Thread: one pass and........

one pass and........

well the team ovarall dominated for large parts of the game untill the 53rd min when a passanger gave a 30 yard pass to a drogs player and it all went down hill from there. cant type too upset cos of it. Back 4 were good Barrett was the best on the field, Donellan, Kelleher and even CP all tried hard and Young wehn he came on for the injured Carthy spared the ball around well. Mooney dropped a clanger but had little else to do for most of the game due to the supurb finni and co, then that pass! enough said.

Gael can you elaborate a little bit for all of us folk who couldn't make the trip.

Give us a breakdown ratings etc. etc. Go on ya know ya want to

Suffice to say that the passenger, who hid from responsibity for the whole game,replaced Chris Kerins, who has left us( Not by his choice). Now we have lost 2 players (Chris and Brendan Hughes) this week and it's not becasuse of their football ability, in my opinion.

Heard other stories re the team and the "managerial style" which I wont post but if they are true would have me very worried about the direction we are heading in.

We could have won last night and it was not for the want of hard work by most of the team. Fair play to them the lads gave it their all and we were unlucky.

JohnD
    Last edited by JohnD; 11/06/2005 at 2:36 PM.
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

I'll take it then that the passenger was Nolan but maybe I'm wrong.

1st I've heard about Kearns leaving so whats happened there ??

We did very overall last night but that said Drogheda were well worth their victory. In Simon Webb they had the best player on the park and their movement and pace was everything you'd expect from a fully professional outfit. Paul Finucane, Conor Molan, Tommy Barrett, Brian Donnellan and Robbie Kelleher were excellent.

The others were also pretty faultless and gave a good account of themselves with the exception of the luckless Nolan who had a nightmare to be honest. Nothing went his way and for the sake of his confidence alone I think he should have been substituted. I'm not Jamie Nolan's biggest fan but he didn't do himself justice last night. That said, I'm not going to be overcritical of a praiseworthy performance against a side that are amongst the best in the country.

Last night we lost against a better side.

I'd be more concerned about the rumours that JohnD alluded to because if even half of them are true it's a shameful state of affairs.

There were a lot of positives to be taken from last nights game and I'm not going to let one player and some rather strange substitutions spoil it for me!

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    Heard other stories re the team and the "managerial style" which I wont post but if they are true would have me very worried about the direction we are heading in.
    JohnD
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    I'd be more concerned about the rumours that JohnD alluded to because if even half of them are true it's a shameful state of affairs.

There were a lot of positives to be taken from last nights game and I'm not going to let one player and some rather strange substitutions spoil it for me!
    Ok guys you are sounding really negative so something big must be going down. Any chance of sparing me the trouble of a phone call & elaborating on what ye are talking about.

Its all been going so well till now & I've not heard of anything negative so far this season till now but the fact that both of you are saying the same thing points to the fact that something very bad is either happening or going to happen

Well the rumours I've heard are that Kearns and Hughes left due to differances with the manager over his style of training. From what I heard its pretty much if you're from Limerick or Kerry and have a bad session you get á Fergie style hairdryer treatment, where as if you have an equally poor session and are from Cork than you still get Noel's Gold Star. Just what I've heard from people so don't take it as fact.....

Looks like his reputed oddball nature is rearing it's head. Great timing. Limerick about to shoot themselves in the foot once again

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Looks like his reputed oddball nature is rearing it's head. Great timing. Limerick about to shoot themselves in the foot once again
    Speculation is a very dangerous thing.Most of it is usually bullsh it as well because of the amount of changes that get made to the actual truth whilst rumour is being bandied about.If 'oddball nature' gets results and the club promoted, will you really care?? I doubt it.I can't see any signs of the club 'shooting itself in the foot'....please share them with me.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    well the team ovarall dominated for large parts of the game untill the 53rd min when a passanger gave a 30 yard pass to a drogs player and it all went down hill from there. cant type too upset cos of it. Back 4 were good Barrett was the best on the field, Donellan, Kelleher and even CP all tried hard and Young wehn he came on for the injured Carthy spared the ball around well. Mooney dropped a clanger but had little else to do for most of the game due to the supurb finni and co, then that pass! enough said.
    Lets not forget that Paul Finnucane missed two glorious opportunities to score, Darren Young missed a header from 2 yards that a geriatric would have bagged, and that the same 'passenger', whilst poor, also provided a great drilled cross in the first half that if touched by anyone would have went in. The crossfield pass was disastrous...it led to the first goal, but so too did our inability to clear the ball properly(Wolfie and Finny) when it came in first, and then Steven 'forgot' to even jump with Sandvliet at the back post for a header that our keeper might have saved.So while it was a terrible terrible error, he wasn't the only one to blame.Lets start putting things into perspective here for a change, or maybe the rose coloured glasses could be adjusted.

sun is in ur eyes

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Lets not forget that Paul Finnucane missed two glorious opportunities to score, Darren Young missed a header from 2 yards that a geriatric would have bagged, and that the same 'passenger', whilst poor, also provided a great drilled cross in the first half that if touched by anyone would have went in. The crossfield pass was disastrous...it led to the first goal, but so too did our inability to clear the ball properly(Wolfie and Finny) when it came in first, and then Steven 'forgot' to even jump with Sandvliet at the back post for a header that our keeper might have saved.So while it was a terrible terrible error, he wasn't the only one to blame.Lets start putting things into perspective here for a change, or maybe the rose coloured glasses could be adjusted.

have to differ Joe, he had a mare. For a guy thats actually playing out of position id give him his dew but as a striker he hasnt even come close to scoring yet alone getting into the opposition box and thats after 15 games or so. He never got close to his man last night for 90 mins and not only the stray pass but his man reg ran the length of the field unchallenged. His woeful clearance late in the game also nearly resulted in a penalty to make it three nil. I dont expect miricles from anyone just effort, i didnt drive 360 miles to see my team (most of them) put in such effort only to be let down by one other. Rossi was a better option, Molem should have been moved into center midfield when Carthy was taken off with Young going in at left back. We're short central midfielders due to Hughes departure and wheres Conlon? Oh thats right hes not very good is he! So why not bring Keith Harnett along? The next two weeks are vital in our season, 3 points are a minimum. Slackers and non tryers out! Its effort hard work and passion with a tad football that will win this very poor first division. And they were black with orange not rose tinted!

Who was the number 7 lads?

He looked like he'd a good night out before the match
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

it was

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Who was the number 7 lads?

He looked like he'd a good night out before the match
    Its funny you should mention that actually! No thats Colin O'Brien who to be fair tried hard that night. Cosmo where were my photos that i sent to you? ye're programme was good but lacking something if ye get me!

Yeah, cheers for the photos but the printers will only put in photos that they get on a disk (dont know why !!)

In fairness O' Brien did try hard alright, but thats no excuse for him to be nackered after 20 minutes !!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Speculation is a very dangerous thing.Most of it is usually bullsh it as well because of the amount of changes that get made to the actual truth whilst rumour is being bandied about.If 'oddball nature' gets results and the club promoted, will you really care?? I doubt it.I can't see any signs of the club 'shooting itself in the foot'....please share them with me.
    Oh look, it's the 'Speculation is a very dangerous thing'/'Be careful what you say here' line that you constantly trot out. Note the word reputed in my post. There's plenty of stories about his last term in charge, a few I know to be fact, where similar things happened. Everybody can't be wrong. The fact that problems with players appears to be happening again is what i'm referring to. Two players gone, what happens if there's a third? You don't find that a little alarming, no? (Make sure you say all the right things in your reply now )

On another note, looks like CP is cured but has 'passed' on his disease to Jamie Nolan....

Note the word reputed in my post
    Reputed...my point exactly. I'm sure you know what that word means, and it wouldn't have to be used if people had actual facts rather than conjecture.

There's plenty of stories about his last term in charge, a few I know to be fact, where similar things happened.
    If they are facts, then maybe you should share them publicly, or even call in to discuss them with Noel. You know where to find him, and I'm sure you'd be very welcome.

Everybody can't be wrong. The fact that problems with players appears to be happening again is what i'm referring to. Two players gone, what happens if there's a third? You don't find that a little alarming, no? (Make sure you say all the right things in your reply now ).
    As far as I'm aware only one player has officially left the squad, but maybe I'm wrong there.....but then again, people like you obviously have really good, informed sources so who am I to disagree with you.??

On another note, looks like CP is cured but has 'passed' on his disease to Jamie Nolan....
    And who will ye choose next..... I wonder??

Whoever clearly isn't good enough I suppose... that would be the obvious choice anyway.

Joesoap:

While not trying to be argumentative maybe you should talk to NOC or the players yourself. The fact is that there is a substantial difference in the treatment of Cork players and Limerick/Kerry players. A blind man could see this in the way each group is treated and spoken to on the pitch. It is happening, we all knew that NOC has these personality flaws, and while I won't condemn him outright, my comment earlier in the year about NOC being an excellent coach and a terrible manager are ringing true it seems.

Crashing and burning...... same old same old.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Originally by Joe Soap
    Lets not forget that Paul Finnucane missed two glorious opportunities to score, Darren Young missed a header from 2 yards that a geriatric would have bagged, and that the same 'passenger', whilst poor, also provided a great drilled cross in the first half that if touched by anyone would have went in. The crossfield pass was disastrous...it led to the first goal, but so too did our inability to clear the ball properly(Wolfie and Finny) when it came in first, and then Steven 'forgot' to even jump with Sandvliet at the back post for a header that our keeper might have saved.So while it was a terrible terrible error, he wasn't the only one to blame.Lets start putting things into perspective here for a change, or maybe the rose coloured glasses could be adjusted
    I think maybe Joe that its you who's wearing the rose coloured glasses. While Gael's account of the match is tainted with his frustration I think its fair to say that Drogheda deserved to win the match and by far played better football than what Limerick was capable of doing. There is an obvious gulf in class between both teams. I suppose thats the difference that results from being a full-time set up. We created half chances, the best been Brian Donnellans effort were he did very well to hit the target. When you mention the chances that we had, compare them to Drogheda's who constantly created clear cut chances. They should have easily have been up 2-0 at halftime. Limerick for the majority of the match contained Drogheda with the exception of ten minutes were we had a real go at them. Nolan's mistake inevitably led to the goal, because it was such a horrible mistake to make he has to bear the brunt of the criticism for the first goal. I've noticed a couple of times now that Jamie has the tendency to panic especially when he has too much time on the ball.

Nolan in the past few games has not performed well and his performance against Drogheda was so inept especially in the second half that you have to question what NOC was doing. While Jamie had a nightmare game, I think responsibility rests solely on NOC's shoulders because he should have taken off Nolan after sixty minutes. Once Jamie made that major blunder his heart was gone from the game which was blatantly obvious to everyone at the match even those wearing rose coloured glasses. NOC should have taken Nolan off, not O'Mahony and certainly not Robbie. It was poor management to which there can be no excuses.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Originally by Joe Soap
    Speculation is a very dangerous thing.Most of it is usually bullsh it as well because of the amount of changes that get made to the actual truth whilst rumour is being bandied about.If 'oddball nature' gets results and the club promoted, will you really care??
    By all accounts Joe its not fabricated speculation thats emerging from the club but hard cold facts from different sources within. The only reason that no one is coming straight out with whats happening is simply because people wish to remain positive and supportive. NOC by all accounts is not a popular manager especially after the fiasco with Kerley's departure. But people are making a genuine effort to get behind him and not judge him on past experiences. But with whats emerging from behind the scenes, there are concerns being raised and rightly so. In regards to your comment below...
    If they are facts, then maybe you should share them publicly, or even call in to discuss them with Noel. You know where to find him, and I'm sure you'd be very welcome.
    I think you should appreciate the restraint been shown by certain people here in not broadcasting the different complaints and incidents that have occurred. Nor do I think NOC would appreciate you offering an open invitation to everyone to go to his place of business to air the clubs "dirty laundry". I think indiscretion would work best such as having a private meeting with the committee of the Supporters Club and dealing with these issues at hand.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.