Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Fenlon breaks Touchline Ban

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Whether the STEWARDS allowed it or not is irrelevent

You got it right this time, fair play to you .... you catch on quick !!

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    We lost twice in a row and I have read very little about any shels fan saying we were cheatedl? Linfield beat us well and most shels fans have said that. Bohs beat us, but I put that down to bad mistake not subbing the two lads that clashed. No argument with Bohs or Linfield for winning. What are you talking about so that we cant take a loss. The flare display took place when the teams were on the pitch. I have a number of photos of it. Whether the STEWARDS allowed it or not is irrelevent, it should never of been let happen on the sideline!!! I we did it in Tolka Bohs fans would have kittens!!
    Teams were on the pitch, but it was before kick-off. Selective recall at work here, methinks.
    Someone else (Slash?) opined that neither club comes out well from the post-match incidents. I think that's fair enough up to a point. Some of our fringe muppets, mostly kids, got involved in disputes with Shels staff and players, in a manner that is not endorsed by the majority of Bohs fans and certainly not by the club.
    But I do not think you can compare the two. For your chairman, manager and players to lose it in the way they did -- and it's not the first time -- is a far more serious offence.
    Given their repeated indulgence in this sort of bizarre ****tery, it's high time the powers that be took some action to put a stop to these people's concerted efforts, towards bringing the game into disrepute. Off the top of my head:
    your manager was involved in similar scenes at Dalymount last season
    your chairman has attacked the integrity of the current Bohemian FC manager
    your chairman has attempted to blame SRFC fans for trouble surrounding a Linfied match
    and now this -- chairman looking for a fight (!); players threatening fans; fenlon breaking touchline ban
    Imagine the mayhem if every manager and chairman in the league behaved in the same manner as Ollie and Nutsy.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    Some of our fringe muppets, mostly kids, got involved in disputes with Shels staff and players, in a manner that is not endorsed by the majority of Bohs fans and certainly not by the club.

I think you need to be put straight on one point ....

Bohs fans, standing in a spectator area gave the Shels manager, players and secretary some mild stick about losing to Bohs yet again. Most of those involved are regular posters on the Bohs MB and are not trouble makers. There is a difference between trouble and being a football fan. It was Ollie and one or two others from Shels who attempted to get to the Bohs fans, not the other way around.

Bbosh fans knew a few comments about Shels lacking bottle would get them wound up and everyone then just stood there and watching the ensuing comedy show.

It was quality entertainment. Shels fans are going on like they never ever dish out some stick to Bohs [or any other clubs players] players. Tthe differnce is we all know that Shels have so many people with short fuses and the reaction will be hilarious.

I cant wait til we play them at home again.

I don't really want to open an internal debate here. You may be right: I wasn't there for the afters, so I am repeating what I have read elsewhere, including on the Bohs MB. If what I have said is deemed inaccurate by someone who was there, then I am happy to withdraw it entirely.
    However, there have been references to missile throwing by some of our fans. It was on a very minor scale and was quickly and quite skilfully sorted out by the guards, but it did happen and we have rightly been criticised for it. I should have referred to this, rather than to events which I did not see, in my former post.
    My principal point remains: there is no comparison, even if Shelbourne accounts are to be believed -- and that is becoming more difficult with every incident lately -- between the alleged conduct of a small number of Bohs fans and the unprofessional and reprehensible actions of some of their senior players and officials.

FAI are pathetic!

I know no need to gloat after great win but the eL/FAI will have no credability whatsoever is they do not sanction Fenlon for blatantly breaking his touchline ban again.

Ban says cannot be within 50 yards of the pitch before or after the game! Fenlon was seen in the stand i believe & he also did interview live on tv after the match.

Collins mobile phone incidents may not break the letter of the rule but certianly the spirit!

89 Posts
    Lads,

Same thing happened when we were playing Bohs in Dalymount last season. Farrelly was banned but spent the second half on the edge of the tunnell area in Dalymount, less than 5 yards from the pitch shouting instructions to the players.

I complained to one of the stewards and was told in less than polite language that it was none of my business
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Don't die of shock now lads when I say...

I agree. I have seen managers get sent off time and again and they walk behind the dugout. Roddy did it when we played Rovers. Dolan did it in Tolka, Fenlon did it in the situations above. We have seen plenty of example of rules being screwed with, from all teams, or most.

Unless they are enforced it will continue to happen.

I only noticed this season that Managers have to be 50 yards away & not at ground pre or post match. Maybe this was introduced to prevent Manager suspensions.

Thought there'd be a much bigger deal made about this on here.
    Then again, we won.
    It was so blatant, it was hilarious.
    My opinion is they know they're going to get away with it, so why not?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    My opinion is they know they're going to get away with it, so why not?
    I think Collins was in commentary box in Tolka for game earlier in the season. The eL made him serve his ban again for next game as they caught him. If there is to be any consistency Fenlon should at very minimum serve his 2 match ban for the next 2 games again!

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I only noticed this season that Managers have to be 50 yards away & not at ground pre or post match. Maybe this was introduced to prevent Manager suspensions.
    Not on the pitch or within 50 metres of the dressing room or dug out, they're allowed in the ground....

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Not on the pitch or within 50 metres of the dressing room or dug out, they're allowed in the ground....
    But how can anyone be inside an eL ground & still more than 50m (essentially half length of pitch) from pitch?

Collins was made to reserve his pitchside ban earlier in the season cos was caught in Tolka commentary box. At the very minimum the FAI/eL should be consistent?

But how can anyone be inside an eL ground & still more than 50m (essentially half length of pitch) from pitch?

Collins was made to reserve his pitchside ban earlier in the season cos was caught in Tolka commentary box. At the very minimum the FAI/eL should be consistent?
    No that's not true, Collins was on the sideline having forgotten all about his ban. The FAI allow you to goto the commentary box, that's where he served the rest of his ban.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    No that's not true, Collins was on the sideline having forgotten all about his ban. The FAI allow you to goto the commentary box, that's where he served the rest of his ban.
    Fair enough. Still strange though that commentary box is not seen as 50m away.

And before i'm accused of bias i do remember Dolan serving a ban from commentary box at the cross last year.

The following suspension was issued by the Disciplinary Commission at their meeting on Wednesday, 21st April 2004 and will take effect as and from Wednesday, 5th May 2004 unless otherwise stated:

Aaron Callaghan (Manager, Athlone Town) suspended for ONE (1) competitive match, fined €50 and warned as to his future conduct as a result of being sent from the technical area v Sligo Rovers (10.04.04). Aaron Callaghan to be positioned at least 50 metres from the technical area for this match.
    That example from last season does not mention the "pre and post match..." section so seems to be new...but clearly not enforced. Maybe just a knee jerk reaction to Mourinhos situation?
    Last edited by pete; 31/05/2005 at 12:23 PM.

I saw on another website that the FAI will discuss Fenlons actions in the last 2 games at Disciplinary Meetings in next 2 weeks.

Will be interesting to see if they have a backbone...

Think its from the 'technical area' and the changing rooms.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Lads,

Same thing happened when we were playing Bohs in Dalymount last season. Farrelly was banned but spent the second half on the edge of the tunnell area in Dalymount, less than 5 yards from the pitch shouting instructions to the players.

I complained to one of the stewards and was told in less than polite language that it was none of my business
    Farrelly wasnt banned from the touchline for that game.

Cos it's not 50 metres from the pitch, it's 50 metres from the dug out/ technical area.

btw Have we established what the point of banning them after the game is? Now that is confusing...

The pre & post match ban was added by the FAI this season to be more in line with UEFA bans. Fenlon definitely broke that at Dalymount. I think he'll get extemnded ban as was already "warned as to future conduct"

It's no use giving a manager an extended ban that merely matches the ban he should have been serving in the first place. That's no sanction at all.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast