Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cork Officials for replay

75 Posts

Thumbs down I think last night and friday

showed that referees are totally biased in giving decisions against big teams.As for Alan Kelly he better never referee a game in galway again he cost us promotion against Drogheda and what an ego trip he was on last night.Not one Cork fan i met last night could see what the penalty was given for.The way he has been promoted above other refereesis a joke a real "Daddys Boy".

Good luck to Cork but any true soccer fan knows that what happened on Friday and last night was nothing short of disgraceful and leaves a very bitter taste in the mouth.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I don't agree that Kelly is **** at all.
    McClure 1
    Éanna 0

As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct
    Good luck to Cork but any true soccer fan knows that what happened on Friday and last night was nothing short of disgraceful and leaves a very bitter taste in the mouth.
    The decision not to award a penalty on Friday was disgraceful.
    Last night's was probably a bit harsh.

City fans know all about bitter tastes in the mouth, we have had our fair share of them already this season.

However, blaming Kelly is a bit much, he left some of your players away with murder last night, some of the tackles flying in were appalling, it would not have been unfair if your team had got 7 or 8 cards.....

75 Posts

7 or 8 cards

your having a laugh. There was great last ditch defensive tackles and to say that we kicked your lads around the place is a great diservice to our players who are all Part Timers .

There wasnt much of a gulf in class considering our team costs a quarter of what ye spend on your full timers.

your having a laugh. There was great last ditch defensive tackles and to say that we kicked your lads around the place is a great diservice to our players who are all Part Timers .

There wasnt much of a gulf in class considering our team costs a quarter of what ye spend on your full timers.
    What has being part-time or the cost of players got to do with the really bad tackles that quite a few of your players put in last night?...

75 Posts

Angry Take off the blinkers

Cork got off the hook big time over the two games last night. Alan Kelly was an absolute joke last night and thats before you take into account his piebald hairdo. He gave a free for a pass back that never was,Booked the keeper for an offence he didnt commit and then gave a penalty that not one Cork Player claimed and not one Cork Fan I talked to after the game could see what he gave it for. We also missed 2 clear cut chances at the end of either half.

I wish Cork all the best but over the 2 games there was no way the better team one.

over the 2 games there was no way the better team one.
    Of course Galway should have won because they scored so many goals!
    There are no prizes for moral victories, my friend.
    You put up a brave fight against a top side and can be proud of that.
    You didn't do enough to win either game though, nothing is going to change that fact.
    If you play in the league like you did against us on Friday night then perhaps you can rescue your season and get promoted.
    We'd love another trip back to see Eyre Square when it's finished.

any true soccer fan knows that what happened on Friday and last night was nothing short of disgraceful

We need to clear a few things up here.
    From my front row seat, it appeared that McKeon blew for a foul and pointed to the spot. Then he looked to his assistant and changed his mind, instead giving a free out to City. Some Galway players reminstrated with the assistant immediately afterwards.
    It looked like a penalty from where I was sitting but I was a good bit away and couldn't clearly see if there had been a foul on a City player prior to that.
    Can anyone verify this? Stick to the facts, please.
    Was JC at the game?

With regard to Alan Kelly, he's at least UEFA Category/Grade 2 referee.
    UEFA respect him, we should respect him and be glad to have such quality officials in our game. This also goes for Buttimer and Stokes.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Was JC at the game?
    No he was at the Cross, Sure isn't he Avondale manager now.

With regard to Alan Kelly, he's at least UEFA Category/Grade 2 referee.
    UEFA respect him, we should respect him and be glad to have such quality officials in our game. This also goes for Buttimer and Stokes.
    Think you left out a few smilies at the end, especially after Buttimer.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    No he was at the Cross, Sure isn't he Avondale manager now.
    Not that JC, the GUFC JC. Mr. Referee himself!
    People from the old eircomleague.net will know who I'm talking about.

75 Posts

He was

Not that JC, the GUFC JC. Mr. Referee himself!
    People from the old eircomleague.net will know who I'm talking about.
    and he felt the same as every other GUFC supporter robbed and cheated and apparently Michael Devine not alone admitted that it was a penalty but that he should have been sent off and a galwegian living in Cork heard George O'Callaghan on Red FM saying it was a definite penalty.

Michael Devine not alone admitted that it was a penalty but that he should have been sent off
    I don't think that any of us were in any doubt that Super Keeper had fouled your player. The referee's assistant clearly felt that there was an infringement on a City player before hand though.
    If that is the case then you have no grounds for complaint.

and he felt the same as every other GUFC supporter robbed and cheated and apparently Michael Devine not alone admitted that it was a penalty but that he should have been sent off and a galwegian living in Cork heard George O'Callaghan on Red FM saying it was a definite penalty.
    all of us said it was a definite penalty but hey, we didnt rob you. we didnt give the decision

The referee's assistant clearly felt that there was an infringement on a City player before hand though.
    I think (hope) Devine was fouled when went in the air for cross initially. We all know how slow eL refs are to whistle.

If he had just disallowed the penalty (i.e. no foul) would not have given free out as forward was not sanctioned for diving.

Well i think the Galway man was dead right when he said their players were not professional cause if there were anything that resembled professional they wouldn't be second from the bottom of the first.
    He aslo said there was no gulf in class well it hink he summed up his football knowledge with that statement as always a follower of an underdog will say after his team had nealry got a result there wasn't much between the teams never understanding that you can get almost and players of limited ability do run around chase and hary other players while making no attempt to come out and attack.
    League tables never lie and cup football is a one off.

75 Posts

The free was

I don't think that any of us were in any doubt that Super Keeper had fouled your player. The referee's assistant clearly felt that there was an infringement on a City player before hand though.
    If that is the case then you have no grounds for complaint.

given allegdly for a foul on your full back after Devine had pulled down dave Goldbey which im sure even you would find laughable!!!!!!!

Penalty,not a chance.

I think City fans should be big enough to say that Kelly was very kind to us on this occassion. Looking at tv3 last night there was no way that it was a penalty,I also felt that many decisions went against Galway.I was actually surprised that Galway players didn't create any fuss at the final whistle.We've been fcuked over many times by Dublin officials but it shouldn't mean that we get Arsene Wenger glasses when we get the "rub of the green".Maybe if all fans could be a little impartial and sideline their biases when assessing ref's performances it might hasten much improved standards overall.

at the end of the day over the two games we had two big calls go our way, if i was galway fan i'd nearly be in tears as we know what its like (away to shels in the setanta cup). You just have to try and beat the 12th man aswell on certain days and get on with it.
    First Division Champions

Quote Originally Posted by Vinny
    i am crying
    aaahhhhhh, how cute......

Cork refereing in Cork

It's the worst ****ing thing ever-putting a referee to ref a game which involves his home Town/City. It was like Paul Duddy(Donegal) refereeing a Sligo Rovers/Finn Harps match a few seasons ago. Not only was he from Donegal but they are our rivals aswell . FAI have no clue how to assign a ref to a game, ****ing eejits

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast