Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Doyler gone to Reading for medical...

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Players come and go and in fairness you can't stand in the lads way.
    Can anyone explain to me why we "shouldn't stand in his way"?

He is earning a fulltime wage with CCFC & under contract to the club. He can choose to stay or leave when contract is over. There appears to be a clause in his contract which means club have to accept a certain offer.

The eL will never improve with "stand in his way" crap mentality.

Only situation i see that acceptable is if a part-time waged player.

Oh you thought the point I was making was that City and Barcelona have the same turnover? And naturally I was making that point on a 'Doyler goes to Reading' thread?
    ======================================

No. I didn't think that at all. The point you are making makes absolutely no sense. You drew the comparisons with Chelsea/Barca and Cork pal not me. Guess what ? - Chelsea/Barca can and do retain their best players most of the time (figo move accepted if you wanna get technical) - Cork City cant even compete with fcking Reading. Big difference in scale. For both Cork (transfer fee) and Doyle (improvement in his career) the move makes perfect sense. It wont catch on at Barca and Chelsea - cos they are unlikey to be in competion with the likes of Reading when it comes to retaining players (and there arent too many big clubs who can compete with those two either). It will happen at Cork because LoI clubs cannot compete financialy with most UK outfits.

edit: Pete saw your post after i posted - the Doyle and Murphy fees are a reflection of where its at - you might not like it but thats about right.
    Last edited by wws; 02/06/2005 at 1:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Can anyone explain to me why we "shouldn't stand in his way"?

He is earning a fulltime wage with CCFC & under contract to the club. He can choose to stay or leave when contract is over. There appears to be a clause in his contract which means club have to accept a certain offer.

The eL will never improve with "stand in his way" crap mentality.

Only situation i see that acceptable is if a part-time waged player.
    Yeah but surely you can't expect him not to be interested in a bigger club? It's a kinda catch 22 situation, a bit like asking a player to stay with Swansea when Aston Villa come calling so as to improve the standard of the league.

It does not nor never will work like that.

He will further his career a lot more in England than he ever would do at home. Sad but true.

i doubt he'll be in the world cup squad lads?

good luck to him.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    That's where we differ. I think it makes no financial sense for Cork at all, to sell the best player for what is peanuts by any standard. That amount of money should come through the gates in one good fixture - selling the best players is one way of guaranteeing that good fixtures get thin on the ground. I accept that Reading may have more financial clout and what is heppening is the way of football the world over. If the money were, say 400k, I would go the other way and think the deal must be done. What I don't accept is that 87k (which is what City get after St. Pats cut apparently) is too good a deal to miss. I'd rather they told Reading to feck off, if that doesn't suit Doyle stick him in the reserves.
    Cork will have made a very tidy profit on Doyle, but it chould and should have been more but such is football. 87k (if that is the sum) will do a hell of a lot for Cork City football club + you have another Doyle in the making with O'Donovan, this could be a real chance for him to shine. I know no clubs fans like to see their best players leave, but we should be used to it by now, it's part and parcel of the Irish game.

Can Cork put clasus into this contract ? like sell on fee % or international call up fee ?

P.S. "if that doesn't suit Doyle stick him in the reserves" - I'd bleedin hate to work for you

Kevin Doyle and Shane Long both from Cork City will officially be unveiled as Reading Players tommorow.

go to 'EXCLUSIVE TRANSFER NEWS / 2 NEW SIGNINGS ANNOUNCED TOMMOROW' in forum.

good luck lads.

heard he failed it..also on site(eanna will be happy )

Thumbs down

Gutted ....... and i totally agree with Petes post .... we'll never get anywhere with the second rate "we'll only hold him back" búllsh!t that people are coming out with.

It is spineless coming out with something like that !!

The club BETTER get a good price on this one ..... highest bidder definitely !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    The club BETTER get a good price on this one ..... highest bidder definitely !!
    The club have only themselves to blame IF they were the one's that inserted the clause.

Technically it is their small mindedness that are holding the club and eL football back if they insert a clause as low as that for a top player. If it was for say £250,000 then that is thinking a little bit bigger and saying " this is a decent league we play in, this is a decent player so pay decent money if you want him".

Unhappy

I have nothing against Doyle trying to better himself & he has always given 100% for the club. The level of consistency & number of gmes he played last year was staggering.

However when a player is under contract the club has sole decision on whether to sell or not. Once he is out of contract can do whatever he so chooses.

€117k for best talent in the league should be a depressing thought for all clubs. It shows the league had not progessed at all even if some special circumstances to this.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I have nothing against Doyle trying to better himself & he has always given 100% for the club. The level of consistency & number of gmes he played last year was staggering.

However when a player is under contract the club has sole decision on whether to sell or not. Once he is out of contract can do whatever he so chooses.

€117k for best talent in the league should be a depressing thought for all clubs. It shows the league had not progessed at all even if some special circumstances to this.

well looking at from their point of view Dessie Byrne was teh last big signing between the league (250,000) and the UK and hes back in the league - its a risk from their point of view - and Connor 74 cork do not make anywhere near
    100,000 at big games - costs mean that the figures arent that good - if they were that good Cork would be beating Shels hands down in wages offered to top el players - hence theyd bite the hand of reading (as would every el club for a six figure cash injection)

Looks like he'll be replacing Les Ferdinand.

lads yere gettin 80,000..we got 35,000 for ROY KEANE!!

he'll nevr be half the player keane is,so cheer up.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    cork do not make anywhere near 100,000 at big games -
    Inter Toto Round 2 & 3 Last Year:
    €20 * 7000+, allowing for kids prices & costs would be around 100k.

Should have pulled in 200k for 3 home ties but with high costs for away legs.

A reasonable Cup Run would get 100k for few games too.

believe me cork dont make that kind of money - I heard as much from your own chairman

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by terry9
    lads yere gettin 80,000..we got 35,000 for ROY KEANE!!

he'll nevr be half the player keane is,so cheer up.
    80,000 .... that is sterling anyway, it has to be !!

What a fúcking crime .... but who commited it .... Dolan whoever got that put into the contract should be shot !!

The club has to wise up to jokers like this !!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Looks like he'll be replacing Les Ferdinand.
    Or the legendery Baz Savage ! Savage by name if not by nature!
    "Its the bad players who are the luxury not the skillfull ones"
    Danny Blanchflower

form royals.org forum on why Doyle failed medical -

"Apprantly turned up drunk and smelling of guiness at the training ground"

Big time wind-up merchants. By the way, why on earth is he having a medical for Reading today when he's playing for Ireland tomorrow???
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Obviously REALLY eager to go
    God

Quote Originally Posted by shedite
    "Apprantly turned up drunk and smelling of guiness at the training ground"
    I wish!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast