Page 45 of 80 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI In Europe 2021

22 Posts
    Like I asked the other night.. what on earth is going on here!

184 Posts
    Why the hell was Hoban taking a quick free kick there in his own half. Bit more savvy needed at times like this.

346 Posts
    Should have kept that McEleney fella!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SPXcyan View Post
    Like I asked the other night.. what on earth is going on here!
    It's unreal stuff all right. Are Dundalk getting some long overdue luck in Europe? Similar to a NI team beating a Danish outfit recently?

Nothing lucky about that finish tho. Pure class. But Dundalk probably should have been 2-0 or 3-0 down at half time.

873 Posts
    RTE had Vitesse 2-1 up momentarily but is back now at 1-1

184 Posts
    What a rubbish goal to concede. FFS!

22 Posts
    Did he even try to head that away? brutal that!

2,346 Posts
    Nattestad the weak link in that defence. He's woeful.

Disappointing, they had tired as well and had done feck all in the last 20 mins.

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Disappointing, they had tired as well and had done feck all in the last 20 mins.
    Yep they hadn't created much in the last 20. Dundalk had no right to win that match really but for McEleney's genius.

If only they could have cleared that simple cross... Surely that would have been the best week in the history of LOI results in Europe?

229 Posts
    Dont lose.

873 Posts
    We were getting greedy as fans (and the odd player) at 1-2 and would have taken 2-2 all day every day before and up to 70mins or so. That sloppy goal is in this side more than most. Broken record stuff but look what you broke Peak6! An investment company that doesnt seem to want to make money? The 2020 champions side would have put Vitesse to the sword for being that lax.

2,626 Posts
    Fair play to Dundalk. That’s a great result away from home.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    We were getting greedy as fans (and the odd player) at 1-2 and would have taken 2-2 all day every day before and up to 70mins or so. That sloppy goal is in this side more than most. Broken record stuff but look what you broke Peak6! An investment company that doesnt seem to want to make money? The 2020 champions side would have put Vitesse to the sword for being that lax.
    A game of two halves, I was trying to figure out how much of it came from complacency and then when they tried to sort out their mess, they were running on empty, and Dundalk with a bit more ilk could have possibly have had 3...and then the LOI washing cycle patter or a sloppy goal - usually done holding out for a draw mind you!

873 Posts
    We use the term complacency but basically it is unprofessionalism and Id be pretty annoyed if Dundalk side went about as if a tie was done and dusted at 1-0. In the first half yes they spurned chances but I dont think you take any side for granted as it wasnt a totally dominant 1st half, especially not v one that has eeked out a few good results in recent years and been in group stages no matter how they got there. 2016 drawing against a better AZ side shouldnt be so forgotten that you take things for granted. Arrogant by Vitesse players, a failing from the manager to guard against too. Bohs at least were pretty much a total unknown for PAOK bar looking probably at earlier rounds. These Vitesse lads were kicking about in the park all smiles until they found themselves behind v a side they were more than able to dismantle at the back just on pace! I should add they knew it too with the impetulant red card and griping with the ref like the PAOK players Tuesday.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 05/08/2021 at 7:41 PM.

326 Posts
    A Bridge too far! All joking aside, that was another excellent result for a LOI side. We are getting spoilt this year.

131 Posts
    Rovers struggling to break down the Albanians who are so obsessed with persistent fouling and time wasting that they rarely venture into the home side's half.

That second goal has 120k views on twitter already mclleney.

Rovers not incisive enough

76 Posts
    That was amazing stuff from Dundalk. What a game of football though. I had a feeling after about half an hour , you've seen it happen; utter wastefulness while 1-0 up, and it costing a team, that there was something here for Dundalk, though I also feared they'd be torn apart as vs Qarabag,Larnaca. It turned out to be vital to still be in the game, and tie, 1-0 down at the break. Agreed with Nesta; sheer arrogance, smug smirks etc. I've been waiting for a long time to see McEleney magic in Europe, and tonight he does THAT. The manner of their blocking and digging in for each other tonight was great to see also. I feel that Dundalk learned something from Vitesse's insane high enrgy high press in the first half, in that, whenever they themselves went to press, they got results as the game went on, which helped with the counter attack nature of the goals. Abibi made several realy imprtant interventions, Boyle also. When Hoban came on and Dundalk changed shape it really worked. McMillan had a tough night, completely crowded out of everything. If only they had hung on, but the auld LOI slopy goal inevitably had to make it's way into the script. It's encouraging that some see it as disappointing; that shows progress for me to be disappointed not to have beaten a side from the 5th/6th best League in Europe. Dundalk, against all the odds are still very much in this, and I'd not have beleived that at 6pm this evening. Pleasantly pleased to have been wrong on both counts so far this week in that regard! As for the current game, Rovers appear very flat and sluggish tonight, notwithstanding all the playacting and frsutration techniques of their opponents. Still think they can win, but they need to be press on now.
    Last edited by CorribsideSteve; 05/08/2021 at 8:17 PM.

326 Posts
    TNS 4 nil up to Plzen. They are decent in Europe this season. Bohs watch - 1-1 in the Hibs game.

Page 45 of 80 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast