Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs 1-0 Gent

Quote Originally Posted by Libero
    George Leekens, the Ghent manager was also interviewed. He claimed that Ghent bossed midfield in the first half hour, that they missed good chances late in the game and that Bohs converted their only 'half chance'. He did praise the Bohs supporters for the lively Dalyer atmosphere.
    Rubbish. The first half it could have been 2-0 if not for a bad miss and a superb save from their goalkeeper Runje. Bohs got the better chances in the game and except for the last half hour the ball posession was about 50-50.

Ghent got two decent chances + a free kick, but that was once the 1-0 was scored. So where did Leekens see other chances, and where was he when Bohs had two nearly-goals in the first half ?!

But don't bother Leekens. He's quite controversial in Belgium, bit a reputation of a jobhopper. In a good 15 years of being coach he had over 10 clubs
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Have to say congrats to Bohs. They deserved the win. Foley was unlucky not to score I thought. It seemed to bobble just wide. I didn't see Matt Gregg being seriously tested in the whole match.

Was a good header by Tony, my friend said it was deflected but I thought it was a well-taken header. Imo Keddy was the best player on the night. Hunt and Foley played well too.

Good performance and hope yez beat the Buffalo in Ghent.

Also I'd like to point out to cynics (myself included) I thought the Bohs fans behaved brilliantly. I've had my problems with them but I was certainly impressed by their behaviour tonight. The only trouble I saw was from Ghent fans when Bohs came out for the second half.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Indeed, a minority of Ghent fans sometimes misbehaved. And as a native Ghent man I could understand their comments. Well, telling the linesmen to stick their flags up their ar-se + usage of words like 'whores', made me feel ashamed of coming from the same town as them. Must note though it was a minority of Ghent fans, most of them behaved well - was sitting not too far from them so I had good sight on it.

The Buffalo, yeah... This is one of the reasons why I don't like AA Gent and prefer the other Ghent club (Racing Club, with whom I heavily sympathise). The logo of AA Gent is absolutely ridiculous.

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    Indeed, a minority of Ghent fans sometimes misbehaved. And as a native Ghent man I could understand their comments. Well, telling the linesmen to stick their flags up their ar-se + usage of words like 'whores', made me feel ashamed of coming from the same town as them. Must note though it was a minority of Ghent fans, most of them behaved well - was sitting not too far from them so I had good sight on it.

The Buffalo, yeah... This is one of the reasons why I don't like AA Gent and prefer the other Ghent club (Racing Club, with whom I heavily sympathise). The logo of AA Gent is absolutely ridiculous.
    What I saw was Ghent fans had gone to the chipper at half time but had gotten caught on the other side of the fence on the way back because of Bohs players emerging for the second half. They taunted the players with wnker signs and were shoutinmg at them. Disgraceful.
    Extratime.ie

You should all know that unfortunately Belgium has no grip yet on hooliganism and bad behaviour of fans. It is still very common to make jungle sounds towards black players or shout "your mother is a wh-ore" towards the opposition's better players. Belgian FA tried to ban this behaviour from the stadiums but failed everytime, and I'm afraid it's even escalating more.

Makes you really appreciate the EL. Every team I am socialising with opposition's fans in a friendly way, I can't help but being very glad I have to deal with the EL instead of the Belgian league. The level is lower (though not much difference anymore) but that is all very trivial when I realise I can go to the games with no fear of getting beaten up and with good chances of socialising with the other side's fans.

Gerrit, what is with the logo? I didn't know Indians roamed the prairies outside Ghent?
    Extratime.ie

Well done to Bohs. Delighted to see them come away with the win. The atmosphere unfortunately didn't seem up to the level it could of been. I was surprised at the lack of singing. Seen more passion from the Bohs fans in an Eircom League game.

Hopefully bohs can get a result now away and carry on in the Toto. Question to a Bohs fan, how is Foley rated. I found him frustrating to watch at times. Somewhat not at lively as the other players?

What was the attendence like at the game?

'They taunted the players with wnker signs and were shoutinmg at them'

Yeah, you'd think they were at a football match, wouldnt ye

Well done bohs, hopefully they can hold out for the second leg.

Bohs fans were s**t lastnight - had the atmosphere of a preseason friendly
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Question to a Bohs fan, how is Foley rated. I found him frustrating to watch at times. Somewhat not at lively as the other players?
    At the start of the season he wasn't popular! but recently he has been putting in more effort and seems to have a lot more confidence after getting his first goal of the season against Rovers. but he can be frustrating at times but he's great in the air!! i think the bohs fans are starting to get off his back as it helps his confidence!!

Could have been much more than 1-0 if we had taken our chances. Too many really good moves, based on excellent passing and movement, ended up going back through the middle to start over again. We needed more drive, which Wardie would give us if he were played inside.
    They got a grip for mid-first half, then faded, and we sat back towards the end of the second to defend a one-goal lead. Still, can't complain. We bossed them most of the time and we have a result. I honestly believe we can qualify if we travel to Gent aiming to win. If we play for a draw it will suit them: I was much more impressed with their midfield going forward and their defence, apart from their keeper, is no great shakes.
    Atmosphere was poor compared to a Dublin derby and possibly even compared to the game against Athlone! That was because it was a genuinely tense affair right to the end.
    There was a nice touch when one of the Belgians came down to G to take pictures and taunt the core Bohs support. It was a bit cheeky, but brave and well-intended, and everyone had a laugh. But fair play to the Bohs fan who gave him a big hug after we scored. His smile was a little more strained then!

Well done to the big pub.....
    Nice to see the medium club doing well....

Congrats Bohs....

3000 crowd. Stand full.

Would say Bohs had 60% possession but once again lacking a goal scorer. Foley was better than seen him before but cannot shoot. John Paul Kelly looked like had a hangover as did nothing but get a booking for moaning. Ward was my MOTM as did all the running for Bohs & unlucky not to score. Overall 1-0 flattered Gent as Bohs looked tired at the but no options on the bench. Bohs may regret not pushing on for the 2nd goal.

The one common thing with European teams is that players always seem taller & stronger than eL players.

I think its hard for home fans to get enthuastic & create good atmosphere for Inter Toto games as no real away fans to taunt & no rivaly with away club.

Good result, espically the clean sheet. Get a goal in the second leg and that should wrap it up.

71 Posts
    Congrats to Bohs. I hope you can make the result count by the end of the tie.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo

It wasn't when they were in the stands it was at half time when they were about at most a foot away from them.
    Extratime.ie

84 Posts
    Well done Bohs
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo

Well done bohs, hopefully they can hold out for the second leg.

Bohs fans were s**t lastnight - had the atmosphere of a preseason friendly
    I agree there. I thought that BOhz should have really got a 2nd but Foley missed a sitter and they never really got the ball in to the box (if Foleys strength is in the air, why do ye never cross the ball in?).

I dont know if 1 is enough, but they looked much the better team.

PS I thought the Gent fans were grand
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

1-0 is better than 2-1 though, if they had of pushed for another goal they could well have let one in.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Gerrit, what is with the logo? I didn't know Indians roamed the prairies outside Ghent?
    I am not why they use that Indian for logo. For a club not linked to Indians in any way I find it a childish/ridiculous logo, and their nickname 'Buffalos' and their fans' Indian sounds are no better.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast