Thread: Faroe Islands and other minnows

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    The women's team still competes in the Games

Apparently a mate of mine from Jersey refereed one of their games in the 2003 tournament and had it shown live on Faeroes TV
    How could I forget our golden ladies!? /me shames himself

Quote Originally Posted by Islander
    How could I forget our golden ladies!? /me shames himself
    The Faroes ladies were over here recently playing 2 matches against the Irish:

http://www.fai.ie/article.asp?hlid=2...avlid=&sublid=

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Ever read that book about Liechtenstein's WC qualifying campaign by a lad called Connolly? Worth a read, though the name escapes me. Has a triangular stamp on the cover.
    I've often thought that a tournament for all the so-called lesser lights would make a good TV event.
    Certainly better than watching the women's tournaments.

That book about Liechtenstein is called Stomping Grounds: Liechtenstein's World Cup Oddysey and is a very good read. You can buy it here if you like:
    Caller to Radio 5 phone-in: There are too many foreign players in the league.
    Mark Lawrenson: Why do you think that is?
    Caller: Because there are a lot of them.

3,491 Posts
    Ireland 2-1 Faroes
    UCD 3-1 Faroes!

And a UCD player scored both the Irish goals!

Got that Liechtenstein book in the post from amazon today - just had a flick through (about six other books to get through), but looks very good alright.

I've had a long day today (back at work first time from Faroes, blah, blah, blah) so forgive me for skipping pages 2-4 and if anything I say has already been mentioned. My two cents are this: Faroes, San Marino, Litchenstein, Scotland, etc. These countries are great. We normally win, the points are never included (I stand corrected) even if you f*ck up, and if there should be a penalty/incentive it is that whoever loses to these countries should lose 6 points. Plus (if you can get there) they are great destinations. Nothing against them.

It is the break up of proper countries that throw the spanner in the works, like Yugoslavia (remember Zagreb or Skopje, FFS). Now imagine if Spain split into with Catalunya, Euskadi, Castille etc. or France with Bretagne, Provence or Germany with Bavaria etc. We'd be up against it with these 'countries.'
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Ireland 2-1 Faroes
    UCD 3-1 Faroes!

And a UCD player scored both the Irish goals!
    What's this about?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    What's this about?
    Ireland Ladies v Faroe Islands Ladies
    UCD "ladies" v Faroe Islands Ladies

3,491 Posts
    'Tis mad - someone was telling me about this in Café Natúr in Tórshavn last week, and I was adamant that they were only playing Ireland. Can't remember who is was - Galway Brian? - but apologies!!

When does Rockall join FIFA ?

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    When does Rockall join FIFA ?
    Since Rockall belongs to the Faroes, it is allready included!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    The following sovereign or non-sovereign states have well-structured FAs as far as I know and could apply for FIFA recognition if you let out political issues. The starred ones are busy with FIFA application and will very likely be entering the FIFA very soon.

Vatican City (*)
    Monaco
    Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
    Guernsey
    Isle of Man
    Shetland Islands
    Greenland (need a grass pitch or recognition of artificial surface and they're in)
    Lapland
    Gibraltar
    Falkland Islands
    Canary Islands
    Tuvalu (*)
    Christmas Island
    Nauru
    Cocos Islands (Keering Islands)
    Tibet
    East Timor
    Western Sahara (?? Not sure if their FA meets all criteria)
    Monaco has a club team in the French league, the Canary Islands is covered by the FRF, Isle Of Man, Shetland Islands, Guernsey, come under the jurisdiction of the E/SFA, TR Cyprus is already an active FIFA member, Tibet comes under the Chinese FA. Vatican City is part of Rome, which comes under the Italian FA. None of these "countries" could become FIFA members, as none of them are outright independent states.

Quote Originally Posted by Islander
    Since Rockall belongs to the Faroes, it is allready included!

Of course and its easier to get in/out of

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Monaco has a club team in the French league, the Canary Islands is covered by the FRF, Isle Of Man, Shetland Islands, Guernsey, come under the jurisdiction of the E/SFA, TR Cyprus is already an active FIFA member, Tibet comes under the Chinese FA. Vatican City is part of Rome, which comes under the Italian FA. None of these "countries" could become FIFA members, as none of them are outright independent states.
    The vatican is an outright independent state and in any case this is not required as Scotland and Wales. NI etc are not independent.

MyPost, you need to re-research a bit man

- Vatican City is an independent sovereign state, not part of Rome at all ! They have an independent FA as well. FIFA and UEFA will soon officiallise their membership application.

- Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not already an active FIFA member. Where did you get that ?! The Northern Cipriot FA is not recognised because of political reasons, and for the same reasons their league cannot enter any clubs in the European competitions (this is why their league has not yet gained fully professional level)

- Monaco may have a professional club in the French league, they also have an independent FA and amateur league. And they're a sovereign state. No reason for UEFA to reject application, so the moment they ask affiliation they'll be allowed in.

- Tibet is part of China ?! Well, I'm sure any Tibetan will be very happy to read this. Tibet is OCCUPIED by China for the moment, which is a completely different situation. At least, this is how they see it. From the Chinese point of view Tibet is a Chinese region. Tibet does have its own FA (situated across the border in India, because it's not allowed under Chinese laws to represent Tibet as an independent state within the borders of PR China) and if not for political reasons Tibet would be FIFA member.

- FIFA let in Palestina as independent FIFA member. In that perspective they should also allow Tibet, Gibraltar and the Falklands to affiliate ; if you ignore political objections for one country you have to do it for them all, there's no reason why Palestina would be allowed an exception while Falklands can't (unless the Israeli FA had no objection to Palestina's affiliation)
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

- Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not already an active FIFA member. Where did you get that ?!
    Mostly because the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" is not a country. It's an occupied area of another country.

I would go immediately, both for football and country. Sorry. I just want to travel the world, always been my big goal in life. If I would have to cut countries from the list because of a political issue, there wouldn't be much remaining as it's something rotten everywhere. TRNC has some great sceneries and towns and if I'd ever have the chance to see them I won't let it pass by because of some political thing.

TRNC's best club played a friendly versus a Greek professional club recently, not sure which Greek club but it was a top-divisionist playing around the 10th place. The Greeks won 6-1, which was expected as the Northern Cyprus clubs cannot gain international experience and have only semi-professionalism and no pro's. I asked someone from TRNC who people support, and apart from their own non-FIFA recognised national side most inhabitants support the Turkish national team. So it may be occupied territory, the locals do feel Turkish.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Exactly and nobody should be going on holidays there, let alone playing football against them.
    Rather than punishing the people and players of the occupied territory, it would make more sense to boycot the team of the occupiers. If you really want to mix politics and sports, then it would make more sense to refuse to play Turkey, as they're the "guilty" ones, not the people who happen to live in TR Northern Cyprus.
    But the best thing is to try to build bridges and not let politics and sports mix.

101 Posts
    The Cypriot border (especially through Nicosia with the UN) is such a great place to visit, standing on the border of an EU country,looking across with a few Turkish boys with AK47's aiming at you... Great craic altogether!

- FIFA let in Palestina as independent FIFA member. In that perspective they should also allow Tibet, Gibraltar and the Falklands to affiliate ; if you ignore political objections for one country you have to do it for them all, there's no reason why Palestina would be allowed an exception while Falklands can't (unless the Israeli FA had no objection to Palestina's affiliation)

You can't compare Gibraltar with Pleastine - They're on a different level I don't see why Gibraltar should play international games - they're not a "nation" - so they can't play against Us, France etc, obviously this can't be applied retrospectively, so Faroes, San Marino etc are free to continue. With parts of Moldova, Azerbarjan etc wanting to proclaim "proper independence" - "fake" countries like Guernsey or the Falklands certainly don't carry as much credence.

176 Posts
    Vatican City is an independent sovereign state, not part of Rome at all ! They have an independent FA as well. FIFA and UEFA will soon officiallise their membership application.
    Vatican City is a state in it's purest technical form. I personally, don't recognise the Vatican as a sovereign state, but merely as an area of Rome. Rome is in Italy, it's in football terms, under the guise of the Italian FA. I think if The Vatican make an application to join FIFA, it should be rejected out-of-hand.

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not already an active FIFA member. Where did you get that ?! The Northern Cipriot FA is not recognised because of political reasons, and for the same reasons their league cannot enter any clubs in the European competitions (this is why their league has not yet gained fully professional level)
    TRC and GRC make up Cyprus. Nicosia, where Cyprus often play International games, is on the border of the two areas. Cyprus is a recognised member of UEFA, and FIFA. Case closed.

Tibet is part of China ?! Well, I'm sure any Tibetan will be very happy to read this. Tibet is OCCUPIED by China for the moment, which is a completely different situation. At least, this is how they see it. From the Chinese point of view Tibet is a Chinese region.
    Tibet is occupied by China, fair enough. Therefore, it comes under the auspices of the Chinese FA. China is a member of FIFA. If/when Tibet is an independent sovereign state, the situation can then be reviewed.

Look lads, if every region in the world applied for FIFA membership, there would be about 400 members. Where do you draw the line? Quebec, Lapland, Catalonia, the Basque country? These regions are not independent sovereign states, so any application for FIFA membership from them should be rejected, until the political situation in those regions changes to such an extent that their applications should be reviewed.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast