Thread: Starting 11 V's Israel

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic
    Would you have had all those other Irish heroes who love playing for their country like - Gary Kelly, Dean Kiely and Lee Carsley. Just wondering.
    If they'd walked out on the eve of a World Cup for petty and selfish reasons then no. But they didn't. If Keane had retired when not in a squad I would have no problem with him.

Please not the Saipan saga again, lads!
    To the future not the past !
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

Quote Originally Posted by the ox
    Dunno if he's suspended. I didn't put Roy "traitor" Keane in for obvious reasons.
    Em, he is. Yes.

Quote Originally Posted by Tired&Emotional
    Please not the Saipan saga again, lads!
    To the future not the past !
    Will you get 'Tired and Emotional' Eamon ?

Shayser
    OSheaser-O'Brien-Cunny-Kilbane
    LittleReidy-Kavo-Mattie-Duffmeister
    BabyKeane-Clint

If BabyKeane does one flick or dummy to nobody whip him off for Elliot.

Was it my imagination or did BabyKeane look a tad overweight on Saturday ?

Shayser
    BabyKeane-Clint

Yeah possibly stojkovic....!
    Not sure about Robbie but Reidy (A.) put a few pounds it seemed!
    Good to see Robbie hasn't forgotten where he's from with that gold stud he was wearing!!

Now, I'm off to Renards for a few.....(#@!,pencil thrown across desk!)
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    He's been on Mars for a little while now!

it's come from the same guy who predicted a two nil win in the FA Cup Final for Utd. Nothing strange in that i hear you cry, it was the describing of how and by whom the goals where going to be scored that was priceless!!!

Quote: C'mon you Reds!!! 2-0 to United.... Van Nistelrooy to open the scoring from a Ronaldo cross and Scholsey to settle it in the Second Half. Without Henry, Arsenal will flop. Roll on the Match, the early morning drinking and Most of all the CELEBRATIONS!!!

Let you away lightly with that one mate!
    Ah haa ha... That predicton!!! Ah well
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

20 Posts

Shayser
    BabyKeane-Clint

Not a bad team (other than the silly abbreviated names, what age are you?). I like Kilbane as a fullback.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son
    Not a bad team (other than the silly abbreviated names, what age are you?). I like Kilbane as a fullback.
    We have two Reids and I think BabyKeane is appropriate as he doesnt seem to have matured.

Yes I think Kilbane would be an option. Not only at fullback but I consider Hollands experience and Kavanaghs tackling to be important on Saturday but would also accomodate Kilbane. It is a strong team and I think we will need to bully them a bit.

Dunno if he's suspended. I didn't put Roy "traitor" Keane in for obvious reasons.
    Oh ye i forgot that!!!!

Squad Update

Lads just in case some people dont know.

Roy Keane is Suspended saturday

Stephen Carr is suspended for saturday

Alan Maybury, Richard Dunne, Gary Breen are injured

Finnnan is a doubt but has reported to the squad for treatment and Alan Lee has been called up too.

Finally Macken is ****e
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by tarzan1
    Ah haa ha... That predicton!!! Ah well
    Well to be honest, you should have been right - any other day it should have finished 2-0!!

fair play for taking it on the chin!
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Given
    Finnan if fit, not Steve Reid by any stretch
    Harte
    O'Shea
    Cunningham
    Andy Reid
    Duff
    Kilbane
    Holland
    Robbie Keane
    Clinton
    no obrien and harte at left back ????

With Harte at left back and no recognised right back we are vulnerable down both flanks and could be sean bhean bhocht

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Lads just in case some people dont know.

Roy Keane is Suspended saturday

Stephen Carr is suspended for saturday

Alan Maybury, Richard Dunne, Gary Breen are injured

Finnnan is a doubt but has reported to the squad for treatment and Alan Lee has been called up too.

Finally Macken is ****e
    Reading some of the posts on here I'm surprised that some people haven't got Houghton, Townsend and McGrath in their teams.

Given

Stephen Reid
    O'Brien
    Cunningham
    Kilbane

Finnan (If fit)
    O'Shea
    Andy Reid
    Duff

Morrison
    Robbie Keane

The most important thing against these lads it that our midfield can use the ball as they will have loads of it, which is why I wouldn't let the likes of Holland, Stephen Reid or Kilbane near the midfield. In my opinion I've selected our 4 best passers of the ball in the midfield positions. Of course this is just my opinion.

Obviously nobody is going to agree with my team selection but thats what I'd go with. The back 4 is solid and the midfield has width and creativity which is what will be needed to break down a stubborn Isreali defence.

If Finnan is injured, Kav (good passer too) should come into the centre with Andy Reid switching to the right.
    Last edited by carnstien; 01/06/2005 at 11:43 AM.

Rumour has it Duff might be startin on the right... so if that's the case team should look like this

Finnan (Reckon he'll be ok), O'Brien, Cunningham, O'Shea

Duff, Holland, Kilbane, Reid

Keane, 'Fintan' Morrison

3,501 Posts
    Given
    Finnan (if fit) O'Brien Cunningham O'Shea
    A. Reid Kavanagh Kilbane Duff
    Robbie Clinton

Kav to hang back and play the holding role
    S. Reid to go in at right full if Finnan is injured, the last time Kerr had to move O'Shea to accomodate Harte was 2-0 away to the Swiss.

PS Carnstein, still not proof that O'Shea is a better passer than Kilbane??

I think...

GK - Shay
    RB - Finnan (if fit)
    CB - Kenny
    CB - O'Brien
    LB - O'Shea (nearly plump for Harte)
    RM - A.Reid
    CM - Holland
    CM - Kilbane
    LM - Duffer
    ST - Robbie
    ST - Clint

We should give S.Reid a run-out at some stage, seems to have had a good season under Sparky at Blackburn. The biggest problem area is defo Left Back, I don't trust O'Shea in the position, but unfortunately Harte isn't exactly solid either, Kilbane could play Left Back & we could put Kav in the centre to replace the loss of Keano Snr.

Quote Originally Posted by SeanieBoy
    I think...

We should give S.Reid a run-out at some stage, seems to have had a good season under Sparky at Blackburn. The biggest problem area is defo Left Back, I don't trust O'Shea in the position, but unfortunately Harte isn't exactly solid either, Kilbane could play Left Back & we could put Kav in the centre to replace the loss of Keano Snr.
    Agree with possibility of Kilbane droppin' back to LB and Mattie & Graham in CM....but they're gonna have to work hard in middle...

Medical staff givin' Finnan loads of time and he must be ok if they haven't called in sick for him yet...phew if that is the case..

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL

Well to be honest, you should have been right - any other day it should have finished 2-0!!

fair play for taking it on the chin!
    Obviously a Gooner!!! Roll on next season!!!!! Well it is all about putting the ball in the net and we didn't, so it serves them right.