Thread: The other team in Liverpool

The other team in Liverpool

I am currently visiting Liverpool for professional reasons (back in Dublin tomorrow) and it's weird to see -both in Liverpool, Dublin or anywhere- how many LFC shirts and scarves you suddenly see in the streets. Can't all be gloryhunters that hjust turned into LFC fans...

It makes one wonder where the Everton fans are. I've heard they have a decent support in Ireland as well, though I never ever saw an Everton jersey on the streets in Dublin. I know several Liverpool fans, and one single Everton fan - and that one is a Liverpudlian who moved to Dublin and still goes to Goodison Park everytime he visits his native city.

Is Everton representing a certain group within the city or a certain district of the city ? And do they have any support abroad or outside of the city ?

(Must say TBH I would sympathise with Everton most because they're the authentic Liverpool team. LFC is a split-off of Everton, bit like Dublin City but then with tradition and fans )
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

In my local there are at least six Everton fans.
    Bless them.

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    I am currently visiting Liverpool for professional reasons (back in Dublin tomorrow) and it's weird to see -both in Liverpool, Dublin or anywhere- how many LFC shirts and scarves you suddenly see in the streets.
    Very weird alright Gerrit. You'd think Liverpool fans would all be in hiding after winning the Champions League

Bottom line is Liverpool more successful than Everton, so more people hopped the bandwagon in Ireland (and non-scouse parts of the UK).

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    more people hopped the bandwagon in Ireland (and non-scouse parts of the UK).
    mmm.......have seen this happen elsewhere too!!!! early to mid 90's I think!!
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Bottom line is Liverpool more successful than Everton, so more people hopped the bandwagon in Ireland (and non-scouse parts of the UK).

coming from a manc

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    mmm.......have seen this happen elsewhere too!!!! early to mid 90's I think!!
    Or later 90's Karlos?

Happens to every team, not exempting United or anyone else from that. The majority of Irish fans of English clubs can trace their support back to when Liverpool/Arsenal/United/Whoever were successful/good (or to their father/ family, who started supporting them when they were successful).

67 Posts
    Actually met 5 Tranmere fans from Dublin in the airport one Saturday morning. Fair play to them. Travel over quite regularly.

The majority of Irish fans of English clubs can trace their support back to when Liverpool/Arsenal/United/Whoever were successful/good (or to their father/ family, who started supporting them when they were successful).
    Here we go again.........
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    Here we go again.........
    It's not necessarily meant to be a criticism this time, honestly. I mean if those Tranmere fans were asked I'd say the chances of them starting to support them during the "glory years" of decent cup runs, top of Div 2/Div 1/ Championship (delete as applicable ) and Aldridge up front is pretty bloody high

Or later 90's Karlos?

Happens to every team, not exempting United or anyone else from that. The majority of Irish fans of English clubs can trace their support back to when Liverpool/Arsenal/United/Whoever were successful/good (or to their father/ family, who started supporting them when they were successful).
    I know!! Playing Devil's Advocate there!!

Not totally based on success though for many. Many aul lads started supporting clubs with successful Irish lads playing for them e.g. Giles, Brady, Stapleton, O'Leary, etc etc......

I think the older generation (i.e. my fathers age) had a different outlook on successful Irishmen than one which exists today. We tend to knock rather than support successful people in all walks of life in this country these days. Many of that age don't have a hatred for rival clubs like the younger generation.

Just a thought.

Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Very weird alright Gerrit. You'd think Liverpool fans would all be in hiding after winning the Champions League
    well, didn't say that, but in Liverpool itself it's believed to be 50-50, but in my 4 days here I didn't see a single Everton scarf
    Liverpool's success shouldn't stop loyal Toffee fans from staying in their houses ?! After all, who was the highest ranked Liverpudlian club in the English Premiership this year ?
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Everton fans, including a few on here, like to harp on about how they are the 'peoples club' and that most people from Liverpool support Everton. Truth is, it's a load of toss. The best supported club in Liverpool is Liverpool, and by a country mile. This claim that most scousers support Everton is pure myth.

I was over in Liverpool for the Champions League final, and a few weeks before that for the Chelsea game. I stayed for a couple of nights on both occasions and like you Gerrit, I never saw one Everton jersey or shirt either. On the night of the Champions League final the place was a sea of Red, and most were locals. 750,000 Liverpool fans lined the streets for the victory parade the following day. I'd like to see the day when 750,000, majority locals, line the streets of Liverpool for an Everton parade (hypothetical I know cos they'll never win anything worth talking about). As Jim Royle would say, The Peoples club my arse!

BTW, Liverpool fans tend to be older than their Utd\Arsenal counterparts. Older fans in general wear less jersey's and colours. Nothing wrong though in showing some colour when you're European Champions, if just to pi$$ off the Man U brigade

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    Not totally based on success though for many. Many aul lads started supporting clubs with successful Irish lads playing for them e.g. Giles, Brady, Stapleton, O'Leary, etc etc......
    Yeah, but it was still the glamour/successful clubs with Irishmen playing for them that they started supporting.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    BTW, Liverpool fans tend to be older than their Utd\Arsenal counterparts.
    Obviously, seeing as Liverpool were at their peak in the late 70's and 80's.

No matter what the reason why people suppport their chosen English club, it's never going to be very deep, is it? Because they're succesful. Because they have a couple of Irish lads on the books. It's all very arbitrary. Although it's more than one generation ago, there are still people who can remember deciding to follow United after Munich. That's a fact, as I know some of them. It's not really any more meaningful a reason than winning European Cups, but it is something unique that only United can claim. I don't think many people decided to follow Liverpool after Hillsborough because most of those impressionable enough already followed Liverpool. My own story is Chelsea, since I was a nipper, passed on from my father who lived in SW London in 1971. I guess it's the same for a lot of Irish people who have no apprent connection with these clubs.

its pretty evenly split between the two . the reference to everton being the peoples club is a reference to the average person ( normal working class ) is an everton fan . this is what is ment by everton being the peoples club not the number of fans .

i like the fact that when 4to the floor is baseing his answer on the fact there were more liverpool shirts around on the night of the champs league and a chelsea game at anfield(on the 2 times he has been ) , that that means there are more pool fans ....
    i think it might be the fact that liverpool were playing that day
    also if liverpool are at home everton are away so there fans would be going to the game or watching it on the box not wandering around anfield road

also i think some of them 3/4 of a mill that were at the parade might have been glory hunters , if you think about it if 3/4 of a mill people living in the city attually supported them then they would be selling out anfield for every single game

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    :also i think some of them 3/4 of a mill that were at the parade might have been glory hunters , if you think about it if 3/4 of a mill people living in the city attually supported them then they would be selling out anfield for every single game
    There's little doubt that there were the odd few glory hunters and people looking for a good time among the crowds, but what hasn't been said is that Evertonians didn't wish to spend a gloriously sunny day inside either. They were obviously going to jump at the chance to top up their sunbed tans and salivate over a piece of silverware they're unlikely to hold aloft in our lifetime
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    They were obviously going to jump at the chance to top up their sunbed tans and salivate over a piece of silverware they're unlikely to hold aloft in our lifetime
    as i said before if liverpool one of the worst teams in this years comp can win it then any one can , and considering everton have a better side than liverpool at the moment , they have every chance .

and before ye start going on about all the europeen cups ye have bla bla bla , ill point out that only for liverpool getting all english clubs banned everton would have a bag of cups , being one of the top europeen sides and favourites to lift the cup in 85 ,

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever
    Actually met 5 Tranmere fans from Dublin in the airport one Saturday morning. Fair play to them. Travel over quite regularly.
    why is following a crap english team ok? but following a "crap" irish team isnt? weird logic that

been to see tranmere this season.chose the delights of tranmere v colchester rather than everton v chelsea. twas rubbish,and very bloody cold

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    why is following a crap english team ok? but following a "crap" irish team isnt? weird logic that

been to see tranmere this season.chose the delights of tranmere v colchester rather than everton v chelsea. twas rubbish,and very bloody cold
    There is an element of inverted snobbery if you ask me. Its quite the 'in' thing to follow a crap side. Im sure if the EL games over night were getting 20k, 30k, 40k crowds that there would be an element of the current fans that would be saddened by this. As in all honesty there is (i'd imagine) something about the camaradarie of the close knit setup now that would ultimately be lost if crowds got that big.

Whilst Tranmere v Colchester might offer the opportunity of a ground you've not been to before or teams you've not seen or indeed mixing with fans who ultimately have a different outlook than say top premiership fans - I think the footie on show was always going to be better at goodison
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    as i said before if liverpool one of the worst teams in this years comp can win it then any one can , and considering everton have a better side than liverpool at the moment , they have every chance .

and before ye start going on about all the europeen cups ye have bla bla bla , ill point out that only for liverpool getting all english clubs banned everton would have a bag of cups , being one of the top europeen sides and favourites to lift the cup in 85 ,
    That is the funniest thing ive read in ages!!!

Everton for the champions league next year!!!!! LMFAO

youll get as far as the UEFA cup 3rd round i reckon by then your league campaign will be all about trying to survive in the premiership once again