Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Faroe Islands v Ireland

230 Posts
    2-0 game over. We will take it
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

job done

bring on france

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    2-0 torture over
    would have liked more goals but fine with 3 points

Gary Doherty is shocking, christ he was even woeful against the Faroes on his little camero appearence. He got a ball in around 10 yards of space and still fecked up. It's time we put his international career to bed once and for all.

Awful performances from most bar Elliot who worked his arse off and after the penalty his confidence really grew, unlucky not to score.

I'm begining to see why people want to see pre qualifyers for world cup qualifying groups though, that Faroes side is a disgrace. The pitch and stadium I can forgive them for, but at 2-0 down their keeper was taking an age to take a goal kick. They then sub off their lone striker. Bloody time wasteing when you're loseing 2-0. If that's the height of your ambitions you shouldn't be out there.

2-0,Morrison have could been out there al night and he wouldn't have scored and can O'Shea learn to play a simple pass.Nice to see i predicted the right score again

Thank God for Elliot.A definate straight swap for Robbie if injured.He was the only real positive out there apart from Given who did his stuff.Duff will never be as bad again.I am sure we can put the performance down to pure end of the season tiredness. It was not pretty but we top the table and hopefully will be well rested for the French invasion.

Post Match Thread: Faroes 2-0 Ireland

There's about 10 match threads open so here's on for match reaction.

There was no midfield in the first half. It was going from defence to attack. Duff, Reid, Keane and Kilbane were non existant. Kerr must have mentioned this at half time because Reid got a lot of the ball and we created a lot more.

Elliott had a bad first half but was definitely the best player in the second half.
    Duff was crap, worst I've ever seen him for Ireland.
    Roy wasn't at his best.
    Carr was below par yet again.
    Morrison was terrible.
    Reid and Elliott played well but the rest were average at best.

Anyway. 2-0, Decent result to take home when you consider their record and the weather.

56 Posts
    Pretty dire tonight, should be fresh for the French game, we have a friendly against Italy in August?? Can anyone confirm this?
    Hope Kerr plays a complete second string for that Friendly and does not risk key players the way Robbie Keane got injured playing a needless friendly against Australia in August 2003 prior to a crucial game with Russia.
    W.r.t tonight I thought Morrison was terrible, Carr and Duff poor as well.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

Happy with the result. We were shocking in the first half. really poor and they could of scored a few. I thought Elliott was excellent in the second half, we needed someone to set the tempo in the second half and who would of thought it would of been young Elliott?
    Deserved his man of the match.

What a week for Ian Harte. Scores the opener against Israel and scores the opener against the faroes. Some people said he would never play for ireland again. But he is still alittle suspect at the back.

O'shea did ok, what you would expect from him against a team like the faroes. Needs to step it up big time. Duff had a horrible game, really bad but if Duff is going to play bad for ireland......let him play bad against the smaller teams.

How bad was Morrison.....Shocking. You think this guy would play well against the faroes. he was muck. Deserved to be taken off.

Job done. If results go out way in the group i think 7 points will be enough for top spot but we need to beat france or swiss.

26 Posts
    ye they were very poor tonight but im willing to give them all the benefit of the doubt. i dont need to go into the reasons such as pitch etc...but there are many reasons so we'll let em off

Fcuk the performances at this stage - just gimme the 3 points!!

I said to myself going into this gam saying that we should win this atleast 3-0. I'll take the 3pts but we just must improve ahead of the France game. The pitch was very poor too. Ireland should be beating teams lke this by alot more anyway.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

84 Posts
    Not much of a match, and no one preformed especially well bar Elliot who I was impressed with. But I'm not complaining 3 points is 3 points afterall, and we are back on top of the group.

Bring on France
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Power of prayer works folks, relief all round. Whew!!!!

Don't know if it's relevant but we won by two goals there - same as France and Cukooclockland and weren't they nearer full strength for their wins while we had quite a few missing????

Heart goes out to you folks who missed the game and diverted all over the place.

Was that GavinZac interviewed on TV3 - looked kinda like him????
    Last edited by hamish; 08/06/2005 at 9:45 PM.

I can see Israel dropping points away to the Faroes...

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Power of prayer works folks,
    Tell it to PP-da man
    Serious like am glad for the 3 points, The fact remains we had to win 4 games to qualify-now we have to win 3 games to qualify. The lads will have a good rest over the summer and give France a humping when we resume
    Bit of a dodgy performance but as has been said all that matters is the 3 points in the bag an hopefully Israel may well drop points to the Faroes......and how i will luagh
    Though primarily we got to rely on our own performances and we can do this. We could have won it in Paris-no reason we won't in Lansdowne!

edit: now I appreciate the pitches the Faroese play on I can't slag the pitch!
    Just want to stress i was never making any excuses for anything-just a few difficult circumstances e.g. fans not making it didn't do us any favours but 3 points! yay!
    Last edited by liam88; 08/06/2005 at 10:12 PM.
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Liam88 - you wouldn't be happy what Bill O'Herlihy said about Cobh Ramblers.

He said something like Cobh Ramblers would beat the Faroes.

Still, TG 2-0, can now give up the fags.

My stomach's in a knot though.

Question 2-0

A Dodgy Peno And An Owen Against The Faroes. We Have To Get Better If We Want To Get To Germany.
    stick with me i"ll make you wich

Thumbs up Crybabies! j/k

C'mon guys! Blaming the pitch, the weather, the opposition's rough play for your teams bad performance. I don't think they played bad at all. On the day our lads (the Faroese) had a perfect first half, making your guys looking a bit unhappy. However, the Irish won, they got their 3 points, what's more to ask for? Still, I think the criticism of the Faroese lads are uncalled for, remember, the part-timers played on the same pitch, under the same rain and fog - and they succeeded in getting the Irish to struggle. I listened to the Irish radio on the net after the match. hehe.. talking about our officials cutting the pitch in such a manor that it should suit our players, did anyone say paranoia? Our players do their matches on artificial grass .. they are not used to real grass at all!

And the Irish supporters have been fantastic. Both before, during - and now - after the match. Proud representatives for the Green Island!

Cheers, and please have me excused for inviting myself in.

Quote Originally Posted by Islander
    C'mon guys! Blaming the pitch, the weather, the opposition's rough play for your teams bad performance. I don't think they played bad at all. On the day our lads (the Faroese) had a perfect first half, making your guys looking a bit unhappy. However, the Irish won, they got their 3 points, what's more to ask for? Still, I think the criticism of the Faroese lads are uncalled for, remember, the part-timers played on the same pitch, under the same rain and fog - and they succeeded in getting the Irish to struggle. I listened to the Irish radio on the net after the match. hehe.. talking about our officials cutting the pitch in such a manor that it should suit our players, did anyone say paranoia? Our players do their matches on artificial grass .. they are not used to real grass at all!

And the Irish supporters have been fantastic. Both before, during - and now - after the match. Proud representatives for the Green Island!

Cheers, and please have me excused for inviting myself in.
    Nobody's making excuses. We're happy with the 2-0 win, well most of us. Not a lot of team score more than that against you. The reason I mentioned the weather is because you usually don't see high scoring games in such fog and rain. Very hard working team the Faroes are. Fair play!

I'm actually just very happy nobody's suspended for the France game. I don't know what Keane did to get booked.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 08/06/2005 at 10:11 PM.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast