View Poll Results: What type of secondary school did you go to?

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Public

44 80.00%
  • Private

11 20.00%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: What type of secondary school did you go to?

Quote Originally Posted by eamo
    And I all ways get!!
    Qus: What school r u in?
    Ans: Grammar.
    Reply: Ohhh posh boy!
    Ah, i get that too but I put boarding in instead of Grammer but its basically the same thing. Was up in Dundalk grammer last year for a hockey match btw

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Why should you feel guilty?? Tell them to fcuk off when they try that $h!t and tell them that you support/play the only REAL WORLD game.
    I dont feel guilty, they try and make me feel guilty. (I worded the other post wrongly)

I just tell them where to go. *******

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr
    Im at a private school! Fcuking hate it!
    Yeah, I was at a private school too- not a big fan

Went to Independent CBS school, but the council paid as they don't have a Catholic Grammar. Got outta there first chance I got, to the local authority grammar - non-denominational, co-educational.

If I have kids, and am able to afford it, they'll be going a co-ed, non-denomination school. I'd pay for the lack of religious doctrine and religious zealots.

Catholic Diocesan College. Public but boarders paid. Have to say the religious had damn all impact there. Or at least i never felt like i was being preached to. Even looking back it seemed to be pretty unbiased anyway. As regards the priests, some of them were total knobs but so too were some of the lay teachers. From what i gather every school has 'em. Don't see much point in using their vocation as a means to slate them. It was intriguing to see how supposed holy men were dishing out slaps on a regular basis. Some of them were right hotheads.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

3,498 Posts
    CBS Sexton Street in Limerick

Quote Originally Posted by Magoo
    As regards the priests, some of them were total knobs but so too were some of the lay teachers. From what i gather every school has 'em. Don't see much point in using their vocation as a means to slate them. It was intriguing to see how supposed holy men were dishing out slaps on a regular basis. Some of them were right hotheads.
    Talking about my families experiences with these people of God. If that's their fookin religion, they can fookin stick it. Won't be sending a child of mine into that environment if I can possibly help it. btw It wasn't abuse - just their attitude and what they value as important in the general scheme of things.

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    Ah, i get that too but I put boarding in instead of Grammer but its basically the same thing. Was up in Dundalk grammer last year for a hockey match btw

What's boarding actually like? Is it like Harry Potter?! All amusing scrapes, and heroic adventures agaisnt the evil Malfoy equivalent? Or not?

You must have 24 hour internet access there anyway the time you're on here!

adamcarr-do you got to Pres or Christians? Or other?

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    What's boarding actually like? Is it like Harry Potter?! All amusing scrapes, and heroic adventures agaisnt the evil Malfoy equivalent? Or not?
    Yeah, do you really play that biscuit game

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull
    No facilities, what about that patch of grass we have , perfect for a game of world cup (as long as there are'nt more than a dozen playing ).
    And shar the class-rooms are grand for a game of dodgeball, what is it now-
    4 years in the school and 10 lights broken and maybe a window or 2
    Not sure, my personal tally is one of those long flourescent lights. And of course the hole in the wall , but that was non-sport related.

Can't believe they never caught me for that?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Went to a public school called St.Vincents in Glasnevin in Dublin. Had a great GAA tradition, at one stage 7 of the Dublin team had gone to my old school. Currently I think that 5 of the team went to Vincents. Was a grand oul place, most of the teachers were cool and looked after ya. Decent Sports facilities too, had a pool, huge gym and huge sports field so can't complain in that regard!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    One of the options should have been $hit School, that would have been the option I'd have clicked, but I settled for public (still played 'rugger' there though ).

Hope this link that rates my french teacher works

Thanks for that Troy. I ooked my old school from 10 years ago and some of the same teachers are still there !!!! Excellent. Made me laugh out loud.

Quote Originally Posted by aido_b
    Went to a public school called St.Vincents in Glasnevin in Dublin. Had a great GAA tradition, at one stage 7 of the Dublin team had gone to my old school. Currently I think that 5 of the team went to Vincents. Was a grand oul place, most of the teachers were cool and looked after ya. Decent Sports facilities too, had a pool, huge gym and huge sports field so can't complain in that regard!

I was in St.Vincents for 1st and 2nd class, years ago! 1987-1989 I think, could be wrong there, thats back in my Glasnevin days!

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    Its nothing like that sh!te Its just pure messing all day every day, breaking things, ripping paint/wallpaper off walls, annoying the people in charge, staying up really late and scraping yourself outta bed the next morning, falling asleep in class the next morning, its great craic most of the time.
    You must have 24 hour internet access there anyway the time you're on here!
    I dont actually, so Im on da net all day at weekends and when I'm on holidays

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah, do you really play that biscuit game

no, we dont

One thing you had to give the boarders was their ability to come up with insane games. Some of the dressing rooms used to be of 'old shed' construction in our school. One game involved two lads hanging out of a rusty metal trust going from one wall to another and knocking the living sh!t out of each other. Much better than watching the 'fights' at the gate that either never happened or were over in 15 seconds.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Quote Originally Posted by Magoo
    One thing you had to give the boarders was their ability to come up with insane games. Some of the dressing rooms used to be of 'old shed' construction in our school. One game involved two lads hanging out of a rusty metal trust going from one wall to another and knocking the living sh!t out of each other.

Thats class. Some of the stuff that the lads come up with is brilliant alright.
    Much better than watching the 'fights' at the gate that either never happened or were over in 15 seconds. :rolleyes
    State of those lads

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    I was in St.Vincents for 1st and 2nd class, years ago! 1987-1989 I think, could be wrong there, thats back in my Glasnevin days!
    Ah there ya go, and what a great two years they were!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    pres or christians
    Christians! I dont know which one is worse but I cant fcuking stand Christians anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Mixed school
    I love it mixed alright
    no uniforms
    Ya lucky fcuker
    French was the only foreign language
    We have French, Spannish and German. I do French myself.
    Biology the only science subject
    We have all 3 AFAIK
    And it was where I met my wife...awwwwwwwwwww
    Fair play to ya

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast