Thread: Shamrock Rovers 400 Club Press Statement

He should be reported to the FAI for bring the game into disrepute, that sort of think enflames anger and can lead to trouble.
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Quote Originally Posted by thomas
    Obviously you were able to read the minds of the people wearing Rovers jersies so...or maybe you just saw football fans standing around?
    Generally when you hear people shouting at other people and generally being confrontional you just get this inkling. I confess though, I am not a mind reader. Do you have remote vision seeing as most of you weren't there?

Evidence. Did you see them involved in fighting?

Ollie is the greatest threat to the league ever. He is scum beyond recognition. Once a convict always a convict. He hates Rovers which is childish. Guess he cant get over the fact that 18 years on the road we stil have more fans than shels.

Ollie whats it like to be still living at home at your age YOU FILTH? HOPE YOU DIE

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Generally when you hear people shouting at other people and generally being confrontional you just get this inkling.
    Without being clairvoyant I would think all football fans behave in this way?
    MFA-Cheers

Just on the "editing" of Shels' original statement...I would've thought the obvious explanation is that allegations about the behaviour of people wearing Celtic jerseys is not a direct concern of the Rovers' 400 Club.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Incidentally, about 5 minutes after the statement was issued, you know who was on to our Press Officer swearing like a madman. He refused to offer any evidence or an apology and just screamed his head off for the entire call. He's so unprofessional it's untrue.
    The man is a joke. In fact, the club is a joke.

Shels concede a goal - Fenlon cries until he's sent off.
    Shels don't win a free kick - Collins cries until he's sent off.
    Shels can't score - the players cry and kick until they're sent off.
    Shels lose a game - Ollie cries and threatens to beat up opposition fans.
    Shels don't win the league - Ollie cries and sues his rivals until he has brought the entire league into disrepute.

Ollie Byrne tried to fight two Bohs fans on two seperate occassions last night. The man is chairman of the champions of Ireland and he is trying to fight supporters. Are Shels fans not cringing with embarrassment over this? What a cheek - he accuses Rovers fans of being hooligans and then he tries to start fights at the very next game! It's comical what an arsehole he is.

Well done Rovers. About time someone stood up to Oily

Quote Originally Posted by Green Force
    Without being clairvoyant I would think all football fans behave in this way?
    Well maybe we find the root of why rovers cause trouble if you think being confrontational is the way all fans behave.

sport

Sport is competitive, Football pits two teams against each other in a confrontationl manner and people enjoy watching that. All fans behave confrontationally. Some have too much agression, like olly, others are wind up merchants, like the briogad dearg but one way or the other a fan is out there to see someone get beaten and if thats not confrontational I dont know what is.
    MFA-Cheers

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    Ollie Byrne tried to fight two Bohs fans on two seperate occassions last night. The man is chairman of the champions of Ireland and he is trying to fight supporters. Are Shels fans not cringing with embarrassment over this? What a cheek - he accuses Rovers fans of being hooligans and then he tries to start fights at the very next game! It's comical what an arsehole he is.
    So Ollie was up to his old tricks again last night ? On two seperate occasions I have seen him have to be phsically restrained as he tried to attack supporters at Richmond Park. Filth is the only word for him. What makes it worse is that so many people make excuses for him, on the grounds that he is "passionate" and "loves his club" . He is a lowlife thug and that's all there is to it. If Shels fans aren't embarressed by him, they should be.

IF shels lose 3rd game in a week on Monday will be fireworks for sure.

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23
    WAR It's a tricky game you are playing there. While you are correct no doubt is n't there a danger you are only feeding the media publicity for a non event and therefore extending the life of the story?
    After all any journalist is only concerned about filling their quota of news stories. It's a delicate balancing act as to when to refute and when to ignore.
    Surely this story about handbag hooliganism is dead by now?
    100%
    Sorry lads,while we all know Oily is wrong,I think ye shouldn't get dragged down to his level.Ye have enough on your plate at the moment and we all wish you the best with that,but this crap only brings more unwanted publicity on Rovers,Shels and EL!

When compared to supporters opinions on Ollie Rovers fans are loved by everyone.

Does anyone even respect Oily anymore?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Does anyone even respect Oily anymore?
    Being honest .... and maybe Shels fans could enlighten us hear ..... anytime you hear the guys name, it is involved with something bad where he has provoked it or he has kept it going/made it worse. Given his position, you'd think he'd have more sense, but what is not acceptable, is something like this ... he should have tact and not make an árse of himself .... leadership, example.

I actually think he is living on the old idea of "he is passionate, gregarious, genius, has bells on" etc. .... but the guy is very far from that. He is "wearing out his welcome" to be honest ... and is bad for the league.

22 Posts
    Shelbourne FC have reacted angrily to a request by the Shamrock Rovers 400 Club over allegations that fans of Rovers were involved in the violence outside Tolka Park during Shelbourne's Setanta Cup final meeting with Linfield FC a week ago.

Shelbourne chief executive Ollie Byrne said that he stood over his accusation that "certain individuals who regularly attend Shamrock Rovers games were involved in the incidents on Lower Drumcondra Road in a very provocative and aggressive manner."

He said: "Some Shamrock Rovers fans and fans of another Dublin club were ejected from Tolka Park. Shelbourne FC will sternly defend their position and are now considering legal action against the individuals responsible for the running of Shamrock Rovers FC including the 400 Club and its members."
    Email Services from RTE

In statement after the final, the Shelbourne fan club claimed that media reports of the violence had been greatly exaggerated and added that any violence that had taken place was carried out not by Shelbourne fans but by "thugs wearing the green and white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic."

This angered Shamrock Rovers fans who, through the Shamrock Rovers 400 Club, issued a statement demanding a retraction of the allegation.
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/0528/shelbourne.html

They were allowed in wearing colours, ffs the Indo had pics of distraught "Shelbourne Rovers" fans (actual words page 17 in mondays lil version).
    As i said elsewhere, Does he ever know when to shut up? And will Rovers ever admit they have a large amount of scum within their nice group of fans.

kdjac

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    What will the 400 club say if Ollie does come up with the evidence.
    Any sign of this evidence yet? He's had over a week to produce it...

"Some Shamrock Rovers fans and fans of another Dublin club were ejected from Tolka Park. "

which other dublin club and why has oily not named them with the same bluster?

Quote Originally Posted by D2 Red
    What will the 400 club say if Ollie does come up with the evidence.
    This should be good !!

Oily pulling a rabbit out of a hat is always good for a laugh !!