Thread: U2 Croker

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Have you heard them?
    I've never even heard of them!
    Can't say that I'm too bothered though, it's U2 that I'm going to see.
    If it is the ones I'm thinkin of they are a really old band that inspired a lot of U2's music...

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    On U2.com, the support act for saturday is listed as Paddy Casey and The Thrills, at least you can catch up on some sleep!!!
    Well at least there's no danger of missing pints to see the support acts on Saturday now. Probably would've made an effort for the Radiators, just to check them out. I already know Paddy Casey and The Thrills are shít.

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    they are a really old band that inspired a lot of U2's music...

Way before my time so then.
    As I say, I don't really mind.
    I like live music.
    What's the weather supposed to be like?

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    I don't suppose you want to give it to me do you
    Nothing would make me happier tiktok, but it was a seating ticket and it was either mine or another one of the lads, so no hope I'm afraid, however if I do hear of any...

Here are the seating arrangements so you can check.

I'm in 702.

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    I'm in 702.
    I'm in 303 or 304 I think.
    Don't you behave like a typical Shels fan and throw bottles down at me!

If there happens to be a spare seat down there,give us a shout and i'll join you.

Cusack stand is for pussy's.... Block 333 of the Hogan is where it's at...

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    If there happens to be a spare seat down there,give us a shout and i'll join you.
    Ok, listen out for shouts of "D2 Red, ya jackeen nancy boy, there's a spare seat down here."

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Cusack stand is for pussy's.... Block 333 of the Hogan is where it's at...
    I'll give you a wave.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Ok, listen out for shouts of "D2 Red, ya jackeen nancy boy, there's a spare seat down here."
    I resent that,I am no nancy boy.if i do hear you shout i'll respond by saying "I'm on my way down Peader,ye langer ya"

Saw Ash supporting U2 at Lansdowne in 97. They were dwarfed on that huge stage. Sound was terrible but to be fair they were still without Charlotte at that stage.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

I'm off to Heathrow in the next hour or so.
    Enjoy the gigs everyone.
    Look forward to reviewing tomorrows gig when I get back.

U2 Croker

Just back. Good gig. Gutted tho. No Bad & no "40. If they can play "40 in Europe they can play fukcing "40 here. Pr1cks. Gutted. Good gig. No Achtung Baby tho.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Colie

Did they play " An Cat Dubh" or " Out Of Control" ?
    Each of the above has appeared at some point in the set list to date if rumours are to be believed... a real retro vibe ..... Saw them doing a bit of " I Will Follow " on news footage of the gig last night.

I was a bit dissapointed with the sound, there was an echo, and although the songs could be heard well enough, when Bono was talking I couldn't make out a f*cking word he was saying!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    If it is the ones I'm thinkin of they are a really old band that inspired a lot of U2's music...
    The Edge also admitted that my favourite all-time band, Echo & The Bunnymen, inspired some riffs and guitar parts on the Atomic Bomb album. Nice credit to the Bunnies, and that despite the fights between Bono and King Ian.
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Just back. Good gig. Gutted tho. No Bad & no "40. If they can play "40 in Europe they can play fukcing "40 here. Pr1cks. Gutted. Good gig. No Achtung Baby tho.
    The Fly
    Zoo Station
    One all come from Achtung Baby and on Saturday night they added Mysterious Ways to that
    In Trap we trust

I enjoyed every minute of it.
    Vertigo is a great stadium gig song.
    "Hello, Hello..."
    Loved City of Blinding lights.
    It was great just standing there and looking around to see Croker lit up and to have over 80,000 people giving it socks!

Brilliant show, worth every cent.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123