Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Thread: Who is going to win the 2021 League

The amount of actual adults I have had to explain the fact that, no, Pat O'Sullivan doesn't in fact own the word Limerick or the colour Blue to is unreal.
    Ya I've had to do the same plenty of times myself, its actually mad.

I like the Treaty name. It's different.

892 Posts
    I'd prefer Limerick Soviet myself. But given that it lasted about a fortnight, it might be a smidge too aspirational.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

71 Posts
    From the outside at least... Waterford have recruited really well on the pitch over the last couple of seasons. If they had a bit more stability, Im sure they could have been contenders. Their team this year looks again very unknown. Kevin Sheedy is an intriguing appointment.

For predictions if we are still doing this.

League Winners= Rovers (they were so strong last year, the gap was hug... Bohs lost Grant and Wright so they have to find replacements... Dundalk is in a state of flux but it will be a much closer league)

Europe= Dundalk, Bohs

Last Europe place should be really close. Anybody can get it really. If someone can find an anyways consistant goalscorer, tha should be alright.

Relegation Playoff= Derry (controversial maybe, just dont think they have recruited well and finished last year very poorly).
    Relegation= Longford

Biggest worry for Dundalk= league form of last year continues and we struggle mid table. Foreign players dont hit, multiple managers.
    Realistic(ish) big hope for Dundalk= New keeper is solid, at least 2 foreign players improve the side.

51 Posts
    On the name the board of Treaty went with Limerick United at the start.

A quick look on Solocheck would have told them Paud owns the name Limerick United.

Paud started making legal noises and in a blind panic they went with Treaty United. Which is awful.

So it wasn't so much a conscious decision more a balls up by someone

They then sent easily led people out into the wild to make stupid claims on their behalf.

The amount of actual adults I have had to explain the fact that, no, Pat O'Sullivan doesn't in fact own the word Limerick or the colour Blue to is unreal.

But ya, make a mistake, deflect, spoof, feed info to gullible people.

Plus ca change.

I can't see Paud going anywhere until he gets what he feels he's owed (Irony is something he struggled with from day one.) I don't think the FAI are in a position to give him any bobs though.

Will be interesting to see the Academy Licenses. If, as the rumour was last night, both Limerick teams are given underage licenses, it will show the FAI still can't/won't/don't want to deal with him. If just Treaty are given the underage it will show the FAI are confident their ducks are in a row.

On the playing side, the squad that was training for Treaty last night is basically players that played under Tommy and haven't been able to get another League Of Ireland club and the Galway United players from Alan Murphys tenure that Caulfield didn't want.

So, in answer to who's going to win the 2021 league, probably not Treaty.
    Overwhelming positivity

Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    Overwhelming positivity
    How do you see it?

Genuinely curious.

There's nothing I said there wrong from what I've been able to glean.

But it's just an opinion on an obscure internet forum.

If there's good news I'm all ears!

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    579 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie View Post
    you don't hear much these days from that tactics truck guy who used go to bat for O'Sullivan
    Think Alan gave up on LOI before Limerick FC died its death. I recall one of his last posts on the topic is literally called "An Ode To Pat O'Sullivan" and around the same time he was comparing critics of the man to Trump supporters. Perhaps for the best he moved on from the topic.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

635 Posts
    So some of Dundalks new lads looked pretty decent against Bohs add them to the cup final team(minus Gannon + Hooban) and dfc look strong.
    I hope the confidence on the predictions thread with so far 100% voting for Rovers as Champions, i cant muster that myself but heres hoping.
    The presidents cup will be interesting.
    Hard to make much of pre season matches when you dont know where the players are in terms of fitness or even what the teams are sometimes with trialists etc and teams playing two games in a day (Rovers and Bohs).
    Roll on the 19th March.

360 Posts
    Back to back titles are very hard to achieve, apart from DFC in 2015, 2016 and 2019, the last other club to do it was Rovers in 2011, to be fair Bohs did it too in 09, plenty have before this but these are just recent seasons.

During this period, Sligo, Pats, and Cork all failed to defend the title.

Actually, up to 2015 DFC had never done it before either, and that obviously included the double winning teams of 79 and 88.

For this season, and for now, I'd still see Rovers as slight favourites.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Here we go, this is going to be controversial I know !

Premier Division
    1. St Pats
    2. Rovers
    3. Bohs
    4. Dundalk
    5. Sligo
    6. Waterford
    7. Derry
    8. Harps
    9. Drogs
    10. Longford

First Division
    1. Shels
    2. Bray
    3. UCD
    4. Galway
    5. Athlone
    6. Cork
    7. Cobh
    8. Wexford
    9. Treaty
    10. Cabo

Play Off Final Drogs v UCD
    Winners : UCD

535 Posts
    I am not convinced with Dundalks signings imo I think ye will have a poor start to the season and then play catchup. I think runners up after Shamrock Rovers will be Bohs again imo. I could be wrong mind you!

1,911 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I like the Treaty name. It's different.
    What I learned in school was the treaty was broken before the ink dried.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Niallymac View Post
    Here we go, this is going to be controversial I know !

Premier Division
    1. St Pats
    Controversial is one word alright!

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678