Thread: Well done Wayside

Well done Wayside

Not sure if this is the place for it or if any other non-league teams should be congratulated as I've only seen 1 result tonite so far but anyway, congratulations Wayside, perhaps a game -v- Bray on the agenda but if you draw any1 else then good luck in the next round

Well im not suprised the lads trained during the summer and its looking like its going to pay off,now thats commitment.A game against bray would be the icing on the cake.

43 Posts
    Hats off to Wayside, it's an excellent feat to knock out a LOI Ireland side, when Rockmount beat Mons last year and nearly beat Waterford on both nights, I was telling anyone interested that the Intermediate's best teams would be at home in Div 1 and more lower Prem. Most of the players have dabbled at the "higher level".

Hope the lads enjoy the night, great bunuch of club men and women connected with the club, hope they go all the way without ref/fai intervention.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Peter Lennon deserves alot of the credit and WILL be an EL manager in the future,please God with Wayside.

43 Posts
    Well done Wayside again, that is a smashing achievement drawing with Bohs, hope you do em in the replay.

Keeps my theory about any of the top Intermediate clubs being as good as the top LOI sides in bloom. Some of the footie I've seen this last two seasons in the Intermediate cup and the MSL has whacked much of what I've seen in the LOI.

Fair play to the Celtic boys.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

C'mon Wayside! I hope yez beat Bohs in the replay. I'll try to make it down there on Tuesday night but I'll be there in spirit.

Actually, my spirit might still be there from tonight. It must've dozed off during the match....
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

I'll certainly be going down,90 minutes away from the quarter-finals.

I'll probably try to head down tomorrow evening aswell! Again, congratulations and hopefully you can do them in!
    God

60 Posts
    Well done Wayside.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Well done Wayside! Fantastic come back on Friday. I'll be in the Carlisle tommorrow night cheering youz on. Lets hope you can make it through to the next round

Quote Originally Posted by Zayed9
    Well done Wayside! Fantastic come back on Friday. I'll be in the Carlisle tommorrow night cheering youz on. Lets hope you can make it through to the next round
    Before anyone asks, Bray season tickets do not work at this game

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69

Post of the month by far!!! Classic....
    But on a more serious note, i'll be down if i can. C'mon Wayside.
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Great night last Friday alright but in fairness we rode our luck at times. Robbie pulled off some cracking stops. We didnt play as well as we can in the first but the second half was more like it. Should be interesting tomorrow night.
    As regards Wayside playing in the eL, I cant really see it happening. Theres hardly the fan base for another Dublin club and most people associated with Wayside would be Rovers fans anyway.(ie Ballyogan,Stepaside,Sandyford is a Rovers area). Also with us losing our current pitches and probably unlikely to ever build a ground, I doubt it will ever occur.

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan1

Post of the month by far!!! Classic....
    Did ya nominate it?

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    That’s a class post Roo!! I bet there'll be some eejit down there tonight with their season ticket!

Heard that ex-Bray Wanderers right full Matt Britton has signed up for Wayside. Wonder will he be in tonights squad ?

43 Posts
    Tough luck Wayside, sounds like a good effort was put in, shame about early goals.

Post Defensive blunders cost plucky Wayside

Defensive blunders cost plucky Wayside

Wayside Celtic 1 Bohemians 2

Bohemians limped into the quarter-finals of the FAI Carlsberg Cup as they once again failed to build on a 2-0 first half lead against battling Wayside.

Bohs punished defensive errors to gain their lead within 11 minutes. Tony Grant scored both, first seizing on a dreadful back header from Wayne Callaghan on seven minutes to round Robbie O’Dowd and score. Damien O’Neill then handled a shot from Fergal Harkin with Grant blasting the penalty into the roof of the net.

Read more at www.breakingnews.ie

You don't mind the underdog getting beated but losing 2 stupid goals was just, well eh, plain stupid.

Bohs had a full side out and still struggled against a really sh!te team (no offence to any wayside supporters )
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    You don't mind the underdog getting beated but losing 2 stupid goals was just, well eh, plain stupid.

Bohs had a full side out and still struggled against a really sh!te team (no offence to any wayside supporters )
    Wayside are not a s*it team, far from it ! 1st half they played well below par and 2nd half they really put Bohs under pressure. If Om,an had of been sent off when he elbowed there centre forward it could have been a different story.