Thread: Ever been barred from a site?

Ever been barred from a site?

As above

I'm barred from Derry Citys website (i think) - never got an email telling me i was barred though (didnt think i deserved to get barred either).
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Yeah, tried to seel Bryan Adams tickets on boards.ie and now I can't see the ticket section without logging out! So I guess you could say I'm half barred!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Yeah, tried to seel Bryan Adams tickets on boards.ie and now I can't see the ticket section without logging out! So I guess you could say I'm half barred!
    In fairness that's clever of them. Why are people on the web getting so tetchy re: Ticket selling nowadays?

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    As above

I'm barred from Derry Citys website (i think) - never got an email telling me i was barred though (didnt think i deserved to get barred either).
    What did you do? Or think you did?

I got banned from BBC 606 for cursing too much and "inciting rival fans" I just got a new email and went back so no trouble.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    I just got a new email and went back so no trouble.
    You couldn't do that here you see, because Adam knows, and sees, everything we do...FACT

(He doesn't really, he just knows lots about IP Adresses, etc.)

its all done through the admin console, so its quite easy, you can ban ip addresses, subnet masks etc.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    its all done through the admin console, so its quite easy, you can ban ip addresses, subnet masks etc.
    Ah I see. They're not as intelligent as they make out

I could never admit to getting a ban

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I could never admit to getting a ban
    Pete-Don't post ever again. Look at your post count-this must be preserved forever-Posts:8,888 !!

foot.ie
    Something about my e-mail adress expiring i think.
    It wouldn't accept the same address when i renewed it.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

501 Posts
    I've been temp-banned from a wide range of forums on Boards.ie: Humanities, Feedback, Politics, Security, Web Hosting. Was tempted to leave in a flame of glory just short of 10,000 posts, but decided against at the last minute.

222 Posts
    Got banned from irishleagueforums.net. Have no idea why. Recently however, they're unbanned me.
    Have you ever won the treble?

Banned from www.followfollow.com - not that I take it personally, as it's just an occupational hazard in one of my pursuits...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    What did you do? Or think you did?

I got banned from BBC 606 for cursing too much and "inciting rival fans" I just got a new email and went back so no trouble.
    Well I think it was over their a license crap. I couldnt stand them thinking they were great with their a license (and also for trying to get us kicked out of the league a couple of seasons previously which ill never forgive or forget) so questioned why they should get one when they dont allow the security forces into the ground (i know exceptional circumstances, etc). For example, if any club down here said they wouldnt let the guards into the ground, surely they'd be ruled out for an a license.

Wasnt been too smart, was actually trying to debate it and they just couldnt see my point and obviously just barred me

I've been banned, "Macy" hasn't though

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Banned from www.followfollow.com - not that I take it personally, as it's just an occupational hazard in one of my pursuits...

PP
    Those not at a lower scale of the evolutionary chain tend to be unwanted there.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Well I think it was over their a license crap. I couldnt stand them thinking they were great with their a license (and also for trying to get us kicked out of the league a couple of seasons previously which ill never forgive or forget) so questioned why they should get one when they dont allow the security forces into the ground (i know exceptional circumstances, etc). For example, if any club down here said they wouldnt let the guards into the ground, surely they'd be ruled out for an a license.

Wasnt been too smart, was actually trying to debate it and they just couldnt see my point and obviously just barred me
    Cosmo - you know full-well why the British security forces/PSNI aren't brought in to police our ground on match day. Either that or you're naive and stupid.

So if you already know the answer, why were you asking it ? The fact that you did so - particularly, as you've admitted above, in the context of you having a gripe with Derry - confirms that you were just being spiteful and petty. I'd nothing to do with you being banned, but if you go on a site deliberately looking to stir up trouble because of a grudge then you shouldn't be surprised if you do get barred.

Regardless - to tackle your question for you. Ignoring the well-known politics of why the PSNI don't staff our ground, the simple fact is that they're not needed. Our stewarding is recognised by the FAI, PSNI and UEFA as being of a high standard. The PSNI themselves are fully aware of how we supervise the ground on matchdays (they have in the past had plain clothes officers in-attendance to check us out) and have given their blessing. Both the Fai and UEFA also know how we operate, and our fine with it - which is why we don't even need police for European matches. But sure - you'd know better than all of them anyway...

To be brutally honest with you, the PSNI are bloody glad they don't have to sit and watch us play every 2 weeks !

So stop trying to give it the 'why was I banned/butter wouldn't melt in my mouth' innocent nonsense. You went into the site looking to stir up trouble over a contenious issue you already know the answer to, and all because of a petty gripe about us over licensing. Surprise, surprise - it got you banned.....

P.S. Any of your players taken a p!ss in front of a packed stand at away games recently these days...?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Our stewarding is recognised by the FAI, PSNI and UEFA as being of a high standard.
    Think Harps fans might disagree....

Derry's biggest problem was Jim Roddy getting all high and fookin mighty about other clubs with regard to licences and debts, whilst Derry themselves having their own exemptions (and not all of them "political") because they're in a different jurisdiction and blatantly ignoring Derry's own financial past.

And thats a very valid point, some Harps supporters do disagree!!

'Cosmo - you know full-well why the British security forces/PSNI aren't brought in to police our ground on match day. Either that or you're naive and stupid.'

Yeah I know well why and never asked why but my point was how can an A license be given when the security forces aren't allowed police the ground (its a different point all together)

I think Macy has sumed up what I meant by :

'Derry's biggest problem was Jim Roddy getting all high and fookin mighty about other clubs with regard to licences and debts, whilst Derry themselves having their own exemptions'

If you were a neutral reading my posts, you'd see I wasn't stiring it (just you guys are really sensitive about it - and rightfully so, i aint taking a dig at ye for that). Was making the point that I couldn't see how an a license was given when the secuity forces weren't allowed in - i never once asked why they werent allowed in. Was also questioning something like using the terrace for some match when it was supposed to be closed off as part of your a license, Thats all

btw since then our players have got potty trained and are now capable of using the jacks .

Bottom line is I has very harshly banned imo

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    In fairness that's clever of them. Why are people on the web getting so tetchy re: Ticket selling nowadays?
    I wouldn't mind but I didn't even break any rules I was looking for €60 for 2! Good deal I thought, anyway boards must've taken it personally!!!