Why do UEFA have no backbone?
Liverpool finished 37 points behind the champions in 5th place and they now want another champions league spot .... what the fúck is going on ????
They are champion this year ... fair play ... blah blah ... etc. 2005
They dont deserve to be in there 2006 .... end of, no discussion ..... how can they seriously expect this in fairness !!
Why do UEFA have no backbone?
I don't get his point either but maybe he's thinking of that Uefa guy (Gaillard??) who recommend that they protest in writing.
That'd obviously show that they don't even respect their own rules.
Also a bit cheeky of them after allowing the Spanish FA set the precedent.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Regardless of who won it or what position they've finished in their respective league, I think any team that wins the trophy should have the right to defend it. Even if they put them into the qualifiers.
Nothing to do with backbone, UEFA is posturing at the moment. Money talks, specifically TV money. Liverpool were always a big TV draw and the fact they are now the champions will only increase this appeal.
Already a done deal, Liverpool will defend the cup.
the days of the holders getting back in are over i cant think of any comp that still allows this , these are the rules every one knew this at the start of the season , liverpool were never expected to win this its not some thing any one thought of , its a complete freak that they did .
hopefully they are left back in coz a year off will allow beneathus to create a fantastic premeirship side , but i think utd and arsnil are coming to the end of there run , chelsea because of there money will allways be near the top for a good few seasons , but its about time the mersyside teams were back where they belong
in fairness to arsenal they have the nucleus of a very good team for the next 10 years cole , toure , senderos , fabregas , reyes , van persie so i dont thnk that they are coming to the end of their cycle just yet!
cole is going to chelsea and reyes to madrid , reyes is a done deal allready .
ok anto well i bow down to your knowledge of all these done deals then!
Originally Posted by anto1208
I don't think the days of the holders getting back in are over, or at least shouldn't be. It was still in the rules last year, and was referred to in the UEFA rules this year. Sounds like some @rse at the English FA forgot to include it this year though. Probably thought it unlikely and were trying to save paper.
I wonder whether a team has qualified for the CL before with a negative goal difference.
You forgot to mention that we beat Arsenal, Chelsea, and Everton this season, were the English team that lasted longest in Europe, had a new coach who inherited a poor squad, had an incredible amount of injuries, had to prepare for a league game with 13 players unavailable and still won it, and who is European Champion. We finished 37 points behind the league champions, but the runners-up finished almost 20 points behind them. I think that puts the gap in perspective.Originally Posted by A face
So we don't deserve to be in the CL next season? Are you seriously trying to convince people, that a team who finishes in a (very fortunate) 4th position, gives a team more right to compete in the CL, than someone who actually WINS the competition. Because of that, we have as much right to be in the CL next season as those who happened to finish above us. We will be there, because we have earned the right to participate, by winning the competition this year. Can you just imagine the team who wins the CL in 2006, whose title was tarnished because the holders were banned from defending their title. Face it, it ain't going to happen! Those who believe that Liverpool won't play in next season's CL, are living in a dreamworld.
A: Woooweeee - break out the Blue Peter badges!!!. You'd think by you every other team has a clean bill of health all season.Originally Posted by mypost
B: I think you'll find it was 12 points. Also, speaking of "gaps" Liverpool were a mere 6 points off 9th place.
C: A Liverpool fan (who I thought was a Rovers fan for some reason) has the nerve to call Everton "fortunate"
D: I don't think they'd be too worried, its not like youse willl reach the final next year too - yer really gettin' carried away now boss!!!
E: Whats wrong with living in a dreamworld? You, as a Liverpool supporter, of all people should realise that even the most REDICULOUSLY wild, crazy and idiotic dreams in the world come true - who'd have thought Liverpool would win the Champions League..... Personally i'm thinkin' of whackin a few hundred bucks on Rangers to win it next year. And why not? If the "Mighty Pool" can do it...who can't?
I personally don't give a tw@t about who wins the Champions League, I will when an Eircom League representative gets a crack at the group stage. But I have to admit, i'm sick of listening to POOL supporters already - its only been two fookin days!!!. Ah well normal service shall resume next August when you're struggling to contain the mighty Wigan Athletic...
Oh, and I just confirmed with myself that you do indeed claim to be a Shamrock Rovers fan. So answer me this - whats with all this "WE beat" this and "WE finished" that ballax at the start of yer post? Make yer mind up will ye!!!
Last edited by dancinpants; 28/05/2005 at 5:26 AM.
A: A fan of both clubs actually. Like many fans of NL clubs, I support a team who play in England as well. And your problem with that is?Originally Posted by dancinpants
B: Irrelevant to my previous post!![]()
C: We, (Liverpool) are going to be crowing about winning the CL for years to come. Two days?? -you ain't heard nothing yet!!![]()
A fan of Welsh League Winners Total Network Solutions ( incorporating Llantsanffraid) has proposed the following to solve UEFA's dilemma following Liverpool's unexpected Champions League victory.
His proposal is as follows: TNS V Liverpool at the Millenium Stadium as a one off pre Qualification Round tie, winner gets a place in the First Qualification Round.
I happen to believe this is an honourable solution and will make TNS a fortune. Not to mention giving them an easy passage into the First Qualification Round![]()
How about a two legged affair between Liverpool and Everton and the winners to advance to the group stages, Liverpool of course!!![]()
Dead on, end of discussion IMO. If they ain't good enough to finsih in the top 4 of a fairly weak PL, why do they even deserve to get in. They got in last year and won. Fair enough. That shouldn't affect their entry this year.Originally Posted by anto1208
from BBC Sport
Uefa president Lennart Johansson has given Liverpool's hopes of defending their Champions League title a boost.
The Swede said that football's European ruling body must make a decision as a "matter of a real urgency".
"The winner should have a chance to defend the title," Johansson told the Sunday Times.
"We must sit down to see if there is a way to make it happen. If there is a rule that harms the tournament, we have to discuss changing the rule."
Following Liverpool's sensational victory over AC Milan in Istanbul, a decision was set to be made when Uefa's executive committee meet in Manchester on 17 June. However, there is growing sympathy for the Merseyside club's plight and Johansson added that he wanted the matter resolved within the next 10 days.
Uefa chief executive Lars-Christer Olsson confirmed that talks may take place ahead of next month's meeting.
He said: "We will arrange a telephone conference because the urgency of the situation is too important to wait until we could get the full committee together."
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
A couple of points here:
As the rule stands, if Shels won the CL (I know, I know, bear with me), but don't win the league, then next year Shels as holders, and the eL winners would both be in the competition. So the flexibility of another name in the hat is already there. But the rule states that a maximum of 4 per league is allowed.
Now, if you ask me, having a fifth place team in the CHAMPIONS league is just as ridiculous as having a fourth place team. So I don't see a problem with it.
Secondly, and far more importantly, we're talking about a bit of a joke of a competition here. It's all about extra games for 'bigger' clubs, money marketing, tv deals, sponsorship etc.
The marketing power of the competition will drop if the holders aren't there. And when the holders are part of G14, whose threatened break-away led to the forming of the competition, then Liverpool will defend their title next year, but it'll have very little to do with footballing reasons
Ceci n'est pas une signature
If both of these deals happen this summer I'll banish myself from foot.ie and never return!Originally Posted by anto1208
The chances of Arsenal doing business with Chelski are slim and none, not to mention Cole having 2 years left to run on his existing contract. If he goes this summer it will NOT be to Chelsea, that I am certain of.
Reyes has 4 years remaining on his contract and Arsenal chairman, David Dein confirmed only on Saturday in a live interview on Sky that Jose Reyes is not for sale at any price and anyways he doesn't want to leave!![]()
What's your inside source on these transfer coups?
Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!
no inside scoop just reyes said in an interveiw he does nt like playing in england and will move back to spain in the summer , then real said they will buy him .Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
and cole met jose and peter kenyon to discuss his transfer to chelsea , if he does go it will be to chelsea why else would he leave ,