Is'nt the view lovely from up here?

Congratulations lads. You deserved it on the night, perhaps not by a two goal margin, but you looked a lot sharper. George was immense last night, as was our favourite defender, Mr Murray, who normally gifts us a goal. Nothing however was getting past him tonight.
    Seems strange to be off the top for the first time in a couple of years, but I suppose its good for the League.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Couple of random thoughts

Lads, I don't often post when pist, so apologies in advance if the thoughts are not very articulate. Here is my tuppence worth about tonight's events within smelling distance of the river Tolka.
    1. Dan Murray has done some strange things over the last couple of seasons. But tonight he did the strangest of all, playing with the composure of an international, and the coolness of an iceberg, which is ironic because he typically moves at about the same speed as one! IMHO he was unlucky not to be named MOTM.
    2. Tonight I watched the match in the salubrious surroundings of the Rochestown Park Hotel, where about 7 City supporters gathered, and as we roared, about another dozen homeless Manure and Arse fans sided with us. Even though there were few enough people there who knew what was going on (An oversize Yank cooed "Oh look, a Gaelic Footbal Game, Honey") there was a collective raising of eyebrows when Kevin Murray was brought on for Fenn. After the game, it dawned of me: CCFC is really coming of age, when a youngster like Murray can come on in an away game against the current league champions, and not even look bothered!
    3. Following on from point 2, the City players looked more composed than Rico. They did not seem to be the least surprised or excited about being ahead of Shels, which I suppose is a sign of the growing maturity in the squad. And very few of them lack a Cork accent at this stage!!
    4. High point of the game: Flynnie's "celebration". He seemed almost embarrassed that it went in. What a class player. 2 in 2 games now.
    5. Second high point of the game: Devine's save. Geez, Ndo did brilliantly to get his shot in, dummying his shot and dragging it across for space. That guy is a joy to watch. Pity he is not from Cork or we could adopt him.
    6. Fenn allowed himself a smile. He KNEW his cross to Roy O'Donovan was inch perfect, and took Williams out of it. (I hope to cr@p that Coventry don't get Setanta coverage, or they might try to claw him back)
    7. Joe Gamble.
    He was everywhere.
    He was immense.
    Shels could be scratching their balls from now until the day the Insolvency Court hears their case, and they still would not work out how to deal with him. I predict Oily will be putting a dodgy cheque under his nose within, say, two seasons. And I predict Joey will tell him where to shove it.
    I can't say why, but it doesn't seem to matter to me that we are on top of the league tonight. What seems much more important is the way we beat them. This was a class performance, where keeping possession through the simple one-two and the short back pass allowed us to build without giving Shels many 50 - 50 balls to "fight for", i.e. give them a legitimate excuse to fracture a few City ankles.
    Tonight I raise my final pint of Heineken in salute to a team whose time may finally have come.
    Oh, and to the myopic muppets who say RICO OUT, I say with some generosity that you guys got it right. HE IS OUT . . . ON HIS OWN!!!!!
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

When I think about those people who stood outside Turners Cross and held that protest, I smile.

Brilliant, controlled performance. We faced up to them, beat them, and showboated a little. The game has changed from last season when we were afraid of shels and hoped to get a draw if we were lucky but didn't mind if we didn't. Hugely heartening to see the difference. The league is Cork's to win now, if they have the courage.
    As for the Doyle story - I think Roy O'Donovan is turning out to be a revelation. For a winger, as Doyle was at first for Cork, Roy has a fierce appetite for goals and a direct, take-em-on attitude to seasoned full backs. He's either a winger who scores goals or a striker playing on the wing to bide his time a-la-Doyle. Either way, a great player in the making.
    Bet Shels are wondering how to avoid losing four in a row. Who do they play next?

Well done lads we haven't been here for a long while but it feels good!
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

Great win, great night.

A small note of caution though...
    Against Derry, 3 of their defenders went off, and $hels lost 2 of their main defenders.
    We were the better side by far, only for Ndo $hels would have been overun completely, but lets not get too carried away. There is a long way to go yet.

The main thing for me was that it looked tonight that City players have their mental attitude right. I believe this is what has been our weakness for the last few seasons, but we seem to be getting stronger and stronger in our confidence and patience and this was the most heartening thing tonight.

Fair play to the few $hels fans in the bar after as well, they took the slagging well, and were very complimentary about our performance.

Quote Originally Posted by Schunter Netz
    Bet Shels are wondering how to avoid losing four in a row. Who do they play next?
    The Students in Belfield
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

last nights win was great....lets hope we kick on from here and so as not to waste the 6 points we won in the last two games...Deligted for Rico , lennox the players and of course the majority of supporters.....ggod crew there last night considering the day it was ...sang alll night..really enjoyed it
    Bring back the plank

Great performance from the whole team - thought that all played well and we also have a number of people who were missing i.e. Kearney & Danny - good to see them sitting in the stands with the City supporters.

On a more cautious note and it was mentioned earlier - Derry lost 2 defenders and this caused them some problems. Last night $hel$ were missing a number of players and this had a huge effect on their performance - they had very little width and when they brought Ndo into the centre it did not help their cause - other than the 1 shot that Devine managed to save.

Lets enjoy the win and the position on top but don't overlook all of the facts in relation to the opposition....

Great result. Been waiting for this for a while.
    The fact that 2 goals in it meant for once didn't have to hang on for last few minutes which made better.

Injuries to Shels a nice bonus as their squad collapses.

Too many Crazy Frog jokes about Eamo during the game & in the pub afterwards. Real vote of no confidence in your assistant when can't allow him make injury substitution on his own.

Early days yet but 24/33 points in 11 games is nice total.

Still good selection on the bench & injured players!

Will there be a near full house on Monday.

Quote Originally Posted by jorge lenehan
    Will there be a near full house on Monday.
    Hard to tell. Monday crowds are smaller than fridays normally. Lot of sunshiners could come out for league leaders though. 5000 would be very good. Little chance of full house.

I wouldnt think there will be a full house on Friday ,very dissapointing crowd against Derry ,and they are in the top half of the table.

i think the weather had a lot to do with the turnout at the derry game,it was bucketing down for the whole day really,and all the covered areas were fairly full in fairness,as well as the usual St. Annes standing element!!(come in out of the rain dad,please!!)

Dont forget that monday is a bank holiday aswell so if the weather holds up there should be a good crowd imo
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

`Shels played off the pitch, gotta laugh at pro dolan supporters, the "many" shels fans and georges comment!
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    When I think about those people who stood outside Turners Cross and held that protest, I smile.
    You can smile some more at them when we win the league Happy happy days. Dan Murray was brilliant- back to his best, georgie was class, gamble was excellent, fenn was quality- Rico was spot on

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    Lads, I don't often post when pist, so apologies in advance if the thoughts are not very articulate. Here is my tuppence worth about tonight's events within smelling distance of the river Tolka.
    1. Dan Murray has done some strange things over the last couple of seasons. But tonight he did the strangest of all, playing with the composure of an international, and the coolness of an iceberg, which is ironic because he typically moves at about the same speed as one! IMHO he was unlucky not to be named MOTM.
    2. Tonight I watched the match in the salubrious surroundings of the Rochestown Park Hotel, where about 7 City supporters gathered, and as we roared, about another dozen homeless Manure and Arse fans sided with us. Even though there were few enough people there who knew what was going on (An oversize Yank cooed "Oh look, a Gaelic Footbal Game, Honey") there was a collective raising of eyebrows when Kevin Murray was brought on for Fenn. After the game, it dawned of me: CCFC is really coming of age, when a youngster like Murray can come on in an away game against the current league champions, and not even look bothered!
    3. Following on from point 2, the City players looked more composed than Rico. They did not seem to be the least surprised or excited about being ahead of Shels, which I suppose is a sign of the growing maturity in the squad. And very few of them lack a Cork accent at this stage!!
    4. High point of the game: Flynnie's "celebration". He seemed almost embarrassed that it went in. What a class player. 2 in 2 games now.
    5. Second high point of the game: Devine's save. Geez, Ndo did brilliantly to get his shot in, dummying his shot and dragging it across for space. That guy is a joy to watch. Pity he is not from Cork or we could adopt him.
    6. Fenn allowed himself a smile. He KNEW his cross to Roy O'Donovan was inch perfect, and took Williams out of it. (I hope to cr@p that Coventry don't get Setanta coverage, or they might try to claw him back)
    7. Joe Gamble.
    He was everywhere.
    He was immense.
    Shels could be scratching their balls from now until the day the Insolvency Court hears their case, and they still would not work out how to deal with him. I predict Oily will be putting a dodgy cheque under his nose within, say, two seasons. And I predict Joey will tell him where to shove it.
    I can't say why, but it doesn't seem to matter to me that we are on top of the league tonight. What seems much more important is the way we beat them. This was a class performance, where keeping possession through the simple one-two and the short back pass allowed us to build without giving Shels many 50 - 50 balls to "fight for", i.e. give them a legitimate excuse to fracture a few City ankles.
    Tonight I raise my final pint of Heineken in salute to a team whose time may finally have come.
    Oh, and to the myopic muppets who say RICO OUT, I say with some generosity that you guys got it right. HE IS OUT . . . ON HIS OWN!!!!!

What a fantastic post..........well done Fair Play Boy - brilliant. Couldn't have said it better myself.