Thread: Dentist

Dentist

Was at the dentist the other day and I wondered if anyone closed there eyes then the dentist is working on you teeth.

As for me I keep my eyes open want to see what they are doing?

Can this be made a poll?
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

Always wish to monitor what's going on

To paraphrase Metallica

Watch with both eyes open
    Gripping your nurse's tights

I'll get my coat

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Always wish to monitor what's going on

To paraphrase Metallica

Watch with both eyes open
    Gripping your nurse's tights

I'll get my coat
    hahahahaha legendary!

I'm honestly afraid of the dentist, I have really bad teeth and I always think they'll bite my head off.

I remember the one time in particular the dentist had told me to brush my teeth anytime I ate so on my way back for the next appointment I stopped off to buy some food (I thinkl it was a Snickers) but I forgot to brush and while I was at her mercy on the stool she began questioning me about what I'd been eating and when,etc.

Very unnerving, especially seeing as she had an array of terrifying tools at her disposal!
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    I'm honestly afraid of the dentist, I have really bad teeth and I always think they'll bite my head off.

I remember the one time in particular the dentist had told me to brush my teeth anytime I ate so on my way back for the next appointment I stopped off to buy some food (I thinkl it was a Snickers) but I forgot to brush and while I was at her mercy on the stool she began questioning me about what I'd been eating and when,etc.

Very unnerving, especially seeing as she had an array of terrifying tools at her disposal!
    Well if she caused you pain you should've dropped your trousers and showed her what terrifying tool you had at your disposal.

Used to go to a dentist years ago who really tried to put one at ease but he had annoying manner in doing this. Relax now PET. open your mouth now PET. This won't hurt PET. No he wasn't that way inclined just annoying.

3,488 Posts
    Had root canal surgery there last year (the surgery being given to yer man in Finding Nemo) - the dentist was fairly surprised that I hadn't had any pain in the five years since my filling had fallen out and I'd bitten down on it. Had two periods of surgery - which at stages involved having drawing pins put down along the length of the nerve - and spent most of the surgery looking at the reflection of my mouth in the dentist's glasses to see what was going on... I think he was getting a bit worried about me at the end! Just got me Revenue refund in the post today and all!

I know there wasn't really any need to go into so much detail - just wanted to freak a few people here out!

Sweet Jesus, Pineapple Stu!!

Glad you stopped or I'd have told you about one of my operations in the past few years - nothing to do with the mouth - and believe you me I'd trump all that detail.

Two words ; pilonidal sinus

Heh heh

Don't check it out especially if your're going to eat.

Dentists-the fascists of the medical profession.

I hate going there. I think it's the fact that they can reallly hurt you with such little effort . Those things they poke the back of your gums with-why?!

Yep, jofyisgod, my niece went to Sligo last week for dental surgery and it cost just under £700 - private health care my ass.

She's really good looking - runs in the family heh heh - but her poor face looks like a sumo wrestler's ar$e at the moment.

Double pain - physical and financial.

Kill them all I say!!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Yep, jofyisgod, my niece went to Sligo last week for dental surgery and it cost just under £700 - private health care my ass.

She's really good looking - runs in the family heh heh - but her poor face looks like a sumo wrestler's ar$e at the moment.

Double pain - physical and financial.

Kill them all I say!!
    I'm quite lucky, my dentist is quite normal, very patient and civil at my 6monthly check-ups. And us students get it free, great! Last visit was quite embarrassing, when I was leaving the surgery, I was getting my coat from the 'stuck-on the wall' coat hanger thing, but didn't I rip the whole thing of the wall . The dentist and all in the waiting room witnessed this of course

Clumsy, house breaking, demolishing, destructive Kerrs Tribe

71 Posts
    Worst I've had to endure is scraping some caking of the teeth. Never even a filling. It's like nails across a black board. I keep my eyes open.

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    I'm quite lucky, my dentist is quite normal, very patient and civil at my 6monthly check-ups. And us students get it free, great! Last visit was quite embarrassing, when I was leaving the surgery, I was getting my coat from the 'stuck-on the wall' coat hanger thing, but didn't I rip the whole thing of the wall . The dentist and all in the waiting room witnessed this of course
    At least ya ddin't turn up at 1.30 am
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

I am absolutely **** scared of the dentist! had two teeth pulled a few years back and I had to be sedated, had an exposed nerve two months ago, I was in the waiting room and about 5 minutes before I was due to go in I just legged it!the nerve settled down about a week later!

My philosophy is that feck it I can always get false teeth ... they always look so much nicer anyways!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Jesus aido b - raw nerves may not bother you from time to time - I had 'em too - but if left unchecked you could develop an abscess or accentuate gum disease. I'd get 'em done, man.

Beside we want you in good nick so we can hear more good jokes and enjoy more quality banter.

If you want, for a small fee, I've got a good length of twine and s strong door knob, soon fix ya!!

Jesus aido b - raw nerves may not bother you from time to time - I had 'em too - but if left unchecked you could develop an abscess or accentuate gum disease. I'd get 'em done, man.

Beside we want you in good nick so we can hear more good jokes and enjoy more quality banter.

If you want, for a small fee, I've got a good length of twine and s strong door knob, soon fix ya!!
    No seriously man, even the thoughts of going to a dentist make me squirm!can't bear the sound of a drill etc ... Remember that episode of Mr. Bean when he goes the dentist, feckin hated that one!

Ah sure a bit of gum disease never hurt anyone I'll be grand!

Quote Originally Posted by aido_b
    No seriously man, even the thoughts of going to a dentist make me squirm!can't bear the sound of a drill etc ... Remember that episode of Mr. Bean when he goes the dentist, feckin hated that one!

Ah sure a bit of gum disease never hurt anyone I'll be grand!
    Can't say I didn't try to help. Imagine, a Town fan trying to ease the pain of a Bowez fan.

Fcuk it - that fee would have been nice.

Anyway, pop over to terrible jokes thread, I've a new Knacky joke for ya.

Yep just posted a joke in there myself, always used to chew on a dan bar or a roy of the rovers bar when I wanted a tooth pulled when I was younger!

Cheers for the offer of help though!

Oh Jesus! The thought of chewing a bar on top of an exposed nerve

Fcuks sake, aido b, I'm just gonna have a cup of char.

You put me right off.

I used to go to a female dentist on Grafton St.
    She was really good and always made sure I was ok before she allowed me to leave after having any work done. Sometimes people feel fine until the drugs wear off. I'm one of these people who need 3 or 4 injections before I start to go numb.

Some people are quite happy to spend a fortune on drink and smokes, ruin their teeth and then complain about how much the dentist charges to fix them!