Thread: League Cup Final

League Cup Final

The League Cup Final is due to be played on either Mon 19th/Tues 20th September.

AFAIK there will be a draw to determine who at home. It would be a disaster if the final was to be played at Belfield. There would be a couple of hundred there but if it's in the Brandywell there will be a few thousand. For both teams a match in the Brandywell would be financially better. Let's hope the 'draw' gives Derry a home game!!

rerun
    Shouldn't the game be played over two legs, home and away, with the rules about away goals clear before they kick off?

Quote Originally Posted by Dee75
    Let's hope the 'draw' gives Derry a home game!!
    Sounds like you're trying to influence the draw!

71 Posts
    While you have a bigger support than us I don't think it's more fair that we'd have to make the trek to Derry on a weekday than you coming down here. It may well prove impossible to arrange. On a very bad day we can get a couple of hundred. I think the crowd would be 1,000 at Belfield given your away fans, our home fans and some interested neutrals.

I think the only fair way to decide is with the toss of a coin.

If we have to travel to Dublin then so be it.

Great feeling coming back up with the first trophy of the season

Quote Originally Posted by rerun
    Shouldn't the game be played over two legs, home and away, with the rules about away goals clear before they kick off?
    Thats the way we had to do it when we kicked ye're asses in 2002
    I remember big confusion on the night over the away goals rule; we won the home leg 2-1 and lot the second leg 1-0(DODGY DIVING LIAM COYLE BASTRAD) and ye thought ye won on away goals......

The rest is history as they say...ha ha ha

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Sounds like you're trying to influence the draw!
    Never!! I'm sure the FAI can make sure the draw 'suits' everyone!!

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Thats the way we had to do it when we kicked ye're asses in 2002
    I remember big confusion on the night over the away goals rule; we won the home leg 2-1 and lot the second leg 1-0(DODGY DIVING LIAM COYLE BASTRAD) and ye thought ye won on away goals......

The rest is history as they say...ha ha ha
    Not to mention the gate receipts for the first leg going "missing"
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Dee75
    I'm sure the FAI can make sure the draw 'suits' everyone!!
    If it is to "suit" the FAI then the game will be in Tolka.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    You should expect that anything not locked down in Limerick will go missing.

Unfortunately, and somewhat embarrassingly, that was a different club administration entirely, and I do not for one minute condone what happened then.

We still kicked ye're asses on pens in the Brandywell tho...

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You should expect that anything not locked down in Limerick will go missing.
    I seem to remember kicking ye're asses too in an earlier round of the competition that year...and ye had a pretty full strength side out too...surely you can come up with a better reference to Limericks crime problem than that.Thats Limerick by the way, where there hasn't been a murder or serious crime in 15 months...how have the newspapers filled their pages, other than spending time on Leeside maybe??

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    We still kicked ye're asses on pens in the Brandywell tho...
    What a proud boast. It's almost like saying "We kicked your ass at flipping a coin..."

Fair play to Limerick for shocking a very lazy Derry team that year. To be honest, though, you were a bit short of cash at the time and we thought you wanted the cup so you could sell it. We therefore tried to make it easy for you, but you still had to rely on penalties.....

89 Posts
    Wasn't having a dig Joe, but it is just one of my memories of that game
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    What a proud boast. It's almost like saying "We kicked your ass at flipping a coin..."

Fair play to Limerick for shocking a very lazy Derry team that year. To be honest, though, you were a bit short of cash at the time and we thought you wanted the cup so you could sell it. We therefore tried to make it easy for you, but you still had to rely on penalties.....
    If you remember the game in the Brandywell, ye only beat us 1-0 due to a penalty given for a Liam Coyle dive two yards outside the box but the referee couldn't keep up with the play.

Also, bear in mind that we were bottom of the first division at the time...ye must have been majorly embarrassed.

Wasn't having a dig Joe, but it is just one of my memories of that game
    No problem...a sad but true fact though.

I'd say Derry will win. Might toddle down to the match considering how close it could be.

Fair play to UCD for getting this far but I can't see past Derry. Also, can you imagine how Belfield would look in the Setanta Cup?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Now that we know the finalists would it not make sense to play it in a neutral venue equidistant from both clubs? For example in Longford.

Totally unfair to play a final in the opposition's ground. Another reason why this competition is a joke.

Congrats to UCD though. If Derry stay in the top 2 UCD will be in the Setanta Cup regardless what happens in the final. Also if UCD can do the whole league a favour and win saturday so we wont be embarrassed in Europe again next season. Also thanks for the 3 points!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    If Derry stay in the top 2 UCD will be in the Setanta Cup regardless what happens in the final.
    No they'll need to win it, if Derry win it goes to the league not the runners up.

A UCD fan mentioned on another thread that if they lose, the Setanta Cup place goes to the next team in the League.

So Longford could still get in there.......
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Fair play to UCD for getting this far but I can't see past Derry. Also, can you imagine how Belfield would look in the Setanta Cup?
    I didn't see us getting past Rovers, Waterford or Shels either! Belfield Park on telly would look like Belfield Park in real life. The away fans would fill it up nicely and make a bit of noise...unless we're playing Dungannon Swifts!

Incidentally, the last two LC finals were one-legged and won by the home team. I can see us not opting for that option with the Setanta Cup at stake! I think the two teams arrange the final details themselves, so I would hope it'd be either a two-legged game or a neutral venue.