Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Shelbourne V Liverpool

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Agreed 100%.

Moving away from the topic slightly, as an outsider, I don't understand why Shels and Cork fans "hate" each other. I understand why Rovers and Bohs fans hate each other, why Drogheda and Dundalk fans hate each other, why Galway and Sligo fans hate each other, and why Longford and Athlone fans hate each other. You can correct me, but I think the Shels-Cork fans "hatred" of each other is artificial, only down to jealousy. It also seems to be hatred more from the Cork side. I simply cannot understand why fans could "hate" another club 250 kilometres away. Wouldn't it be more logical for Cork fans to hate Cobh, Waterford, or Limerick, people who they meet regularly, than fans of a club that they only meet 3 times a year?
    I don't think its a hatred between sets of fans, but more of the backroom of the club in relation to Shels. I get on very well with any Cork City fans I know, but just like any rival fan, you disagree with them more often

By the way, that Liverpool is an Irish City is a bit of a foolish statement from an over zealous fan. Support Liverpool all you want but don't start telling us they are Irish. Plus not that it matters, isn't Liverpool traditionally the "protestant" team in Liverpool and Everton the "Catholic" one? I am just curious if I am right on that.
    Last edited by Gareth; 22/06/2005 at 8:28 AM.

I would never look down on people for supporting a team. I watch football from many countries and go to games both in Ireland and in England and around Europe. But I could never cheer for a British team against an Irish team. When a club goes into Europe they represent the league they are from and the country they are from, not just the club. Celtic, Hibernians Liverpool and Man Utd are all British teams despite their Irish influences. It is pretty similar to going for England V ireland. I dont know how anybody could do it. But each to their own and I think its interesting to hear all the different views.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by redgav
    I support my local club to the best of my ability , likewise with my national team , but because I support a english team I'm somehow tainted.
    Come on now Gav, don't go reaching for the tissues to dry the eyes, you're not tainted.

I'm a Manchester United Fan, have been longer than I've been a City fan. In a friendly game, I wouldn't really care, but in competitive European competition, it's all about UEFA co-efficients IMO. We're actually only a few successful years away from grabbing another UEFA spot (and at the same time we're not that far from disappearing off the map entirely)

A competitive victory by an EL side over any EPL side would be a huge boost for the league, and a badly needed one. IMO (and it's all only opinion) the EL needs the win more than MUFC, I don't think that makes me a Shelbourne fan, or even less of a MUFC fan tbh, it's just how the priorities breakdown for me.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Easy. Id support Liverpool every time without exception. I support liverpool. If they play my home team Dundalk.....which they have done, i have gone in my liverpool scarf and jersey coz they are my team i support no one else. I dont have 2 teams or a 2nd favourite team. Just liverpool.
    Last edited by jockser; 22/06/2005 at 1:49 PM.

They are like squirrels after hibernation
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    I think you'll find plenty of people support them. They just kept it well hidden up to a few weeks ago...
    LOL change the bait the fish arent biting today

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    They are like squirrels after hibernation
    I have never gathered nuts in me life or slept for the whole of autumn and winter.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    We're actually only a few successful years away from grabbing another UEFA spot
    We're a long long way from getting another UEFA Cup spot. Per the UEFA rankings, Bulgaria were the lowest league to get a fourth team in Europe...with a coefficient of 18.540 over five years (Denmark's and Armenia's fourth was from the Fair Play). That's 3.708 points per year. Last year, the eL got 1.333. We're nowhere near, I'm afraid...

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    We're a long long way from getting another UEFA Cup spot. Per the UEFA rankings, Bulgaria were the lowest league to get a fourth team in Europe...with a coefficient of 18.540 over five years (Denmark's and Armenia's fourth was from the Fair Play). That's 3.708 points per year. Last year, the eL got 1.333. We're nowhere near, I'm afraid...
    Another thing to note is, if you're not ready for it getting an extra place can be damaging. You are dividing the national coefficient by an extra number and if the extra team were to win no points you'd be losing out and fall backwards in rankings.

i wont support shels or boez in europe,regardless of whether theyre playing mank utd liverpool rangers or linfield (again) .
    i would not begrudge a non-rival team like drogheda or derry doin well,for a round or two,but wouldnt support them as such.some teams arent important enough to hate and therefore want them to lose,like cork.i wouldnt care if cork beat an english top-flight team because cork just arent important,after all they have won sfa (1 league and 1 cup) compared to Rovers

liverpuke v shels/manure v gypos etc.... i would ignore it.i dont like either teams and wouldnt want either of them winning.id simply refuse to aknowledge there is a game taking place

Quote Originally Posted by redgav
    Eanna , I had a laugh and a joke with you at the bray game , am I to be classified as a barstooler ????

Thats too easy a way out tbh .I'm forced to watch the majority of Liverpool games on the box ,and the only reason for that is financial.If I had money coming out my ears ,I'd have me private jet flying between Anfield and redgavpark in cork every weekend but I don't.
    generalising people as barstoolers is wrong.Plenty of people do both
    You've misinterpreted me. I wasn't classifying you as a barstooler- you go out and actually watch games. I was referring to the people who don't.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbob117
    what a load of rubbish. I have followed liverpool for 15 yrs or so now,and also go to eircom league games(pats games) . I go to anfield when i can afford it and have followed them a lot longer than i have followed pats, due to the major lack of coverage when i was younger of the EL. Does that make me an idiot??? i think not, dont be so ignorant. You get attached to watching a team u have followed all your life and become passionate about them, just becaue you havent, theres no need to be so dismissive of everyone else who has.
    see above. Also, I was the same when I was younger- I was a massive leeds "fan." But the minute I started going to City games I was hooked and forgot all about Leeds, to the
    extent that I wouldn't even look out for their results anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Unfortunately in some peoples eyes, if you haven't sold your soul to the Eircom League then you are tainted.
    nobody is talking about selling souls here Its a case of the common good. If you don't agree fair enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    I don't think its a hatred between sets of fans, but more of the backroom of the club in relation to Shels. I get on very well with any Cork City fans I know, but just like any rival fan, you disagree with them more often
    Exactly. I have nothing against Shels fans tbh, there's too few of them to really hate anyway Seriously though, my dislike/hatred of Shels is down to the individuals running/managing the club and a few of the players, not the fans. As for Waterford, Queenstown and Limerick? I dislike Waterford intensely, but TBH I'm not that bothered about them- we have bigger fish to fry. Cobh- usually go and see them when I can, and always like to see them do well, maybe it would be different if they were in the premier. And limerick- well I lived there, know a lot of their fans, and I have a soft spot for them- again, I guess it would be different if they were in the premier

Quote Originally Posted by jockser
    Easy. Id support Liverpool every time without exception. I support liverpool. If they play my home team Dundalk.....which they have done, i have gone in my liverpool scarf and jersey coz they are my team i support no one else. I dont have 2 teams or a 2nd favourite team. Just liverpool.
    Last edited by Éanna; 22/06/2005 at 2:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    No no, not baiting you, Jockser. Nor am I suggesting that you have become a fan overnight, I remember you defending Liverpool a lot of times here before. But you gotta admit that a lot more Liverpool jerseys are evident in the past few weeks. That's the way it's always going to be. The English team I like best is Leeds, I remember 4 years ago when Leeds were everyone's second favourite team. You'd be hard pressed to find a Leeds shirt around the place these days.
    Aye true lad....i suppose people follow football to different degrees and there is always gonna be a team "in fashion". I pass no remarks of these people.....usually you can spot the true fans miles off. Everyone to their own i suppose which is what this thread is about really. Some people have 2 or 3 clubs they like, some support other clubs in certain situations and some have one club(usually the nutters like meself )

Regarding the 'oh but it would improve the leagues co-efficients' arguement. Don't buy into that at all. Firstly, I support clubs, not leagues. A leagues co-efficient is built up over a number of years of steady progress. That means the likes of Shelbourne, Cork City and Bohs putting in consistant performances in europe, and each winning through at least a couple of rounds every season. Basically repeating last years exploits every season. If the co-efficient is low, the blame lies at these full-time clubs for not performing, and at the likes of Longford who are a waste of a European place IMO. Someone like me supporting Liverpool in ONE game over all these years makes little or no difference to the leagues co-efficient in the bigger picture.

For the record, I do not consider Liverpool to be a 'foreign club'. A foreign club to me is Barcelona, AC Milan, Lyon etc. Whether EL followers like it or not, the English and Scottish leagues are a big part of Irish football, as all of our top internationals play in these leagues, and thus a lot of football followers in this country follow these leagues as a result. As has been said, I am one of many who support both an EL club and a premiership club. I have no problem supporting $h€l$, Bohs or Cork in europe, and have always done so in the past. I'll be supporting them again this year. BUT, if drawn against Liverpool, I will be supporting Liverpool, simply because i'm a Liverpool fan.

You're either a fan or you aren't, (and there seems to be a lot of half-arsed Liverpool fans on here by the looks of it). Could I really call myself a Liverpool fan if say, I was to support $h€l$ in that game, but when $h€l$ lose, just start re-supporting Liverpool in the competition as they advance? Be absolutely over-the-moon on wining the competition, when in the earlier rounds I was shouting against them to be knocked out! That would be called hypocrisy. No real fan of a club would do that, because put simply, it's a load of b0ll0cks!

Plus not that it matters, isn't Liverpool traditionally the "protestant" team in Liverpool and Everton the "Catholic" one? I am just curious if I am right on that.
    No you are not right on that. Both Liverpool and Everton originated from Protestant founders. Everton are not, and never have been a Catholic club. But only people who know nothing about Liverpool (the city and it's people that is) would bring that up, because religion doesn't come into it over there. You're either red or blue, that's it. Regarding Liverpool's Irish heritage, well over half the local population is second or third generation Irish, both from Protestant and Catholic backgrounds (why do you think the likes of John Aldridge, Jason McAteer, Darran Potter etc have qualified for us?). The scouse culture comes from it's Irish background, they even have their own form of Ceili music etc. I could go on and on etc. Liverpool is as much an 'Irish' city as say Boston is - not really Irish, but Irish influenced all the same. Just go there, talk with the locals and you'll see. As for the Orange parades - so what? Protestants are allowed to celebrate their culture, are they not? The same way that scousers also celebrate Paddy's Day? You see that's the problem, ignorant people think that it must be like Celtic - Rangers, but it's nothing like that crap.

League of Ireland team without question.I don't actually have a favorite team although i am from Galway but these guy's won't set the world on fire i mean Galway Utd. On the other hand if they were playing any club from any country of course i would want them to win, they are 100% Irish like all the other EL teams.I live in UK now ,support Celtic ,go to the odd game and adore football in general but an Irish team all the way.

I supported Bohs vs Ghent last Saturday. Am I being wrong then as well ?

A colleague of mine who's also a Belgian expat didn't understand why I supported for the non-Belgian club. I reversed the question: why should I support a club just for the sake of it being situated within the same imaginary lines (borders) as where I was born. Just doesn't work like that. I support the side that my heart choses, and don't search or need a reason for that.

As having much sympathy for the underdogs and a sort of natural antipathy for big mighty clubs, I'd support an EL side over an English side all the way.
    However, if Rosenborg plays an EL side... If it's Shels, that'd be heartbreak and a choice I refuse to make. If it's another irish side, just try and stop me from going to the stadium with my Rosenborg fanwear.

I have no problems supporting foreign teams. I support Norway over Belgium, why would I have a problem with supporting any side that gets my sympathy over a Belgian side ? I don't think countrywise when it comes to sports, I just chose the side that I intuitionally prefer without even asking why. Life's a lot easier if everyone would just support whoever he wants, regardless of where they're from or what their backgrounds are. You should not even justify emotions and preferences, these things are feelings and don't always have a logical reason. It's a game for god's sake, it's not a war where the pride and future of a nation are at stake.
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Irish Club everytime,without question especially if playing them shams sh*tpool

176 Posts
    isn't Liverpool traditionally the "protestant" team in Liverpool and Everton the "Catholic" one?
    Horse manure!!

There's no religious connection to either club. Liverpool is a welcoming place to all religions and nationalities. That bile is made up by people who hate LFC. There is only one place in Britain, where there are sectarian hatreds between the two major clubs, and it's a city in Scotland that begins with G.

Lads as i said before there is only one religion in the city of liverpool and that religion is football......Amen anyway that has NOTHING to do with the topic of this thread.......yiz shouldnt be so quick to bite the bait put down for ya by other eejits

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    why should I support a club just for the sake of it being situated within the same imaginary lines (borders) as where I was born.
    Be carefull there Gerrit. You don't want to give people the impression that Belgium is just a made up country.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast