Page 31 of 59 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast

Thread: Evan Ferguson F Brighton b.2004

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    Ferguson is not nearly as good as people are making him out to be.
    Couldnt disagree more, but we'll see
    Its really not that complicated!!!

662 Posts
    Joao Pedro is much more of an attacking threat than Evan
    Not based on Saturday. Different players but JP is nowhere near as dangerous as Evan.

1,075 Posts
    Ferguson is not nearly as good as people are making him out to be. Bags of potential for an 18 year old for sure, but still not even the best striker at Brighton. Joao Pedro is much more of an attacking threat than Evan, Wellbeck has probably won the duel between himself and Ferguson over last 15 games and Adringa is arguably an equally good prospect right now.
    I don't think this true at all. There's a reason the hype around Ferguson extends far beyond just Brighton and Ireland supporters. Adringa and Enciso are excellent talents, but they're just not in Ferguson's league - he seems to have the lot, power, pace, all round play, natural finisher. I don't think there's anything like him in terms of teenagers in world football at the moment - plenty of exciting young wingers and support forwards out there, but nothing close in terms of a pure centre forward like Ferguson.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Couldnt disagree more, but we'll see
    It’s the strangest take I’ve seen anywhere in a long time. How can you not get legitimately excited about how good he already is at 18 and how much better he can get.

1,159 Posts
    Ferguson is not nearly as good as people are making him out to be. Bags of potential for an 18 year old for sure, but still not even the best striker at Brighton. Joao Pedro is much more of an attacking threat than Evan, Wellbeck has probably won the duel between himself and Ferguson over last 15 games and Adringa is arguably an equally good prospect right now.
    Yeah, it's pure green tinted glasses. Oh wait...

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    It’s the strangest take I’ve seen anywhere in a long time. How can you not get legitimately excited about how good he already is at 18 and how much better he can get.
    Its just a fella being contrarian for the sake of it. Wants to be able to say he was the only one who could see what others couldn't on the off chance. As you said if you can't get excited as an Irish fan then what's the point

1,075 Posts
    Suspect there might be some supporters of Irish clubs other than Bohs who might have reason to hope that he isn't all that, given that the size and potential impact of his sell-on clause has been discussed quite a bit on social media in the last couple of days.

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Suspect there might be some supporters of Irish clubs other than Bohs who might have reason to hope that he isn't all that, given that the size and potential impact of his sell-on clause has been discussed quite a bit on social media in the last couple of days.
    Stupid if that's the case. It is funny though, almost every Irish pundit you hear says something like "you don't want to build him up too much, but....". It's ok lads, we've had world class players before, it isn't new. You're allowed to say it's impressive what an 18 year old is doing in one of worlds best leagues. We've been over exited about potential in players before, this isn't potential, its seeing what's being done on the pitch and realizing it's really good

505 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    I don't think this true at all. There's a reason the hype around Ferguson extends far beyond just Brighton and Ireland supporters. Adringa and Enciso are excellent talents, but they're just not in Ferguson's league - he seems to have the lot, power, pace, all round play, natural finisher. I don't think there's anything like him in terms of teenagers in world football at the moment - plenty of exciting young wingers and support forwards out there, but nothing close in terms of a pure centre forward like Ferguson.
    The lads on match of the day were gushing about him and Ian Wright is a big fan of the lad too.

242 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    He's got potential no doubt about it but he needs to work on first touch. But he's facing massive competition within his own club now and needs to produce goals. If he becomes a 20 plus goalscorer all the power to him

358 Posts
    In basically a 10 minute spell at the weekend, hit the post with a great individual effort and then read the play beautifully to score a poacher's goal. As an 18 year old, he will be played sparingly, but is the real deal!

410 Posts
    Stupid if that's the case. It is funny though, almost every Irish pundit you hear says something like "you don't want to build him up too much, but....". It's ok lads, we've had world class players before, it isn't new. You're allowed to say it's impressive what an 18 year old is doing in one of worlds best leagues. We've been over exited about potential in players before, this isn't potential, its seeing what's being done on the pitch and realizing it's really good
    Not really. Some of us prefer our league teams more than the national team and Ferguson's sell on clause would be a massive lift for bohs which would be tough to take.

I agree with everything else though. The kids on course to be something special. Not sure he will deliver as much for Ireland given the lack of creativity behind him but he should go very far in club football. Which makes it harder to take to be honest........
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

1,001 Posts
    I can't understand that mentality at all tbh. The league needs as much of that to happen as possible for it to grow. Rovers got money from Bazunu, hopefully Pats get massive money from Melia some day. There needs to be much more of it for the league to get to levels we all want it to be.

410 Posts
    I can't understand that mentality at all tbh. The league needs as much of that to happen as possible for it to grow. Rovers got money from Bazunu, hopefully Pats get massive money from Melia some day. There needs to be much more of it for the league to get to levels we all want it to be.

There isn't a single bohs or pats supporter who was happy we got money for Bazunu and there won't be a happy bohs or rovers supporter if Pats get mad money for Melia. Neutral LoI fans might exist somewhere but I'd hazard a guess they don't own season tickets or memberships.

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    There isn't a single bohs or pats supporter who was happy we got money for Bazunu and there won't be a happy bohs or rovers supporter if Pats get mad money for Melia. Neutral LoI fans might exist somewhere but I'd hazard a guess they don't own season tickets or memberships.
    I'm a Galway United fan who pays membership even though I haven't been to Ireland in 5 years. I watch most weeks on LOI TV and I only see it as a good thing when money invested back into league.
    Last edited by Razors left peg; 15/08/2023 at 5:36 AM.

410 Posts
    I'm a Galway United fan who pays membership Eben though I haven't been to Ireland in 5 years. I watch most weeks on LOI TV and I only see it as a good think when money invested back into league.
    Fair play. I don't see you on the LoI side of the forum so I might have assumed you were more of a general well wisher. Everyone wants investment but when you're competing for a small pool of players and for trophies it's hard to get excited about a rival club getting a huge windfall all at once. As charitable as bohs are now I don't think they are going to pump the money back into the LoI as a whole.

1,001 Posts
    It's not about Bohs specifically reinvesting money back in to help other clubs, it's about building themselves as a club and others to do the same with players they sell. If Bohs are investing in players and making Champions League group stages on the back of a Ferguson windfall that helps the league as a whole from an image point of view. Other teams can piggy back that if it's done right. You'd also hope there's more money to reinvest back into youth players to get the next Ferguson. That cycle has to be continuous for the league to grow, and hopefully someday we are picking players for international team who can legitimately be playing at a high enough level in LOI.

There's far too much parochial thinking in LOI sometimes that stunts its growth (part of the reason I don't post on LOI section much). It's fine to not want rival team to do well, it's great having a rivalry that generates atmosphere in grounds, but the league needs a collective working together to grow enough where it's a viable professional league that can attract more fans and better players

410 Posts
    Do you really think bohs could get into the champions league group stages with a windfall of 10m? Jesus you're making it sound even worse now. Hope Ferguson quits the game.

662 Posts
    Neutral LoI fans might exist somewhere but I'd hazard a guess they don't own season tickets or memberships.
    raises hand

3,491 Posts
    Do you really think bohs could get into the champions league group stages with a windfall of 10m? Jesus you're making it sound even worse now. Hope Ferguson quits the game.
    I think the structural problems in Irish football are too big for ten mill to be a quick CL group stage fix unfortunately

Page 31 of 59 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast