Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers scum do it again

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED

It is very difficult to argue with that. His actions before the game were pathetic, absolutley pathetic, and it's given the Rovers fans something to hide behind as they as ever ignore/play down and flat out deny the actions of their own fans.

what actions????overexuberant celebrations yes.rampant hooliganism i think not

Pasted from shelsweb

After the security debacle of Friday night and reading through the comments on same I just want to add my bit.
    The pitch invasion and what went on inside the ground has been covered by many people. However I had to endure a gauntlet of sub teen and teenage louts down Richmond Rd. to my car. My car was then surrounded by these louts who, while shouting obscenities, proceeded to jump on the bonnet and bang the windows and roof.All this while their elder peers looked on and laughed. At no time did I answer them or make any remarks. It was the most terrifying night at a football game that I have ever endured. I am in my 60's and it appears that my sin was that I was wearing a Shels jersey and was therefore deemed a 'soft' target.
    As a longtime supporter of League of Ireland football I looked upon the demise of Rovers and their loss of Milltown as criminal. After my encounter with their so called 'fans' I have now changed my mind. The sooner the better this club is kicked out of football, the better and safer for all.
    I'll say yet again I was viciously asaulted, kicked and punches by Rovers scum. If it wasn't for my mates and other Shels fans intervening I could have easily been beaten
    Of course, it was the other teams fault. It didn't happen. It was the gaurds fault. No scum at Rovers at all etc etc etc

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    End of the day, Shels are facing financial ruin
    Don't you mean Rovers ???

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I find this whole thing laughable. Fair play to the Rovers fans, it seems to me like they just celebrated their victory and rubbed it in a bit to the Shels fans
    Surely this ( pitch invasions ) wouldn't be seen in the best leagues in Europe? I thought we were all in favour of trying to improve the league ......

No doubt about it, there is an element of Rovers 'Fans' that are scum and only go to high profile matches to cause trouble. The rest are probably harmless enough.
    BTW when people say that the 'club' ie Rovers should sort it out, well, the 'club' doesn't really exist anymore. They can't afford to throw fans out / ban them because they are at rock bottom.

However I had to endure a gauntlet of sub teen and teenage louts down Richmond Rd. to my car. My car was then surrounded by these louts who, while shouting obscenities, proceeded to jump on the bonnet and bang the windows and roof
    I made a comment about the events. Yes I did report it to the Garda. They asked me if there was damage to my car and could I identify the culprits. The answer to both was no
    What was he driving, a tank ??

What did Shams really do that was so bad, they went onto the pitch and celebrated there win with the players. Bottles were thrown from Shels fans at first and were thrown back. Does this mean that either club have a rampant hooligan problem, hardly. We had a pre season friendly with them and they were no bother. When people here of an incident involving Shams they suddenly jump on the moral band wagon and condem the 'scum' who follow there club.

Got to agree with Da Real Rover. He without sin throw the first stone or in Shels case bottle

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    The problem was a few hundred gathered down at the Shels end after the players went off and continued to sing and jeer in the direction of shels fans. Mostly hands waving about and plenty of 1 and 2 fingers on show. Chanting about something I couldnt make out.

Im not really aganst them being happy and when you are bottom and beat the Champions you should be happy but not carry on like they did.
    ?!

I've supported Rovers for 16 years now and I know of far more serious things that Rovers fans have done - few and far between though - than waving our hands and singing and jeering the opposition...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    The problem was a few hundred gathered down at the Shels end after the players went off and continued to sing and jeer in the direction of shels fans. Mostly hands waving about and plenty of 1 and 2 fingers on show.
    Wasn't it Ollie himself who established (in the District Court) that using one's fingers is an acceptable means of indicating the score to opposition fans?
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Pasted from shelsweb

Of course, it was the other teams fault. It didn't happen. It was the gaurds fault. No scum at Rovers at all etc etc etc
    Of course. And that chap was just asking for it. In fact, he made them do it.
    Imagine being 60 and want to go to a football match? Against Rovers. In a Shels jersey. The sheer audacity of it!

Hilarious thread. We win deservedly. Harmless pitch invasion at the end which can be clearly seen on tv. One paper reports that shels fans started throwing bottles at the Rovers fans with plenty of eye witnesses as well.

The main reason Rovers fans went to the new stand was simply to follow our players off the pitch.

Ollie is the biggest cancer on the league but no all you Rovers haters have to concentrate on this non issue. He attacked Roddy from behind like the cowardly, convicted criminal that he is. FACT.

Will I mention the shels fan in full gear behind us at the ballybough end who shouted out "Rutherford you black *******"? This was witnessed by the Rovers fans present. Yet you had shels fans at the game saying stuff like this and calling us scum?!!! Incredible.

This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed. This a club that played a HOME European tie in england FFS.

Jaime fair play for seeing some sense. All fans have taunted or been taunted. Its part of the game for those of you who are too sensitive.

I relished the final whistle friday cos I knew it would send those pathetic Rovers hating no lifers oily and fintan cassidy into an apoplectic mood. Even the cops who took down our banner "OILY IRELAND'S BIGGEST HOOLIGAN" were embarrassed. What a complete scumbag.

And we, with no ground and bottom of the league, had more support there than the defending champions. Truly pathetic. TBH at this point I have more respect for boez!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed.
    AFAIK there was no such rule, it was rumoured briefly, but never put in place
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Will I mention the shels fan in full gear behind us at the ballybough end who shouted out "Rutherford you black *******"? This was witnessed by the Rovers fans present. Yet you had shels fans at the game saying stuff like this and calling us scum?!!! Incredible.
    Fair enough,it's an absolute disgrace and your man should never be allow into a football match again.At no point should be people be discriminated against beause of their colour,nationality or Religion.

This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed.
    Now hold on,does this not seem a bit hypocritical.

And we, with no ground and bottom of the league, had more support there than the defending champions. Truly pathetic.
    And that's just a lie,you lot should have stuck with the original idea and as opposed to going to Tolka,gave your money to the 400 club and then we would not be having this argument.

Lads, the in-fighting on this board about who's fans are to blame over each increasingly frequent incident is pathetic. You're missing the big picture. It's not a problem for Rovers, Bohs, Shels or any one club. It's a societal problem at base level, and above that it's a problem the LEAGUE faces.

Now, we all submit to this forum, presumably, because we care about the league. We would all like to see bigger crowds, bigger games, better facilities, exciting European runs, colour pictures in the papers, big build ups to big games.

This league cant grow while a prominent sector of people attending these poorly attended games behave in a way that is threatening to other spectators. Let's put our heads together and work on solutions to this issue which pervades in the league instead of the childish one upmanship flooding the forum.

How do we get the message to these people that our football league is not an accepted vehicle for their thuggery?

Football fans go to football matches, thugs go to prison.

Let's get to work on the real enemy.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by el punter
    You're missing the big picture.
    Maybe the small picture is more important. At Bohs, there is a competent stewarding system, where the stewards hold up orange mesh the length of the stand after the final whistle. Result; no pitch invasions from that side of the ground. As Shels fans have repeated though, their club doesn't listen to them when they insist on the need for competent stewarding.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Sorry Jamie but i have to disagree with you on the competentcy of Bohs stewards.As an away fan in Dayler i found the stewards to be sh!te.Would Pats and Rovers fans agree with me on this or is it just Shels fans these stewards treat badly.

I've always found the stewards in dalyer very good tbh

Yee should borrow some of our stewards,the best dam stewards in the league
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Hilarious thread. We win deservedly. Harmless pitch invasion at the end which can be clearly seen on tv. One paper reports that shels fans started throwing bottles at the Rovers fans with plenty of eye witnesses as well.

The main reason Rovers fans went to the new stand was simply to follow our players off the pitch.

Ollie is the biggest cancer on the league but no all you Rovers haters have to concentrate on this non issue. He attacked Roddy from behind like the cowardly, convicted criminal that he is. FACT.

This a club who allowed in dozens of union jacks for the linfield game despite the setanta cup ruling that no national flags be allowed. This a club that played a HOME European tie in england FFS.

Jaime fair play for seeing some sense. All fans have taunted or been taunted. Its part of the game for those of you who are too sensitive.

I relished the final whistle friday cos I knew it would send those pathetic Rovers hating no lifers oily and fintan cassidy into an apoplectic mood. Even the cops who took down our banner "OILY IRELAND'S BIGGEST HOOLIGAN" were embarrassed. What a complete scumbag.

And we, with no ground and bottom of the league, had more support there than the defending champions. Truly pathetic. TBH at this point I have more respect for boez!

Well said and your dead right about the union flags they didn't let any irish flags up there is something wrong there.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

I'm lost here.

Oily Byrne physically attacks the manager of the club his side are due to play.

$hels fans throw missiles at celebrating Rovers fans.

Shels fans racially abuse sparky rutherford

And some red tosser comes on here and calls us scum?

Have I got the broad gist of this?

And the really quality is people join in.

This isnt rovers fans denying that there was an incident, there wasnt. Shels fans invade the pitch after EVERY game, and when we do it we are hooligans?

Blaming us for all your ills is getting very tiresome.

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast