improve our club and football at all levels. Never before have supporters of Rovers had the chance to be so instrumental in bringing success to the club.
Hopefully you will look to get involved, meet new people and be a major factor in putting Sligo Rovers on top of the footballing map in this country.
Best of luck guys,.............
yeah fair play gary good luck . ill get more involved when i move back to sligo in september i hope , its a worthy cause and something that can actually make a difference to the future of the club.
good news,looking forward to attendning next meeting....
cheers lads. the more help and ideas we can get the better. it is for the benefit of the club that represent who we are and where we are from. It's not all work work work and can be rewarding if we can all make it a success. Our treasurer lived in dublin and just moved back to sligo so he joined in. Hopefully more exiles will return.all the best lads.
Yeah well done Gary. You and the other lads deserve all the praise ye can get for working so hard on something for the good of the club![]()
who are the other lads out of interest?i only ever hear of gary kelly!!Originally Posted by sligoman
Active members are:-
Alan Kearins (Acting Chairman)
Gary Kelly (Acting Secretary)
John Devaney (Acting Treasurer)
Keith O'Dwyer (Acting PRO)
Michael Farrell
Mark Sullivan
Graham Monaghan
Pat O'Malley
The trust is sponsored by:-
Fiddlers Creek
EJ's Menswear
Cafe Online
The Scene
Other sponsors currently in negotiations with the trust
This is a major opputunity to be involved in something, so hopefully alot of rovers fans will seek to join and make a real difference in putting our club on top of Irish Football.
I'm not having a go here lads but...
This is top the list of the trusts aims. IMO the only Rovers can become a "stronger and more successful club" is to put money into the club (i.e. buy good quality players). I know it's hard getting money of people and all that but the race night happened on the 3rd of May and AFAIK ( I could be wrong and I apologise if I am) the money raised in this event hasn't been giving to the club yet. The transfer window opens soon and Seán will be looking for money to bring in more players. We need to be having more fund raisers like the golf classic etc to help our club in our bid for promotion it's the only way we will go up1. To help Sligo Rovers become a stronger and more successful club
I'm probably gonna come under fire for this post but I think the trust has so much potential and I know the trust is still relatively small and new but at the end of the day action speaks louder then words
It goes without saying that money is the way to improve Sligo Rovers. Yes the race night happened on the 3rd of May and no the money hasnt been handed over to the club. But dont worry it will be, for a specfic purpose and the first donation to the club is to help Rovers sign a new player. If we handed over money straight away to just put in the club, people would be asking us, well where did the money go and be saying well i dont see the benefit of it. Money raised is extra for the club and we believe covering specific costs is the way to ensure people understand exactly where trust money is going.
We've never tried to be anything be fully transparent and this is reflective in the fact that the trust accounts must be audited every year according to law. These accounts then get published for everyone to see.
Yes the trust has potential, and we are working extremely hard. People are giving up their free time to try and get this up and running for the benefit of Sligo Rovers, football in general and Sligo Rovers supporters. At this early stage, raising money is difficult. Once we are up and running and showing real benefits then we hope to do alot more.
Actions speak louder then words ? That is the whole point of the trust to get up and do something to help. It's all very easy to be sitting on here, anonymously, and saying this should be done and that should be done.
Sligo Rovers supporters have the chance to be trust pioneers in this country. I guarantee other clubs will follow our lead, so it's up to sligo rovers supporters to make the trust here a huge success. We need more help. join the trust. Give us ur ideas, suggestions, help.
Remember action speak louder than words.