Thread: city to bid for j. byrne

city to bid for j. byrne

Cork city are going to and try and replace kevin doyle with jason byrne top of damien richardson's shopping list. I know he had a stinker last monday and was not that influential during shels champions leauge campaign. What do ye think or who would you like to see rico relace kev with.
    First Division Champions

Was just thinking of making that up myself.
    Always thought he was actually under-rated.
    Money isn't that effective in eL i think.
    I reckon he'd rather have his go in the champions league anway first.
    No rash decisions but as regards replacements
    Richard Sadlier
    Pat McCourt
    ???????
    Reckon Lennox will be disgusted and eager not to let the fans think the clubs happy with a weakened squad.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Was just thinking of making that up myself.

[SIZE=6]FACT[/SIZE]
    HEARD IT FROM A VERY GOOD SOURSE
    First Division Champions

70 Posts

I don't take the Byrne story seriously

Could the rise of O'Donovan make the need to splash the cash to replace Doyle unecessary?

I wouldn't like to see us sign Byrne. He's over rated IMO, and not that much better than Behan who would cost us a lot less. Fenn is also a mile better than him. No thanks

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I wouldn't like to see us sign Byrne. He's over rated IMO, and not that much better than Behan who would cost us a lot less. Fenn is also a mile better than him. No thanks
    Is Behan only on loan?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Is Behan only on loan?
    no Behan's with us. I was getting at the fact that Byrne's wages would be higher, plus there'd be a transfer fee.

With doyler leaving, i would think of 2 names in the eircom league straight away......Zayed and McHugh. I haven't really seen McHugh but have heard he's handy and from what i've seen of zayed, hes a good looking player.

Ever since the start of the season, i've wanted Pat McCourt to come to city, with rovers the way they are financially, i'm sure we could sign him and have money left over from the 100 k we will get for doyle.

Of course, my number 1 option is for superkev not to go at all but....... its out of our hands and unfortunately citys hands also

Zayed had been the most impressive striker I've seen outside of Doyle this season. He's very quick and strong and scores goals.

If we were to sign Zayed & McCourt, that would be dreamland.
    Last edited by harry crumb; 02/06/2005 at 11:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dcnags
    from what i've seen of zayed, hes a good looking player.

That's all well and good but can he play at all coz good looks alone doesn't mean he'd cut it

O'Donovan looks more a forward than midfielder so McCourt would be perfect signing.

No quality 1st team players left in Munster so Zayed might be a good option...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    O'Donovan looks more a forward than midfielder so McCourt would be perfect signing.

No quality 1st team players left in Munster so Zayed might be a good option...
    Exactly. And who knows, Roy may lose form or get injured. I'd prefer a few quality backups. However, before any of this, PLAY FENN!!

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    Exactly. And who knows, Roy may lose form or get injured. I'd prefer a few quality backups. However, before any of this, PLAY FENN!!
    Yeah i think its time to play fenn.If we were to sign a player i would go for McCourt or Zayed.Hamilton might be an option aswell

Yes McCourt would be a great signing but could be in england very soon i'd say same with Zayed

I think Jason Byrne would be a great asset to city ,I know he is not having a good season ,but he was brilliant last year .A very unusual move though if it were to happen .Would he really leave shels and why?

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcgirl
    I think Jason Byrne would be a great asset to city ,I know he is not having a good season ,but he was brilliant last year .A very unusual move though if it were to happen .Would he really leave shels and why?
    well its up to byrne to decide weather he stays or goes, but all city can do is try. After all bull**** walked (before the season started ) and money talks.
    First Division Champions

Quote Originally Posted by kevincronin2000
    well its up to byrne to decide weather he stays or goes, but all city can do is try. After all bull**** walked (before the season started ) and money talks.
    Anyone able to guesstimate his wages at Shels? Could City contend?

It'd have to be a great 'sell' of the club to pull him down here I'd say. Then again, one look at recent results and the league table should give him an idea of where the club is going...

Thats jackeen wouldn't move outside Dubalin....

Jaysus, he gets homesck by the time he hits Johnstown......

he was in the 3k-4k bracket.
    Dont be ridiculous there is know one in the league even over 2.5k

Whats wrong with seeing if O'flynn can get back to form? He was class two seasons ago

Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10
    Dont be ridiculous there is know one in the league even over 2.5k

Whats wrong with seeing if O'flynn can get back to form? He was class two seasons ago
    It's not ridiculous at all. Shels always seem to have lots of cash to throw around...

Flynny was like that 2 years ago, prior to numerous surgeries, and months without any football. I'd prefer a Plan B.