Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Israel Tickets thread

Quote Originally Posted by TheOwl
    Sure I’ve been reading the Eircom League board for ages, just couldn’t be arsed to post. My tiny post count has been limited to talking about Wednesday in the playoffs with some fellow Irish Wednesdayites. I’m heading off the Cardiff on Sunday very excited!
    Stick around on this forum for much talk about the Irish boys in Wednesday, Glenn Whelan, etc. There are loads of people on the Ireland forum who know their football but the more specific fans of lower division clubs the better as that's where most Irish chaps are playing football.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    Stick around on this forum for much talk about the Irish boys in Wednesday, Glenn Whelan, etc. There are loads of people on the Ireland forum who know their football but the more specific fans of lower division clubs the better as that's where most Irish chaps are playing football.
    Well Wednesday fans can't speak highly enough about Whelan. Definitely a player with Premiership potential, I just hope he gets there with Wednesday, as I don't want to see him snapped up by some big club who wont even play him.

Best thing from an Irish standpoint is that he is allowed to develop under Paul Sturrock who in his short time at Hillsborough has already established a god-like reputation.

Some good (Paul Jewell) and many bad managers have tried to turn Wednesday around these last few years, but Sturrock is the first to have made any impact.

A good game to judge Whelan will be on Sunday – you can’t get bigger pressure than a playoff final and Wednesday are bring over 40,000 fans too so the atmosphere should be amazing – a great test for the young lad.

Believe or not there is already a “Glenn Whelan Appreciation Society” amongst Wednesday fans! But Sturrock is the real saviour, as the fans sing…

Thank God for Rupert Lowe
    He let Paul Sturrock go
    Who needs Mourinho
    When we’ve got Paul Sturrocko!

1,075 Posts
    Nice to see Sturrock doing well, He got shafted at Southampton. Its their own fault theyre down (Rupert Lowes to be exact), if they'd held on to Sturrock they'd have been OK.

A lot of people on here have Glenn Whelan down to eventually replace Keane in the holding Midfield role. Don't know myself because I haven't seen him play but from what you said it sounds promising.

He is a different type of player to Keane, but I do think he most suited to a deeper role.

Just a good, all-round, very intelligent player. A sort of League One Xavi Alonso who is not afraid to get stuck in either.

However, having said all that, I've haven't see enough games to make up my mind completly. Sunday will only be the third Wednesday game I've been at this season, while I've watched a futher two live on TV.

3,498 Posts
    From owlsonline.com

Player of the month:
    Feb----Glenn Whelan

---------------------------------------------------------
    OWLSONLINE YOUNG PLAYER OF THE SEASON 2005
    (Must be 21 or under this year)
    -------------------GLENN WHELAN--------------

Another player that got off to a slow start, starting as he did with a three match suspension from his Man City days, but he's made up for lost time, and especially of late. He's always going to have a collection of cards each season, but he is a wonderful talent. In the last couple of months or so he really has blossomed. Surely a Player of the Season in the not too distance future, and had he had a brighter start to this season who knows? He's already been talked about as being the new Sheridan, but with a bit more attitude, and of late you really can see that in him. I for one can't wait to see him develop, there is some player in there.

who would have thought that a 21 year old Man City reserve would become the main man in midfield

Quote Originally Posted by DesperateDan
    email the fai and ask them to put you on their block booking scheme. I only had to wait about 18 months. I've got 2 tickets now for every game. Still need a third though for me oul fella!

I can't get tickets either, took your advice DD and I am now on a waiting list along with 2 thousand other people!!! Roll on Croke Park

Whelan is probably the most important player on the team, let alone in midfield.

Don't shoot the messenger and this is only second hand info...but suposedly the Israeli have returned some of their tickets and the Fai are now awaiting clearence form the Guards???? (anyone know if this has happened before...Needing clearence I mean) and if they get clearence they will be selling them on Monday on general sale.....

Anyone here any more....???????????

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    Dosent matter if you miss the game so long as you bought the tickets.
    I was in Australia for a year and missed a good few games but still forked
    out the cash for the tickets and remained on the list.
    I agree, I get 2 tickets for every game even if I can't go, you have to take them just to make sure you get tickets for the big games, someone always takes them off me if I can't use them anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    I wrote to the FAI about two years ago asking for that. They only got back to me to tell me that there was a long waiting list. Then, when they announced their new ticket scheme a few years ago which was f*cking extortionate, they wrote to me for that as well. Whenever a friendly isn't selling well, like the one against Canada, they write to me then. When it comes to what I actually want - guaranteed tickets for each home game - they're a useless shower of sh!tes.

It wouldn't annoy me as much as it does if I didn't know first-hand that a bundle go out to corporate clients like AIB. I often get my tickets from that source so maybe I shouldn't knock it (a friend works for them) but I don't see why an AIB bank manager will be walking around next week with 20 tickets while I have none.
    They are a feckin useless shower and I am really p!ssed off with them at the moment. I joined the block booking waiting list approx 18 months ago and didnt hear a thing off the FAI apart from the offer for the €7,500 tickets, I came on here to find out people on the waiting list have been getting offers for home games (incl. some qualifiers) yet I hadnt heard a thing from them. I recently got in contact with them to see why I wasnt getting any of these offers and got a fairly snotty email back assuring me that these offers had been sent to me, basically calling me a liar . I appreciate one might have gotten lost in the post, but all of them I think not. Its strange how the offer for the extortinate corporate tickets got to me though. So basically I have missed out on the chance to build up brownie points (which appears to be the way to move up the waiting list) with them because of a balls up with their mailing list and people who joined at the same time as me such as Deperate Dan are on the Block Booking Scheme proper now. Really sickens me. I'm not saying I'm the greatest fan or anything, the main reason for my rant is that I havent been receiving the same treatment as others on the waiting list. As of last week I am no. 740 on the waiting list, all I can hope for is a load more friendlies against really poor opposition to weed out the less dedicated.
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

200 Posts
    anyone know of a venue where its possible to watch the match in Stockholm, Sweden ?

Is there anyone out there who is on the block booking waiting list and receives offers for tickets? If so, could you let me know when the offers come out so I can get on to the FAI when I inevitabley do not recieve mine and let them know that I'm not receiving them.
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    anyone know of a venue where its possible to watch the match in Stockholm, Sweden ?
    Stockholm Galway's Irish Pub & Restaurant Kungsgatan 24
    111 35
    Tel:08-24 75 42 Rev web darts, live sports Coverage disco/pop music, nightclub
    Stockholm Shamrock, ' like Cheers' Folkungagatan 102
    Stockholm SE, 116 30
    +46 8 644 46 45 ref darts n/a
    Stockholm Stallet, (theatre)
    n/a OwnWWW Rev1 n/a live folk music occasionally
    Stockholm O'Learys Bar & Restaurant - SportsBar Kungsholmsgatan 31
    Tel: +46 (0)8-654 52 10 email web European Soccer & US Sports food, music
    Stockholm O'Leary's Sports Bar -(American Style) Götgatan 11
    116 46 Stock.
    +46 8 644 69 01 OwnWWW email CB large Screens, Premiership (SKY) Shows Celtic Matches n/a
    Stockholm O'Learys Bar & Restaurant - SportsBar Heron City, Dialoggatan 2
    Tel: +46 (0)8-505 607 80 email web European Soccer & US Sports food, music
    Stockholm Shamrock Folkungagatan 102,
    116 30 Stock.
    tel:08-644 46 45
    Web email n/a n/a
    Stockholm The Dubliner Smalandsgatan 8, (Norrmalmstorg)
    111 46
    Tel: 08 679 7707) OwnWWW ref email Rev1 Celtic Pub, GAA matches shown live music every night
    Stockholm The Dubliner SouthSide Hornsgatan 104
    SE-117 26
    +46 8 669 50 52 OwnWWW ref email Celtic Pub live music every night
    Stockholm The Limerick Tegnérgatan 10
    Stockholm SE, 113 58,
    tel: 46 8 673 19 02 Rev1 ref n/a live music occasionally
    Stockholm The Loft Regeringsgatan 66
    +46- 8 -411 19 91 ref Rev1 Email n/a live music occasionally
    Stockholm Wirstroms ST NYGATAN 13, 111 27 STOCKHOLM
    +46 8 21 28 74 CB ref email
    Shows Celtic Matches, darts Live bands Wed, Thurs, Fri Sat.

link here

just email/check website of a few of these, should do the job, say they will all be showing it

If you get involved with under-age football and your local under-age league, it can be a good way to get into a block and it's enjoyable. It worked for me that's all i can say.

i know this is an emotive issue and sympathise with those that are frustrated beyond words with the fai.

polite letters and sexual favours do NOT work believe me
    The only thing that goes with the flow is dead fish - Roy Maurice Keane

200 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    link here

just email/check website of a few of these, should do the job, say they will all be showing it
    excellent... thanks very much

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    excellent... thanks very much
    No probs, it's a good site if you're ever in Europe and want to find a bar showing Ireland/GAA games

Quote Originally Posted by 2Olegend
    If you get involved with under-age football and your local under-age league, it can be a good way to get into a block and it's enjoyable. It worked for me that's all i can say.

i know this is an emotive issue and sympathise with those that are frustrated beyond words with the fai.

polite letters and sexual favours do NOT work believe me
    Cheers for the tip but already doing that, sell Lotto tickets, hang nets and mark pitches already with my local club. Think the tickets are taken by people who do alot more than me though so can't really complain on that front.

Rocky Balboa

not very funny some people here are desperate for tickets ....

You should be barred if you are being serious, i do believe you have broken one of the rules on touting tickets

71 Posts
    I don't see the trouble involved in asking someone to meet you at your hotel where you would have been anyway would warrant the 30 Euro charge. I am not sure how you ended up paying 85 Euro in the first place either.

I assume this is a joke post right?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast