Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: How/When did you start supporting your LOI club?

used to go to see glebe north they being just around the corner from my primary school so i wud go to the odd match and i remember one year they made it through to the fai cup and were drawn with rovers expecting a big crowd glebe got the match moved to united park and for the first time i entered the home of the drogs glebe lost the match 1-0 but put in a great performance not long after that everton were over for neville southalls testemonial i went to that and although the drogs lost 2-1 i was hooked went to a league match just after (hammered by bohs 5-2 i think) been going ever since go to most away matches but havent been to the cross yet or harps

100 Posts
    Manchester United is the reason

My family are nuts about Man Utd and when Dundalk vs. Man Utd was in Oriel Park, in pre-season 1994, my Dad took me and my brother. I was 9 and thought that football only happened across the Irish Sea. The ticket also got you into another pre-season match Dundalk vs. Sheffield Wednesday and the first three home league games of the 94-95 season. That's how it started for me.

my dad was a regular Rovers fan in the Milltown days
    he stopped going in the 80s, but brought me to a game on 25/5/1994. Hoops beat shels 3-0. brought me to another game the follwing year, 2/10/94 beat the gypos 4-2 at dalymount.
    didnt start going regularly til early 1997-when one of my mates in secondary school was regularly going-so i went to the last two games of the 1996/97 season,and now i have been going every week since.going about 9 seasons regularly now

I had no interest in football at all, as my family were firm bog ballers! one sunday in 1986 my friends who all played soccer for various teams were going to Rathbane (rockmount in the cup i think it was) and i went along with them. none of them go to the Limerick games today and i dont think they ever did. I dont think ive missed too many games since 1989, when we first hit a financial wall. So first games in '86 but a regular fan since '89. Find it hard to watch games that are non el now.

Might as well say it but football violence of the late 70's early 80's attracted me. Rovers, Linfield and the odd other club battle hear and there. I was an impressionable youth back in those days. Though the docs are well and truly retired now

I moved to Longford 20 years ago ( i was just 7 ) and my new friends brought me to Abbeycartron to see the Town play.I have been following them ever since and have played at all age levels including the B team but never made the 1st team.Packed in Football at the tender age of 18 and found a new career in drinking pints.Other than living in London and Australia i have always made time to go to see the Town play as i am a big believer in supporting all local sport no matter what the code.Lots of great memories and hopefully many more to come.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Well I was apparently brought to my first game when I was 3, in 1991 by brother. It was Leinster Senior Cup game versus Rovers. Funnily enough I don't remember it.

I was brought regularly enough to Bohs games throughout the nineties by my brother and occasionally by my sister but wasn't really that interested and didn't really catch the Bohs bug until till I was 9 or 10 c. 97/98.

My brother has been a Bohs fan since the late eighties and my late uncle was a Bohs member long before either of us went to games.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Is there anyone here who supported an eL side BEFORE an english sides?
    I originally supported Shels and while i never stopped supporting them i got into the Premiersh*t because my school friends didn't have a clue who Shels were just who Liverpool,Manu and Leeds were

Most shameful 3/4 years of my life but i was only about 10/11.

84 Posts
    From the age of about 13 or 14 (late 93 early 94). Once I started attending secondary school met a few guys and they were Harps fans so I decided to go to a game. Been going ever since
    Last edited by Neish; 30/05/2005 at 3:00 PM.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

personally i'm not sure - my earliest united park memory is from around 82/83 season ( i would have been 3/4 that season), and my earliest manchester united match memory is watch the 83 cup final. they were both installed from an very early age, but i'd say it was the drogs first.

my father showed me an old work diary he had, and on the day i was born all he had written:

"colin born

drogheda won 3-0"

after a start like that, i dont think there was much doubt how i'd be brought up!
    Last edited by ColinR; 30/05/2005 at 3:01 PM. Reason: typo

9th October 83 Rovers 4 Pats 0 in richmond. I was hooked was brought the week after to Milltown we stuffed Galway Utd 4-0. Despite being from a Shels area IM a hoop. Thanks Dad

JUZ

Being a Wanderers fan all my life. My dad was involved in the supporters club and brought me to the matches and still does. I was mascot when I was about 4 and followed them home and away ever since. So many memorys good and bad! 1990 and 1999 are definately the best of the lot!

Quote Originally Posted by Juz the Hoop
    9th October 83 Rovers 4 Pats 0 in richmond. I was hooked was brought the week after to Milltown we stuffed Galway Utd 4-0. Despite being from a Shels area IM a hoop. Thanks Dad

JUZ
    Howya Juz,your right it is a Shelbourne Area,I'm City Quay's No1 Shels fan.Have you guessed who it is yet.

First game was in the late 80s - Zac Hackett era - covered a few games for the local paper. Been going ever since. Hard to believe the changes since then. Some hard, tough, depressing days (not too long ago), which made the cup wins even more special. Makes you appreciate what you have.

176 Posts
    1st Rovers game was:

Shamrock Rovers 0-2 Man Utd.
    Sunday 5th August 1984,
    Pre-season friendly, Milltown.

I remember almost nothing about the game itself. I gradually began to support Liverpool around April/May 1985.

I used to attend every Rovers home game, and away games in or around Dublin until a few years ago, when work commitments clashed. In the last few years, I have travelled to see the team play once in Galway and Cork, and at Finn Harps and Derry this season.

At the moment, I can only go to our games when they're not played on Fridays. If only more clubs followed Finn Harps, and Longford's lead, who play their home games on Saturdays. Saturday nights are the best time to play games, as shown in other countries.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    My first Derry game was on 29th December 1985.
    i was about 12 days old by then...i went to my first game round 1995 or 96 with my dad vs st pats.i always wanted to go to a soccer game involving city as they were my local side.i'd been to a lot of cork gaa games and wanted to taste a bit of the national league.it was one of city's first games back at the cross. it was 0-0 and a brutal match but i loved the atmosphere in the shed.that is what really appealed to me.that was how it started and i go to as many matches as i can now but not near as many as i'd like due to work/training/matches.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

First game January 1985 against UCD at Milltown. 1-0 Mick Byrne got the winner.

Zero football tradition in the family but history of GAA so had to be persuaded to be taken to Milltown. Fell in love I guess watching the 1984 Cup Final and decided had to go. Downhill ever since.

Another poster here said they lived abroad and we are the only country that refuse to support our domestic league. Couldnt agree more spent 2 years away but missed the craic badly........

20 Posts
    Started going in 1995, first game was a 2-1 against Sligo. Ian Gilzean had put Rovers in front before two Robbie Griffin goals sealed the points for us. Only went to one other game that season, Jayo's home comeback against Drogheda but have been a regular in Belfield ever since.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

30 Posts
    I have been a supporter of the Blues for the past 23 years. My Dad took me to Kilcohan at some time late in the 1981/82 season for a league game against Athlone if I can recall. We were known as Waterford FC then. Went on and off from then up to about 87/88...lapsed when we were relegated in '89, but with the exception of the 93'- '94 season (I didnt go to any game that season) I have been to most home games and a few away since.

Jaysus I've seen from woeful performances to last me a lifetime.
    Last edited by Partizan; 31/05/2005 at 3:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BobtheDrog
    used to go to see glebe north they being just around the corner from my primary school so i wud go to the odd match and i remember one year they made it through to the fai cup and were drawn with rovers expecting a big crowd glebe got the match moved to united park and for the first time i entered the home of the drogs glebe lost the match 1-0 but put in a great performance not long after that everton were over for neville southalls testemonial i went to that and although the drogs lost 2-1 i was hooked went to a league match just after (hammered by bohs 5-2 i think) been going ever since go to most away matches but havent been to the cross yet or harps
    Lived in Balbriggan from 97 to 2000 and used Glebe's ground for a schools international in December 1999. Lovely friendly club with great clubhouse and a fine set up, Good memories.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast