Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Games Weekend Friday 26th March

191 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boynemunich View Post
    Last week the commentators were definitely mistaking Oscar Brennan for one of the Brennan brothers, kept saying he was a Drogheda native. If your not 100% sure of something don't say it on live TV.

Fabio was co-comms also and stayed silent every time it was mentioned as he knew it wasn't the case.
    Ha! I actually noticed that but didn’t make the link to the Brennan brothers. I could’ve sworn Oscar was a Dublin lad but took him on his word at the time

3,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Yep just spotted that, still ridiculously lazy research to be coming out with live on tv
    Yeah, that's fair - it took me five seconds of googling to find it - though at least he wasn't making stuff up completely. Maybe someone said it to him before the match and he misheard.

649 Posts
    Finn Harps winner was ultra close call , tried to pause a few times and still not sure

3,220 Posts
    Stupid 93rd minute goal, just like the last game we played.

Happy enough up till then. Athlone have improved and will cause problems for teams this season. We look to be more resolute defensively than last season (despite conceding two) and that's important.

Onwards to next week in Cobh. Good to be back!

387 Posts
    Two great goals for us but thought we were lucky enough to win. Played a lot better last week.

Concerted effort by Galway and Shels to get Connor McCormack into the Guinness Book of Records for the most touches by a player during a game. Shels looked comfortable enough defending with 10 men.

Fine game at the RSC with cracking goals. Sligo have a good squad assembled, should have a good season. Waterford were better than I expected.

63 Posts
    Some good stuff in the tv game tonight, and a good presentation by RTE sport. The RSC also looks well, hope fans will be back into Irish sports grounds soon. Early days, but interesting to see Northwest clubs setting the pace, now for Derry to step up.
    That is a fine programme by UCD.

Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Great result for us in Oriel Park, Foley has been an excellent find, shocked he's never played LOI for a Dublin club being from there,Ollie will hate all the attention now!

This Waterford /Sligo is an enjoyable game aswell...
    Fair play to him - he had his moments in a Glenavon shirt, but ultimately I didn't feel he was consistent enough for NIFL Premiership football, at least for a team competing in the top half at the time. That made me a bit apprehensive when I heard he got a move into the LOI Premier Division, but by all accounts he's done very well since moving to Harps.

2,346 Posts
    I guess I'll need to get the passport renewed for the European football next season.

408 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I guess I'll need to get the passport renewed for the European football next season.
    And the trip to the Aviva.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Not renewing at present, ye'll have to wait like the rest of us

346 Posts
    1 league win in the last 7 for Dundalk at Oriel Park, found that pretty mad...
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCWA View Post
    Lucky Fillipo isn’t manager of Dundalk or he could be looking at the sack soon.
    Dundalk won't sack Fillipio,he's the prize wee pet for Bill and the Peak6 lads.
    Fairly even game that i thought we should have won but Harps took their chances,we didn't and here we are!
    Too many c(r)ooks and all that jazz!

Interesting scenario coming up for Dundalk next week v Shams. i can feel the pressure already.

21 Posts
    On the balance of play, a draw would have been a fair result for me in the Cork City and Cobh Ramblers game.

City a side who should improve as the season progresses. George Heaven looks a decent addition and a solid presence at the back

Cobh look improved for this season and should be in the mix for playoffs if last night is anything to go off. Griffin was impressive up front for Ramblers and took his goal well, looks decent addition from Munster Senior League.

Cobh have a nice sprinkling of experience in there too with Dave O'Leary, Darren Murphy and Ian Turner. Could be beneficial.

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Great result and performance for Harps, commiserations to Ollie
    That made me lol and with a mouthful of tea nearly choked! Never mind Sligo as some sort of dark horses, its Harps we should have tipped. Ollie has always gotten the best out of whatever squad he has had, but seemed to lack that slice of luck, and there was some last night albeit deserved as ye make yer own luck too. Next week is now a pressure game for Dundalk regardless of how early in the season it is. Hopefully its a kick in the aras for the players and they will have the bit between the teeth.

387 Posts
    Harps just bringing in their form from the end of last season

21 Posts
    Think both City and Cobh will improve as season progresses

Ramblers played with good intensity didn’t drop off at all. Better balance between experience and youth there this season

172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Next week is now a pressure game for Dundalk regardless of how early in the season it is. Hopefully its a kick in the aras for the players and they will have the bit between the teeth.
    Serious question, in your opinion, if Rovers beat Dundalk next week, do you think that either giovagnoli/keegan/both , will be fired?
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast