Page 28 of 42 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Serbia V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 24th March 2021 - World Cup 2022 Qualifier

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Ive a bee in my bonnet re Bulgaria at home, tbh I thought we were cr*p. if we win that game we would have been 2nd seeds and be in a easier group etc
    actually could have been a blessing the way things worked out given serbia are possibly one of the weakest 2nd seeds and there are a few third seeds that I am glad we missed

33 Posts
    I love Ireland games and look forward to them like no other. I'm a weird mix of excited and dreading it, optimistic yet expecting a hammering. Part of me says by law of averages we have to click soon and tonight we will get a goal or two. But the experience of Ireland games in reality is nearly always the same. Nothing clear cut created and less scored.

Just wish work would hurry the feck up so I can get this waiting over!

55 Posts
    The WC is coming for the Republic, I love the attitude from the kids everywhere, they are the toppest feeling about WC.

Whats the story on the 11? is it realesed?

If they play all out attack, how is Kenny gonna use his masterplan strategy?
    Stojkovic may play 3-3-1-3 it seems. Their tall striker may stay on the bench, but no confirmation yet.

55 Posts
    Why would you put the upside-down question mark at the end...?
    Sorry it is a spanish thing, we use both question marks when asking, to open the interrogative and to end the question sentence, it is a gramatic thing, compañero!!

We all blame Castilla Y León and their monarchy. I got used to write dossiers for the U, with the ending question mark in spanish (castellano) only for the lady in office to remind me to use both, ...for me is simpler the english way, the closing question mark

regards
    Last edited by Bielsa´s irish; 24/03/2021 at 1:01 PM.

2,081 Posts
    I meant Bulgaria away actually. Yeah, the home game was worse. But away was decent and we created chances which we would have finished if we'd have had competent forwards.
    Performance wise I would rank them something like this (from best to worst):

1. Slovakia A (big game, easily the better side, some excellent chances and one sitter)
    2. Finland A (thought we were really good here, again the better side)
    3. Wales A (not quite as good as above but played quite well)
    4. Bulgaria A (positive signs for his first game)
    5. Wales H (probably should have nicked it with the Brady/Long chances)
    6. England A (excellent first 20/25 but ultimately out of our depth)
    7. Finland H (lacked imagination/urgency)
    8. Bulgaria H (dire)

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bielsa´s irish View Post
    Sorry it is a spanish thing, we use both question marks when asking, to open the interrogative and to end the question sentence, it is a gramatic thing, compañero!!
    The upside-down question mark goes at the start of the sentence, not at the end. Because the point is to indicate, at the start, that a question is being asked (the syntax being otherwise the exact same as stating a fact)

Which is another hint that you're maybe not quite the native Spanish speaker you make yourself out to be...

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    I don't agree either. For the sake of argument I accepted the premise that those games were meaningless. But they can't be important when picking the team, but meaningless after you get beat. It's one or the other.
    Fair point alright.

Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    I'll accept that Randolph and Kelleher are 1st & 2nd choice, but one of the guys left over must be #3.
    I'd have Randolph, Westwood and Kelleher in the squad, given the chance. Though it's not entirely certain if Westwood really wants in.

55 Posts
    Why would you put the upside-down question mark at the end...?
    The upside-down question mark goes at the start of the sentence, not at the end. Because the point is to indicate, at the start, that a question is being asked (the syntax being otherwise the exact same as stating a fact)

Which is another hint that you're maybe not quite the native Spanish speaker you make yourself out to be...
    Iam Stu, check me as Javier Franzoia . Plus I lived several years in Europe in the Suisse Rommande/France, i speak like four languages, and sometimes i have a mixed up among them. I am true.

3,491 Posts
    I speak three languages; doesn't mean I start putting fadas on rs or exclamation marks at the start of the sentence.

But anyways...

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Performance wise I would rank them something like this (from best to worst):

1. Slovakia A (big game, easily the better side, some excellent chances and one sitter)
    2. Finland A (thought we were really good here, again the better side)
    3. Wales A (not quite as good as above but played quite well)
    4. Bulgaria A (positive signs for his first game)
    5. Wales H (probably should have nicked it with the Brady/Long chances)
    6. England A (excellent first 20/25 but ultimately out of our depth)
    7. Finland H (lacked imagination/urgency)
    8. Bulgaria H (dire)
    Yeah, but in Slovakia Duffy did a last gasp save when the goal was inminent. This is a result sport. we need 3 points

55 Posts
    Big game for young Travers.

55 Posts
    Under these circunstances I would populate the midfield, with a young keeper I wouldnt play a back 3, but a back 4. If it was up to me I would play doherty next to clark.

------------------------Travers---------------------------

-----Coleman Doherty Clark Stevens------

-------------------O'Shea ------------

Browne------Cullen ------Hendrick Connolly

-------------Robinson--------------
    Last edited by Bielsa´s irish; 24/03/2021 at 1:40 PM.

285 Posts
    My guess at the Ireland lineup :

---------------------Travers-----------------

---------Coleman--- Duffy-----Clark

Doherty---------------- -----------------Stevens

------Browne--------Hendrick--------Brady

--------Robinson-------------Connolly

O'Shea should probably start ahead of Duffy but I don't see Kenny dropping him. Cullen/Knight in with a shout at midfield too.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 24/03/2021 at 2:07 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LurcherLover View Post
    Please tell me this forum is a little more welcoming to new members than YBIG?
    Yeah, its grand here, off you cut there, speech speech speech.

& where were you yesterday when I needed bodies for the 2012 cause ? A day late but carry on.

Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Yeah, its grand here, off you cut there, speech speech speech.

& where were you yesterday when I needed bodies for the 2012 cause ? A day late but carry on.
    Great! Apologies for that, if I had of known I would of been on here yesterday and fully behind the 2012 cause.

634 Posts
    Despite it being suitable for us for the guts of the last 8 years, it sounds as if we're finally going to three at the back given the soundings of some respected journalists - not you Lennon - on social media, so I reckon there's two possible teams:

----------------Travers ------ ---------- - or ----------------Travers
    ----Coleman ---Duffy -- Clark ------- ----------- ---Coleman ---Duffy -- Stevens
    -Doc----- Hendrick Cullen ----Stevens ------- ---Doc---- Hendrick - Cullen ---- McClean
    ----------------Brady -------- ------ ----------------------------Brady ------
    ---------Collins------Connolly* ------- ------------- -----Collins------Connolly*

*If Connolly is fit, he starts. He's included in the squad (Manning, Coventry, Parrot & Curtis miss out) so think he'll start.
    If not, then I reckon Robinson starts instead.

There's not a hope Robbie Brady won't start - esp with Hourihane out, nor Hendrick. Clark is a touch and go call - it's just as possible Stevens slots in there with Coleman either side of Duffy - this would allow them to track Tadic and their other slightly withdrawn attacker.
    It's quite possible thwt Cullen doesn't start, with Hendrick sitting and having Browne or Knight giving the legs and Brady the passing "guile". Entirely possible that Knight Browne and Brady all start with Hendrick sitting, but that would mean only having one out and out attacker - and in that scenario, it would surely mean that Collins or Robinson would start with Connolly held in reserve for Saturday. Given that Curtis and Manning is not in the squad it's a huge hint that both McClean and Connolly are fine.

I prefer team 1 over team 2, but Still not the ideal team for me. I wouldn't start Duffy, although there's less pressure on him to have the ball at his feet in this formation. Cullen will afford him the protection he needs if he starts, but that's hardly a given either.
    Last edited by Kingdom; 24/03/2021 at 2:33 PM.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

33 Posts
    I am not convinced by Travers when I have seen him play and would of picked Bazunu because he is playing more regularly.. Either way this has the makings of a hammering but you cant bet against any Irish side digging in and grabbing a draw. No crowd in Belgrade is a huge bonus as well.

I feel for Shane Duffy, he went to Celtic expecting a nice year of European football and lots of medals and his form has gone over a cliff. Hopefully he digs deep tonight to prove himself and puts himself back in the shop window.

You can see what Stephen Kenny wants to do with them playing football but sometimes in the last 10 minutes you just need to go long and direct to grab a goal and it plays to some of our strengths.

Its the first game of the campaign we can live in hope till kick off or reality kicks in ....

24. Thanks From:

662 Posts
    Gonna say that I'm against us playing 3-5-1 as suggested:

https://twitter.com/BarringtonJF/sta...520956934?s=20

26. Thanks From:

Can people start using have instead of "of" where appropriate. It's getting annoying.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LurcherLover View Post
    Please tell me this forum is a little more welcoming to new members than YBIG?
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Can people start using have instead of "of" where appropriate. It's getting annoying.
    There's your answer Lurcher. We're very friendly - if you use correct grammer

29. Thanks From:

Page 28 of 42 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast