Thread: Gay World Cup

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    If you are referring to Justin Fashanu, he killed himself a few years back. Something concerning a teenager in America if not mistaken.

Graham LeSaux was apparently called 'a poof' for reading The Guardian and visiting art museums. If that's what makes you Gay then 'Hello Sailor' to you all from my good self.

Personally I couldn't give a f*ck about anyone's sexuality. Rumours have abounded over the years about players and apart from blatent hypocracy (e.g. Michael Portillo) it is one of the most boring things that I can think related to a person. There have been rumours about some Irish internationals. I've certainly met some Irish fans that are/were Gay, and not because they asked me for a 'stiff one' when I enquired what they were drinking. Trouble is that it bothers a lot of society, hence the need for a Gay World Cup - even if it goes against 'integration.'
    I remember the Guardian thing about Le Saux indeed. Hello sailor to you too Lopez - I'm a Guardian reader too.

You're dead right re. the Gay situation. Sadly, many of them in the US really feel threatened by the right wing religious nuts who seemed determined to force the more moderate Republicans (oxymoron?) to treat them like outcasts.

And isn't it gas to see two ladies get married in Ireland a few weeks ago with little or no fuss whatsoever from church or media while nearly every state in the US is banning gay marriage.

Y'know our little country has its problems but we've got lots of pluses too. Only about thirty years ago I remember when people knew whether you were a Catholic or Protestant (kicked with the left foot ), a molly or a nancy boy if one was gay and a shoneen if one played the world game. Nowadays, nobody gives a fcuk.

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    Which club does he play for now ?

I don't think he is the ONLY one that came out of the closet. Didn't Matt Le Tissier or Graeme Le Saux (always confused between those two...) admit to be homosexual as well ?

'us' heterosexuals ? There may be gay presence on this very board without us knowing... No, don't look in my direction lads
    I was referring to those of us who are heterosexuals - no big deal. If I was gay, it wouldn't cost me a thought telling anyone. The only thing is, I'd say all Footiepersons are not in the slightest bit interested in the sexual orientation of our brothers and sisters in this website. Jesus, we get our knickers in a twist over offsides, rival clubs etc but deep down, I've never felt any malice from anyone yet, just quality p!$$taking and, in most cases. I deserved it and actually enjoyed it, some of the put downs are so witty.

gay world cup!

think the tackle from behind rule applies.???????

tee hee!
    i`m back and i didnt bring no dame ball with me all i brought was a big fat can of whooop ass Austin 3:16

3,491 Posts
    I hear Johnny Foreigner doesn't like it up him...!

Better stop now...!

The fact that Fashanu got clubless and committed suicide had nothing to do with his gayness I hope ?

I think the statement that 10% of the population is gay is not correct there. I'd say at least 20% if not more. Don't forget that many people don't come out for it, in some parts of the world you just cannot come out for it, and some people are in a doubt about it themselves weither they swing towards the other side or not.

At my former job (back in Belgium) about 20% of the staff was homosexual or lesbian, including my boss
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

At my former job (back in Belgium) about 20% of the staff was homosexual or lesbian, including my boss
    I think that says a lot more about Belgium or your former job than the world.

3,491 Posts
    I think the statement that 10% of the population is gay is not correct there. I'd say at least 20% if not more.
    Ah now - sure at that percentage, the human race would probably die off!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I hear Johnny Foreigner doesn't like it up him...!

Better stop now...!
    I wonder if the same rules apply for hand ball.....

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    There have been rumours about some Irish internationals. I've certainly met some Irish fans that are/were Gay, and not because they asked me for a 'stiff one' when I enquired what they were drinking. Trouble is that it bothers a lot of society, hence the need for a Gay World Cup - even if it goes against 'integration.'
    I don't think it bothers society, I think society is just curious. If you ask me, everything comes back to sex. So who were the Irish internationals in question?

Don't answer 'Clinton Morrison' or someone's heart will be broken here

Just read on KV Ostend's forum that Alan Shearer would be gay. Not that I would care (does not change the great player and person he is) but it would surprise me if it were true, I never heard anything in that direction... According to the lad who posted it, he'd even have come out for it on several occasions

Heh heh LOL. Expect a reply to that Gerrit when a certain lady enters the forum.

Just read on KV Ostend's forum that Alan Shearer would be gay.
    Is that why he puts his hand in the air when celebrates goals?

http://www.vm2005.dk/default.asp

Next month it's getting started, this year in Copenhagen... Next year the Maccabian Games (Jewish world cup) are coming up again.

Don't know if this is not slightly over the top. Think it's great we have a special football tournament for mentally handicapped and for the Deaf, as they are truely disadvantaged towards their opponents. For homosexuals I don't really see the need, then on the other hand I do appreciate the ethnical minorities' teams as they clearly fill a social gap and have much use in troubled areas (especially their youth sections).

What are your opinions on events like this Gay WorldCup ? Is this a good thing or should we criticise such 'thinking in labels' ?

Shock horror - gay people organise their own football World Cup. How dare they ! This must be stopped. And if they refuse to stop it, then - well, we'll just refuse to pretend to treat them equally any more....

FFS - who gives a feck if gays, ostriches, pygmy warriors or trampolining dwarfs want to organise a World Cup !? It's their own feckin business, their right to do so, and nothing to do with anyone else.

My old company has it's own World Cup as well - ooohhh let's all decide whether or not we agree with that....

I think the statement that 10% of the population is gay is not correct there. I'd say at least 20% if not more. Don't forget that many people don't come out for it, in some parts of the world you just cannot come out for it, and some people are in a doubt about it themselves weither they swing towards the other side or not.

20% of the world population gay Gerrit ? Absolutely no way...

That '1 in 10' figures was created a few years back purely to be an indicator of how widespread homosexuality could be. It was by no means designed to be an accurate measure.

Simple fact of the matter is that there is no accurate measure of what percentage of the population is gay. It varies by widely over time and across the world, and a huge part of the problem in trying to come-up with an accurate measure is individual's unwillingness or inability to be open about their sexuality.

Sociaologists, scientists, psychologists and chancers of various types have over the years attempted to estimate the percentage that is gay, but that's all they've been - estimates. I'd say the figure given by a previous poster of 2-4% probably isn't far off it, but 20% is an absolutely ridiculous suggestion !

What percentage of the world population has ginger hair ? You won't find an accurate measure of that. Largely because it's difficult to measure, but also because not everyone is openly ginger (there's a lot of bottle blondes about..) and also because it's just not important.

Good luck to the Gay World cup, gingers, and the 16-18% of the population who are wrongly being labelled as gay.....

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    I do. While the gay one sounds boring, and pygmies do nothing for me, OI reckon the dwarves on trampolines could be a cracker...
    I'm up for that - when does it take place, where's the venue? Get me a ticket.

Anyway, aren't they supposed to be called vertically challenged or something these days???

Heh heh LOL. Expect a reply to that Gerrit when a certain lady enters the forum
    Too right! God cannot send such a fine man to earth to tease us with and then chuckle at us all because he is gay!!! Not fair at all.

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    Too right! God cannot send such a fine man to earth to tease us with and then chuckle at us all because he is gay!!! Not fair at all.

Who's the fine man Kerr's Tribe ? Everyone's talking about Clinton Morrison here.....

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    ...So who were the Irish internationals in question?
    In a previous thread GaryEspana mentioned about two internationals. He obviously for good reasons declined to name them.

OK. Yes of course I'd say: 'Wow. Who would have thought Roy Keane was a turd burglar. ' But after that, what.

As for you Kerr's Tribe, take it from someone who had to comfort Conchita following the tragic events in a Beverly Hills khasi in 1998, involving George Michael and a member of LA's finest, you just never know who is and who isn't. And if you saw that video of Clinton with Graham and Kenny you'd be swinging towards the fact that - tragically and unfortunately for womankind - he is.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Who's the fine man Kerr's Tribe ? Everyone's talking about Clinton Morrison here.....
    oi! cheeky steve!
    Roy Keane was a turd burglar
    class expression! can i borrow it sometimes Lopez?

Kerr's Tribe, take it from someone who had to comfort Conchita following the tragic events in a Beverly Hills khasi in 1998, involving George Michael and a member of LA's finest, you just never know who is and who isn't. And if you saw that video of Clinton with Graham and Kenny you'd be swinging towards the fact that - tragically and unfortunately for womankind - he is.
    I've only seen a photo of the famous dance and it didn't ring of YMCA, however I am very keen to see the video just for assessment, of course...

You lads are starting to worry me, but as george the turd burglar sings " You gotta have faith, faith, faith, you gotta have faith"