Thread: Perth sacked

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Is that you Jim Corr? put your mask on!
    If you think Bradley is a better manager than Keith Long your the conspiracy clown.

Give Keith Long a budget like Dundalk or Shamrock Rovers and he'd walk the league.

33 Posts
    Keith Long the best manager? Is that not being a bit unfair on Ollie?

85 Posts
    It's Keith Long for me. I wanted him when Kenny left and he's only improved his stock since. I really hope it's him and not some random coach that pulls the wool over the owner's eyes in an interview.

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scrufil View Post
    This. Give Ollie the budget Keith Long has at Bohs and we'll see where the comparisons end up.

33 Posts
    Exactly my point. Ollie can manage on a shoestring. That said, I sometimes wonder if success is more than the manager. Without the correct background team plus mix of behind the scenes personalities even the best manager will struggle. It is damn hard to work within any job when there is a cheesegrater type in the vicinity.

810 Posts
    Budgets aren't everything, look at David Moyes he worked off a shoe string at Everton for years went to United and didn't know how to spend the unlimited funds. I was very critical of Bradley but he's built some squad there and it will be a huge failure if they don't win the league this year. Long almost kept Athlone up many moons ago and has done amazing at Bohs since he's a fantastic manager.

33 Posts
    Yeah Long took us to the last day of the season before Athlone went down. Makes you wonder what his fate would have been had he kept us up. Was he always fated to end up at Bohs?

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Budgets aren't everything, look at David Moyes he worked off a shoe string at Everton for years went to United and didn't know how to spend the unlimited funds.

It's not even spending funds, it's just a different job altogether at a side with a lot of resources that are expected to win. Long has done an excellent job at Bohs, but there's no guarantee that would translate to success at Dundalk, especially when you consider he has no experience managing a full-time professional set up. He also has reaped the benefit of a ready supply of good quality young players from Kevin's, and I would be massively skeptical as to whether Bohs are as poorly resourced as they like to make out.

3,187 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scrufil View Post
    Not remotely I'd have thought. Ollie has taken kicking lumps out of people about as far as it can go. Long is a proper manager. Don't get the love-in for Ollie tbh.

(Cue accusations of UCD bias of course...)

33 Posts
    Yeah, but Ollie is far more entertaining than Keith.

535 Posts
    Keith Long for me all the way for Dundalk. Had forgotten completely he was at Athlone and he was 6 seasons with Bohs. Think Keith was part of Dundalk side under Dermot Keely that won loi in 94/95 season when their top scorer was a certain Stephen Kelly with 9 goals who had 3 separate spells with us!

Think Keith has really done the business with Bohs and deserves a craic at the top job.

270 Posts
    Keith Long for me all the way for Dundalk. Had forgotten completely he was at Athlone and he was 6 seasons with Bohs. Think Keith was part of Dundalk side under Dermot Keely that won loi in 94/95 season when their top scorer was a certain Stephen Kelly with 9 goals who had 3 separate spells with us!

Think Keith has really done the business with Bohs and deserves a craic at the top job.
    Id say Keith is of the opinion that he is turning Bohs back into a top job like Kenny transformed Dundalk. I be shocked if he left Bohs for Dundalk absolutely shocked.

325 Posts
    If they are looking within the league and I seriously hope they are not, then Long is the standout choice for them. Otherwise I think they bring someone in from the UK.

1,081 Posts
    The reports now are suggesting they've gone for a European coach which should be interesting.

Not many people would survive in Finn Harps with the budget they have. He has done a super job and is entertaining as well. Never a dull moment. Keith Long has done a great job with Bohs and appears to be committed to staying there. Fair play to him.

635 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The reports now are suggesting they've gone for a European coach which should be interesting.

Kieth Long is a European Manager

53 Posts
    RTE are saying its Filippo Giovagnoli, past role was head of AC Milan summer camps according to them.

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Asterix View Post
    RTE are saying its Filippo Giovagnoli, past role was head of AC Milan summer camps according to them.
    Great appointment, should have them playing some excellent football. The players will love it before they return to school soon.

Anyways, who's getting the senior team job?

24. Thanks From:

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    421 Posts
    Ollie Horgan - Congrats on the Dundalk job, you've got the biggest budget in the league now, what's the ambition? "Well, to be honest, I'll be aiming for the relegation playoff, it's a tough league, the team is low on confidence, not a lot going for us really. I'll be cutting back on the budget, sure look it, we're bound to get relegated one day and the club will need the money so there's no point spending it. We'll prepare for Europe with a weekend training session in Drogheda, just to get the lads used to that derelict Eastern block atmosphere". Any signing lined up Ollie? "I've a deal done to bring Raf Cretaro down on a long term deal if one of the lads can fit his zimmerframe in the boot, a great pro and the kind of experience we'll need around here. I'll be getting rid of them fancy dans as soon as possible, Duffy and his stepovers, did you ever see the like? I'll be building my team around the creative fouling abilities of Chris Shields, Gary Rodgers great ability to kick to touch and the defensive bulk of Graham Gartland, the forwards might be faster but sure he's a large man to circumnavigate".

Tallaght Stadium Regular

26. Thanks From:

Buckley certainly has Sligo motoring and playing good football..

Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast