Thread: Ever been barred from a site?

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Think Harps fans might disagree....
    They're welcome to do so, but they're facts. Or are you trying to say the PSNI don't know how we steward games and aren't happy with the arrangements ? Or that UEFA haven't allowed us to play in Europe without any police present ? Or that the FAI want police at the ground ? Would be interesting to hear your insights on all of this - the only people who disagree with facts tend to be flat-earthists/village idiots...

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Derry's biggest problem was Jim Roddy getting all high and fookin mighty about other clubs with regard to licences and debts, whilst Derry themselves having their own exemptions (and not all of them "political") because they're in a different jurisdiction and blatantly ignoring Derry's own financial past.
    I hear what you're saying. But this thread is about getting banned from sites, and Cosmo came on playing all innocent about getting banned from the Derry site.

Taking it off topic for a moment to answer your point - I appreciate that Jim should probably have been a bit more gratious in his approach to us being the only club awarded an 'A License' but nothing he said was actually wrong. What was the point in Derry spending money to secure an A license - which we did, to the detriment of the funding availble for our squad - and then suffering a very medicore season, whilst other teams ignored the rules, spent little or no money on addressing their requirements, failed on all or some of the licensing points and got an on-the-pitch benefit as a result. It was a classic FAI fudge of bringing in meaningless rules that Derry were stupid enough to take at face value. The core truth of what he said cannot be ignored - regardless of how he said it or how much people didn't want to hear it.

As for us having exemptiosn because we're in a different jurisdiction, it cuts both ways you know. Unlike southern teams, we have to pay VAT on our gate receipts, so out like-for-like income is lower. So it isn't all rosey in the Brandywell garden.... . Anyways - if you lot hadsn't sold us out in 1921 to create your own wee nirvana, then we wouldn't have issues with beign in a different jurisdiction....

As for blatantly ignoring our financial past - when was it ignored ? Like most EL clubs at some time or other, we were in financial bother a few years back. That was, ironically, due to a tax demand from the Northern authorities. We didn't go bankrupt, shirk our debts, sell our stadium to developers/the Fai, go into administration, or fail to pay our players. The club and the fans fund-raised our way out of it, learned from the lesson, and have been on a very strong financial footing ever since. So what exactly was wrong with all of that then....?
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 22/06/2005 at 11:29 AM.

'and Cosmo came on playing all innocent about getting banned'

I am innocent
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    'and Cosmo came on playing all innocent about getting banned'

I am innocent
    Yawn.....

To paraphrase Shawshank Redemption - isn't eveyone who's banned.... ?

to paraphrase dumb n dumber:

"that john denver is full of **** man..."

"ya i expected the rockys to be a little rockier than this"

'Yawn.....'

I am I'm telling you

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    I wouldn't mind but I didn't even break any rules I was looking for €60 for 2! Good deal I thought, anyway boards must've taken it personally!!!
    I think that it was more coz it was for Bryan Adams!

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I could never admit to getting a ban
    Of course not Pete

PS How's Gunther getting along these days?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Banned from www.followfollow.com - not that I take it personally, as it's just an occupational hazard in one of my pursuits... PP
    Me too. Just said that Rangers need Celtic and vice versa. Gone in a blink

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Banned from www.followfollow.com - not that I take it personally, as it's just an occupational hazard in one of my pursuits...

PP

I got banned from it as well, spent an hour on a rampage, got a load of them fighting amongst themselves, great craic.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

I can no longer log in on a Belgian goth forum, but never saw my name as being banned so I think it must be a technical issue... TBH I do not know my password anymore for sure...

Never banned anywhere so far AFAIK.

But when my team Ostend beat giants Anderlecht last season, the Anderlecht fans were ridiculising and insulting the club and city of Ostend and its inhabitants. They labelled us as a "joke side", "anti-football" and all of that, but also they labelled the locals as "a special race around we should build a wall so that they cannot bother us anymore". The city, where some of them spend their annual summer holidays nota bene, was labelled as a "stinking polluted hole" Of course we, the Ostend supporters, wanted to react to this so we tried to register at the Anderlecht boards. But during registration you must indicate your favourite club, and everyone who entered "Ostend" or a slight mis-spelling of the name, was refused boards membership.
    So you can state I was sort of banned from the forum without ever having entered it
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Gerrit, you can year virtual eyeliner as long as you want round here. We never judge. Just so long as it's not royal blue or orange...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Did anyone ever get banned from ourweeminds or did they just enjoy the attention and a bit of a moan?

89 Posts

I was talking to the Site Admin last night and he didn't ban you- he doesn't reckon that mods have the power to ban people so he will get back to you and hopefully a resolution can be found
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Jon'o
    Did anyone ever get banned from ourweeminds or did they just enjoy the attention and a bit of a moan?

Davros went on there, and by the looks of things they were glad of the attention.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sylvo
    Davros went on there, and by the looks of things they were glad of the attention.
    Heard about that, I think he enjoyed it himself.....

So im not barred so !! Great stuff - Maribor i think ye have my email (if ye dont have it handy let me know), if ye wouldnt mind passing it on to him and see what the craic is!!

So dcfcsteve I was in my right to come on here acting all innocent

Never been barred to the best of my knowledge but I have barred people. Its kinda an annoying thing to do as you always want to maintain a level of interesting debate on these boards (I'm obviously the Shels admin) but some people are just the limit.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    So im not barred so !! Great stuff - Maribor i think ye have my email (if ye dont have it handy let me know), if ye wouldnt mind passing it on to him and see what the craic is!!

So dcfcsteve I was in my right to come on here acting all innocent
    Innocent of being banned.

Guilty of actin' the maggott......

I think we're gonna have to have you policed on the forum.......

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    I think we're gonna have to have you policed on the forum.......
    stewarded surely.....

Back of derry site today - great stuff - so that means ive never been barred from a site

Cheers Maribor !!