Thread: Roy Keane's booking

'Unless there are other motives behind it.'

Yeah there are some muppets of irish supporters. If I was him I wouldn't have bothered coming back when ye hear some of this crap. All this crap over 1 booking .
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Poor Roy . He abuses people for alleged unprofessionalism and then commits an unprofessional act that could cost us qualification because he is so important to us but we're not allowed mention it?? The booking in Israel was also daft by the way.

Remember the Dutch game where he clobbered Kluivert within a few minutes. His hands are now tied to a certain extent in the French game and can't lay down such a marker without risking missing the next game - all for a piece of useless and petulant dissent. We'll need him in Cyprus AND the Swiss games. I just fear that stupid action will cost us all dear in the long run.
    Silly thread, every player on that pitch will have moaned at a ref at some point in their career. He voiced his disagreement with the decision, It didn't appear to be over the top and looked a fairly harsh decision to get a booking.

If you are looking for unprofessional acts that will cost us dear, look no further than the woeful finishing by Duff and co against Israel for starters or indeed Kerr's tactics in the same game (if you can call them that).

You generally post decent enough stuff - this is shoite.

And if you think RK's hands will be tied against the french because of this booking - you obviously haven't been following his career too closley. His hands weren't tied against Juve in the CL Semi Final game were they? He just simply isn't that type of player. He will be looking to win v France and will do all he can for those 90 minutes regardless of the games thereafter. I for one am grateful of that.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    This is the most stupid thread ever. There is a long list of Irish players on bookings. He is on one of them. Morrisson looked to be onside and Keane gave out. He probably should not have however I still thing subconciously he is captain and more often than not captains get away with comments like that. A silly booking but no need to start a ****ing thread over it. Unless there are other motives behind it.
    We'll see how stupid this thread is if we lose him for one of the last two games because of a needless booking for mouthing off (having just come back from suspension). If you preach professionalism, you should practice what you preach.

So we can criticise O'Shea, Morrisson etc but not Keane. Sorry, didn't realise he was above reproach .

we criticise other players for not playing well. some people will criticise roy keane for being roy keane.

how many other threads have you started since the start of the qualifying campaign about a needless yellow card?? why is roy so special for you

229 Posts
    No player is above reproach, thats what this forum is for voicing our opinions but this seems petty. Didn't Duff get booked on Saturday? No thread I notice...................
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito
    Lads can't you see the last thing Alex Ferguson needs is Roy Keane heading off to Cyprus in October. You'll find Keane will be booked against the French and miss the away trip to Cyprus, as soon as I saw the booking thats what went through my mind.
    Whether he can play or not he'll be travelling to Cyprus with the rest of the team as we have Switzerland 4 days later.

We'll see how stupid this thread is if we lose him for one of the last two games because of a needless booking for mouthing off (having just come back from suspension). If you preach professionalism, you should practice what you preach.
    Oh, C'mon. The goal looked onside and Keane said it to the ref. I would be shocked if Roy Keane walked away and accepted it after 14 years of doing the same.

I think we should start a thread every time a player gets for Ireland and say how silly and unprofessional it was of them to get booked. I think we have about 8 players on booking at the moment.
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    Because he is a special player who we will need badly in our last two games and may well now miss one of those. That yellow card could yet be one of the most significant events of that Faroe game. I also mentioned the Duff incident as well by the way. I would have been fuming if he had got a yellow card for a stupid pull on a jersey and then miss the French game.

But you can join the 3 monkey brigade if you wish: See no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil.

Someone said we mightn't need him against Cyprus. Ireland don't do easy away games. That is not a banker by any stretch of the imagination although hopefully we won't have to play in a gale on a bumpy pitch there.

I think a thread about getting suspended for 2 bookings should be opened. Its ridiculous that you play 10-12 matches and are only allowed 1 yellow card in that time. The world cup group has 3 matches and you also are need 2 bookings for suspension. the PL has 38 matches and you are allowed 5 bookings. You should definitely be allowed 3 bookings in such a time period.

I agree however that would mean Keane misses the French game ha ha !!1
    In Trap we trust

I think Keane's disciplinary record in the premiership over last two years is excellent.

Can anyone confirm this ?

Anyway Viera wont come near Keano anyway so it will be easy

I agree however that would mean Keane misses the French game ha ha !!1
    Nah, thats like saying if Israel didn't get that freekick they still would have got the peno in injury time. Nobody knows what will happen under different circumstances. He would have kept himself quiet on Wednesday probably.

I think Keane's disciplinary record in the premiership over last two years is excellent.

Can anyone confirm this ?
    Well, last the 03/04 season he managed to go through with just 3 cards but last season he was back to his usual self with 12.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 10/06/2005 at 12:16 PM.

794 Posts
    I think we should start a thread every time a player gets for Ireland and say how silly and unprofessional it was of them to get booked. I think we have about 8 players on booking at the moment.
    And how many of them have already missed a game in this tournament due to picking up a booking or who have just returned from suspension? In another thread you say you agreed with Dunphy that we wouldn't have thrown away a 2 goal lead against Israel if Keane was playing. Why wasn't he playing ? Because of his two previous bookings and what happens ? Back next game and immediately booked for dissent of all things. Crass stupidity in anybody'd language except the 3 monkey brigade who will hear no evil.

'We'll see how stupid this thread is if we lose him for one of the last two games because of a needless booking for mouthing off'

Well done, thanks for pointing that out - it's Roy Keane's fault if we don't qualify for germany

Lets blame Roy .

Honestly, I really don't know why he bothered coming back having to listen some of the tripe by some people

Yellow cards are part and parcel of the game. So Roy got booked it's not the first time he's been booked for mouthing and it won't be the last. Some players have that in their make up, some don't but as soon as Keane is booked its all "yeah he's wanting to miss the Cyprus game etc".

I've rarely heard anything as dumb.

It's a part of his game that he's vastly improved on in recent times and in all fairness, I'd have been swearing at the ref too after Morrison was yet again given offside when clearly not.

But you can join the 3 monkey brigade if you wish: See no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil.
    but there's also an equivalent it appears,

see no good, speak no good , & hear no good - when it comes to roy keane - and certain people are showing that they fall into that monkey brigade as well - 'if you wish'

'but when you set yourself up as the defender of integrity'

Yeah, thats what he led people to believe - that he'd never get a yellow card for the rest of his career

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    roy is stupid, roy is terrible, but roy we need you
    Exactly!!!

Funny how out of all the people that complained about RK getting booked not one of them have raised the point that maybe the Ref was being harsh in booking him.

Unlike Rugby, where the rules state that players aren't allowed to approach the Referee to complain/discuss decisions, there is no such rule in football. If the captain can't complain about a decision what's the point in having a captain?

B.

Quote Originally Posted by BaZmO*
    If the captain can't complain about a decision what's the point in having a captain?

B.
    He's ..eh... not the captain, but it think i agree with you.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Quote Originally Posted by Magoo
    He's ..eh... not the captain, but it think i agree with you.
    Sorry!!! I didn't mean captain, but I think you know what I mean?!?!

B.