Thread: Jim Goodwin

Jim Goodwin

Anybody have any info on him.I believe he has played U21 for Republic of Ireland.
    We have just signed him from Stockport Co.

Cheers
    Celty

3,286 Posts
    He has one senior cap, came on as a sub against Finland in a 3-0 win after the 2002 World Cup. He joined Stockport after being released by Celtic. Err, that's pretty much all I know about him!

Thanks for that

26 Posts
    o ye...and hes SHI*E

229 Posts
    How about this for a thread bump!

Anyway fair play to Jim who featured yesterday in St Mirrens Semi-Final League Cup 3-2victory over Celtic. He had picked up 3 bookings during the competition inlcuding one yesterday and was under the impression he would miss the final as a result, anyway that was incorrect and he will be able to lead St Mirren out against Hearts in the Final on St Patricks day.

Heres his wiki for those interested, featured in the Irish U16 team that won the UEFA Championship in 1998. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Goodwin
    Last edited by Junior; 28/01/2013 at 9:45 AM.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Good win Jim.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

1,813 Posts
    Lead singer of Doves is the first thing I thought of.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

399 Posts

Looks a bit like the people from that skin head movie from the early 90s. I think Russell Crowe was in it.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

3,286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post

Looks a bit like the people from that skin head movie from the early 90s. I think Russell Crowe was in it.
    Romper Stomper - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romper_stomper

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post

Your man on the right - definitely!

622 Posts
    I have that Soundtrack. Excellent if you can ignore the knuckle-dragging :-)

Himself, John O'Shea and John Thompson were all ahead of me at centre half for that Ireland age-group. B@stards.
    Last edited by Kingdom; 28/01/2013 at 6:12 PM.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    How about this for a thread bump!

Anyway fair play to Jim who featured yesterday in St Mirrens Semi-Final League Cup 3-2victory over Celtic. He had picked up 3 bookings during the competition inlcuding one yesterday and was under the impression he would miss the final as a result, anyway that was incorrect and he will be able to lead St Mirren out against Hearts in the Final on St Patricks day.

Heres his wiki for those interested, featured in the Irish U16 team that won the UEFA Championship in 1998. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Goodwin
    3-2? That was a Good win.

I'll get my coat.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme feet View Post

Your man on the right - definitely!
    Vinny Jones on the right there, surely.

2,284 Posts
    And Karel Poborský in the middle.

399 Posts
    So I guess I wasn't the only teen who ran out and bought red shoelaces after seeing that.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

2,679 Posts
    Did Goodwin score an absolute screamer with the outside of his foot a few years ago, or am I confusing him with someone else?

This place is as good as any, cos i cant remember where this point came from originally. I was ridiculed about the prospect of it but its true !!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/othe...r-3369659.html

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    This place is as good as any, cos i cant remember where this point came from originally. I was ridiculed about the prospect of it but its true !!

You posted about it here: http://foot.ie/threads/167523-Euro-2...=1#post1609174

Was also mentioned here: http://foot.ie/threads/167888-Spanish-player-on-drugs

2,679 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post

I was actually surprised at how few footballers have been linked. It seems to be only a handful.

I think we had a similar conversation back when POS originally brought it up, but I'd have thought PEDs are less likely to offer a significant edge in football than in other more sports, so the incentive to actually use them isn't there to the same extent. Footballers aren't so reliant on speed and raw athleticism as swimmers, cyclists or runners.