Thread: U -21 sQuad - 2 city playres called up

U -21 sQuad - 2 city playres called up

2 City players called up to train Colin P , and also Alan Bennet, fair play to both, hope ye do your county and country proud

big shock no callup for ex city player Damien Delaney

Liam Miller also in the squad for the upcoming game
    life is random

Does that mean they are not actually in the squad?

well thats a good one AFAIK they call up a list to train together in the days/weeks preceeding the match then as it gets closer they knock off a few when they finalise the squad..

ala Glen Crowe's call up with the full squad last year to train with them..
    life is random

i'd say it might put a few on the attendance if a few cork lads got a run out......Miller, cpob and bennet.....

Red face

from aertel

IRELAND U-21 SQUAD TO FACE DENMARK
    Joe Murphy, Graham Stack, John Thompson, John O'Shea, Jim Goodwin, Brian Shelley, Keith Foy, Brian O'Callaghan, Richie Byrne, Thomas Butler, Liam Miller, Michael Doyle, Dwayne Mattis, Brendan McGill, Shaun Byrne, Andy Reid, Graham Barrett, Ben Burgess.

On standy-by:
    Michael Keane, Brian Cash, Joe Gamble, Clifford ne

Called up for training:
    Wesley Houlihan, Colm O'Brien, Alan Bennett, Gary Dempsey

Firstly, nice one aertel - apparently its COLM O'Brien now

IMO this 'called up for training' lark is a waste of everyones time & is patronising players. If players are good enough for the squad then pick them. By just being called up for training ala Glen Crowe no matter how ell the players do they won't play in thew game.

btw 18 is a small squad too.

Micheal Keane should start the game, let alone be on stand by...the boy is a revelation at Preston, and they reckon he is the next big thing...

Thumbs down Given not impressive

Originally posted by Pablo
    Micheal Keane should start the game, let alone be on stand by...the boy is a revelation at Preston, and they reckon he is the next big thing...
    Yeah anytime I checked the Preston sites for update on BBM they were raving about Michael Keane. I think he was only 18 when made break through to their 1st team last season?

Its amazing Delaney not got any callup of any description.

Aside from any of the issues above Given has not imressed me especially his petulant manner with young players. e.g. Foran last year.

Re: Given not impressive

Originally posted by pete
    Aside from any of the issues above Given has not imressed me especially his petulant manner with young players. e.g. Foran last year.
    Yeah i think the guy has a big attitude problem. and what really p!sses me off is he lives in bloody birmingham! the ireland u21 manager lives in england- BRILLIANT!

also, whatever about mccarthy, he should be going to some games here surely. I'm against the "call up to train" crap in principle, but the only thing is, it might give one of the lads a breakthrough if someone gets injured or whatever- that way it can be beneficial.

Shelley and Byrne were both called up to train in England last month and now they've made the squad proper. not that i'm in favour of the 'called-up to train' bull****

CP and Benno have been invited to train with the U-21 squad, as has former City player Joe Gamble. Delaney has been dropped totally. Twould be great to see a current City player play in front of his own crowd, or failing that a former City player!
    Oh no not them again

cheers for that "new" info there SOC which i beleive was posted earlier in the other posting but glad to have u confirm it..

[SIZE=1]sarcastic moderator i've got nothing better to do with time at work on a friday morning laugh[/SIZE]
    life is random

I think the difference with Shelley & Richie Byrne was they were called over to England for a few days training. In other words they were there as equals with all the others.

Colin P & Bennet are not called up to the squad this time but can train with the squad but no matter how they do won't get picked as similarily happened to Glen Crowe with the seniors.

btw Joe Gamble is just on standby.

Originally posted by James
    cheers for that "new" info there SOC which i beleive was posted earlier in the other posting but glad to have u confirm it..

[SIZE=1]sarcastic moderator i've got nothing better to do with time at work on a friday morning laugh[/SIZE]
    Glad to see that someone is earning his $$$.

I actually didn't post that here, I posted it in the City section in the Floodlights posting, before I read this posting, twas moved.
    Oh no not them again

[SIZE=1]i know.. my point was if had nothing to do with the city floodlights so i moved it. ok.. and its not $$$ but $$$$ i get 4 dollars not 3 [/SIZE]
    life is random

anyone know if the game is all ticket or pay at the game?
    soccer isn't a matter of life or death its more important than that!!!

Originally posted by mouldymurphy
    anyone know if the game is all ticket or pay at the game?
    I haven't heard of any mention of tickets but I'd say it will be all-ticket. They were probably waiting until the lights were definitely in.

due to injury's over the last 48 hours ex Cork City player Joe Gamble has been promoted from the fringe/trainging with the squad .. into the full squad for the game next week
    life is random