Thread: Ex Loi star and old loi player caught in garda sting

535 Posts

Ex Loi star and old loi player caught in garda sting

Surprised that no post on this. Article in todays irish indo confirms that Ex Longford town,shels,Limerick player and current Bluebell Utd player Keith Quinn has being arrested in a drugs bust along with Bluebell manager Andy Noonan who played for Dundalk in 05 season.

They were under surveilance for months and have being refused bail! If I can find a link to the article I will post it here!

869 Posts
    I was wondering myself that it hadnt been mentioned. There could have a decent prison service team in the making with Van Boxtel in nets and a good coach too now.

1,081 Posts
    Is Robert Bayly still "inside" too? Another former Town player at one point. The Bluebell manager is a bit embarrassing for them, although it sounds like they knew what he was like when they appointed him.

447 Posts
    Which of those two is supposed to be the LOI star?

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    I was wondering myself that it hadnt been mentioned. There could have a decent prison service team in the making with Van Boxtel in nets and a good coach too now.
    They should play the screws in Tallaght and do a great escape using the tunnels that the Shams board use to access the ground to avoid AGS when on the run.

869 Posts
    I dont remember Noonan being at Dundalk tbh but awful days at the club in general!

3,187 Posts
    He was at UCD for a couple of seasons too (around 99/00). Think he was released for being on the wrong side of the law then. You wonder if Bluebell would feel the need to take any action.

869 Posts
    Would he have had to go through Garda vetting to get the position? Certainly if there were any players under 18, but in general id have thought there would be a vetting process!?

I should probably add that certain criminal records dont preclude someone from coaching, including kids, but the club would have had to have known that there was a record if not detailed or considered a risk. Assuming that all necessary admin was done.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 09/08/2020 at 6:31 PM.

1,081 Posts
    He was at UCD for a couple of seasons too (around 99/00). Think he was released for being on the wrong side of the law then. You wonder if Bluebell would feel the need to take any action.
    Well I don't think the two lads will be available for the next few years so probably for the best if they get rid now. Can't imagine they are on contracts anyway.

3,187 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Well I don't think the two lads will be available for the next few years so probably for the best if they get rid now. Can't imagine they are on contracts anyway.
    Well, innocent until proven guilty I guess, but yeah, you're right.

I suppose the question is do Bluebell want to be seen to be proactive or reactive here. There were protests when Noonan was appointed manager back in the day.

869 Posts
    Well, innocent until proven guilty I guess, but yeah, you're right.

I suppose the question is do Bluebell want to be seen to be proactive or reactive here. There were protests when Noonan was appointed manager back in the day.
    Really? Someone will be able to roll ou the 'told yiz!' then. Even more bizzare if people were divided on that appointment.

3,187 Posts
    Yep; it was over a different case though.

The Nov 2000 case mentioned towards the end of the article coincides with his last game for UCD.

1,081 Posts
    Just reading that, on the proven facts alone it is staggering that he was appointed. I don't know much about Bluebell but always assumed they were a respectable club.

535 Posts
    Yeah from article in Sun today it said Noonan had previous convictions for offences cant remember what it was was it an assualt or carrying a gun? Yeah sad times when you want all loi PR to be good but the opposite is the case here.

869 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Just reading that, on the proven facts alone it is staggering that he was appointed. I don't know much about Bluebell but always assumed they were a respectable club.
    It was damn awful to read about and the family were right in their protests. Such a waste of a life over stopping a fight in a pub, and nightclub - offences that in street justice is one of execution,,,

How would they let such person take up a managers position. With respect to the deceased, my initialy thought, pity it wasnt another Delaney that was threatened albeit I wouldnt even wish JD dead