Thread: taoiseachs salute

I go to footballl matches to watch football, not to salute a man who I dont know anything about, im ignorant to politics as are alot of people I know.. Shame on me but its my decision so if anyone walks out on the pitch other than the ireland team or there opponents i will boo them.. Chris doran, Mary mcaleese(spelt wrong i dont care), Bertie, Nelson mandella.. **** off im here to watch football!

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    I'm not arguing with you here but i must ask who do you feel is?
    I'm open to discussion on - this is hardly the forum - but I'd put your candidate in the list of possibles myself. It's the sweeping nature of your statement I have an issue with - not the idea itself

Personally I wouldn't bow or "salute" to any man or women be it the Taoiseach or Bishop Brennan. I can't stand all that sort of stuff. I try to live my life and honestly as I can but I am no better than any other man and they are no better than me. Just because they have a lofty position doesn't mean they are better people.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Ah yes, Cathal Brugha. A personal favourite of mine too. Shot coming out of Hammond's Hotel. A nurse tried to hold his shattered though together as he bled to death...a hero AND a republican...
    It always amazed me how coincidental it was that he was shot on Cathal Brugha Street.

The only person we should stand for is the President as Head of State and not some politician.

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    It always amazed me how coincidental it was that he was shot on Cathal Brugha Street.
    he he

I booed Bertie, I always do. It's a public forum, he's a public representative, so perfectly within my rights to show how I feel about him. If anythings disrespected that office, it's his hero CJH anyway...

Reasons to boo, apart from his politics....
    1) Failure to support eircom Park.
    2) Failure to deliver Abbotstown after scuppering eP
    3) Failure to meet financial committments after the FAI ditched eP
    4) Failure to support our league.
    5) "Premiership" appearance
    6) Only willing to comment on United, not our league
    7) Bending over for McManus whilst the team he proclaims to love is sold out by the tax dodgy

Tbh, while I wouldn't boo him because I just think it achieves nothing, a bit like booing one's own team, I agree with a lot of that. He is a political figure and, in a democracy, he is not entitled to command or expect respect from everyone at a public gathering.
    I would add, I would find it a lot harder to justify booing the Head of State....

Edit - Unless it was Dana, but if she got elected I think I'd re-emigrate

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    First we shoot the greatest man in the histrory of the country
    What???? Someone's shot Ronan Keating????

20 Posts
    My issue with it has nothing to do with Bertie personally. Were he president I probably would stand but he's not and such a salute should be reserved for the the head of state. Even if the head of state's powers are extremely limited.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog
    What???? Someone's shot Ronan Keating????

As far as i'm concerned Bertie is the head of state,This does not mean i do not respect the President or the position itself because i do but it's Bertie who is running the country and is trying to do the best for the country we live in and love(some of us)

In recent years we as a nation have been hypocritical because we have for many years laughed at the purely for show British Monarchy and yet we have devalued our own Presidency to almost the same standard.

In regards to standing for the salute,I will stand for anyone i feel is doing their best for me and my country even if it was one of you.
    Last edited by Anto McC; 08/06/2005 at 5:39 PM.

i booed him but I'm a sheep maaa
    seriously, how often do we get a chance to express a political opinion. how often are the elections. this govt stinks, they are a shower of right wing f***ers and yer man comes out and describes himself as a socialist well he can shove it up his a***, he deserves to be booed as far as I'm concerned and if other people want to boo him for different reasons to mine well its a free country

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    he he

I booed Bertie, I always do. It's a public forum, he's a public representative, so perfectly within my rights to show how I feel about him. If anythings disrespected that office, it's his hero CJH anyway...

Reasons to boo, apart from his politics....
    1) Failure to support eircom Park.
    2) Failure to deliver Abbotstown after scuppering eP
    3) Failure to meet financial committments after the FAI ditched eP
    4) Failure to support our league.
    5) "Premiership" appearance
    6) Only willing to comment on United, not our league
    7) Bending over for McManus whilst the team he proclaims to love is sold out by the tax dodgy
    That would be my reasons too, it's a football stadium and he's looking for respect from football fans when he's done nothing but damage football in this country, he can forget it.

Add in some other reasons

8) His recent comments about not being sure if we should redo Lansdowne or build somewhere else. When we finally get a plan together this eejit is trying to f*ck things up again
    9) The main reason, for having the sheer nerve to call himself a lifelong Shels fan in the build up to the Deportivo match. He lives IN Drumcondra, bloody spitting distance of Tolka. His local is used by match day fans every time we play, that's how close he is, yet I've never once seen him there. I think he managed to make the Deportivo game in the end though, even coming home from a holiday early And with his beloved Man U playing on TV on the same day too.

Nothing like trotting out the tired old ones. You only forgot to put in the bit about McDowell being a Nazi and the PDs being fascist...
    Truth hurts Red Conor? Just ignore it anyway, shouldn't be too hard for FF to ignore something written down and placed in front of them....

Red? Moi? When I have children and they're tucked away in some exclusive expensive fee paying school, then I'll be a true Irish 'Red'...
    Being FF, surely you'd be taking the kids out of school to go on holiday anyway?

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Anyway, I told Bertie exactly what I thought of his attitude to Irish sport on the one occasion I met him
    Must have been $hiting himself you wouldnt have booed ST. Jack Lynch

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne
    what have we come to when the leader of our nation, whether you like him or not, cant be shown a bit of respect when he's presented at an international occasion?? and as for the pathetic booing... most of the clowns booing probably dont even have any reason to do so other than they are sheep and will do what others around are doing.
    this kind of nonsense is yet another example of how unpatriotic we have become. imo Bertie has done far far more than any previous politician for sport in this country and should be respected for that alone

Get off the stage ya twit .... where the fúck do you get off ya fúcking clown !!

most of the clowns booing probably dont even have any reason to do so

Are you for real ?? ..... You seriously cannot believe that .... you have manged to turn on your PC so you cant be that bad !! ..... get a hold of yourself willya, keep it together

another example of how unpatriotic we have become. imo Bertie has done far far more than any previous politician for sport in this country and should be respected for that alone

The state is closing in on 100 years old ..... step back and look at how you think the history books will read .... and this aint a party thing (if you take the time to look) .... who will go down in the books as a crook/charlaton ???
    Remember .... it will be forever more !!

calm down A Face!

Correct me if I'm completely wrong but didn't ahern once comment on the fact that Drumcondra were his team. I know he made leanings towards Shels when it suited him but in reality if he was a Drums supporter then you couldn't blame him for not being naturally inclined to Shels...
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    calm down A Face!

Correct me if I'm completely wrong but didn't ahern once comment on the fact that Drumcondra were his team. I know he made leanings towards Shels when it suited him but in reality if he was a Drums supporter then you couldn't blame him for not being naturally inclined to Shels...
    Come off it Xlex. That's just a convenient out for him, normally followed by "I'm a supporter of the league now". How many times is he seen in eL grounds - I'd say I am in them more even these days

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    I'd say I am in them more even these days
    ah sunny evenings down at the Carisle...
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    ah sunny evenings down at the Carisle...
    Jesus even that would be something...