Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Why do we support English teams??

84 Posts
    While I do follow Man U and Celtic(been supporting both from the age of 9 or 10 while I didn't start following Harps till ath age of about 13 or 14)I'm really starting to get fed up with arguing with premier league and celtic fans over the reasons why i support harps(Which is really making me care less and less about these two sides espically Celtic). They go on about the standard and atmosphere but the vast majority have never been to and EL game.

I was in the pub one night with fbtn watching the Glentoran V Longford match, there was a decent crowd in many wearing liverpool, man u tops and celtic tops. They were giving out about having to watch this game whilst Chelsea were playing on SkyVs West Brom (as far as I remember). I wouln't of minded so much if even there was a Chelsea or West Brom fan in the place but no.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

The start em young philosophy is the main one for me. I grew up listening to my Dad talk about going out to Kilcohan Park and waiting for someone to bring him in in front of him at the turnstiles - kids went in for free in those days. When I was in school though there was never any presence of Waterford United in the school, unlike other sports who would have players come in to help with coaching a lot of the time. GAA intercounty players, American basketball players - but never any soccer players - IMO there should be a football liason officer, maybe FAI funded, or some other such community role for each club. The clubs could give a player this job and it would fund a squad member.

Schools should be targeted to attend the games - especially secondary schools. I agree that it's probably not to anyone's advantage to have a bunch of primary school kids running around the place with no interest in the game (i don't mean kids with their parents here though) but kids from about 14/15 up should be encouraged to attend games - even if they're only charged a few euro or something to get in it might capture some long term fans. - I started going to Blues games when they moved to the RSC - even before the stand was built there and even though I'm not living in Ireland at the moment I still have a season ticket (I've seen one game thus far this season).

I'm reminded of a quote from a guy behind me after a particularly dull game 2 or 3 years ago in the RSC. The stadium announcer said "next weekend the Blues will entertain Bohemians.." and the guy behind me chipped in with "we'd entertain f***in nobody!"
    Like it or not, nobody goes to EL games for the high standard of football. People do (me included) go to England to watch games just to see some world class players but at the end of the day, if you offered me a choice between a live game and a tv game I'd always go for the live one. Unfortunately I can't say the same for others. How many people in Dublin watched the Setanta cup final on the telly instead of going to the game? Doesn't matter if you support a team playing or not, IMO it's got to be better than sitting in your living room watching a game that's only being played down the road.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Silvio

The closest EL side to me is UCD. I or my family have no affilliation to them. Irish domestic football isd a non entity as far as I'm concerned. No offence but thats how it is....
    I don't see why you wouldn't give us a chance. We're cheap and it is an easy chance to see a real live game which nothing can beat for me. Even being so close to the pitch you learn little intricacies of the game you cannot on TV or being up high in the stand. You'd see the standard can be better than you'd think too.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I don't see why you wouldn't give us a chance. We're cheap and it is an easy chance to see a real live game which nothing can beat for me. Even being so close to the pitch you learn little intricacies of the game you cannot on TV or being up high in the stand. You'd see the standard can be better than you'd think too.
    Dead right there PS
    Don't knock it till you try it

The closest EL side to me is UCD. I or my family have no affilliation to them.
    Fair enough Silvio. I think the point is though that the majority of people in this country have no affilliation to any English or Scottish club either (watching them on the telly doesn't count as affilliation in my books).

At the end of it all, soccer is a part of the entertainment business and people will choose to watch whatever form of it they enjoy the most.

P.S. You should call round Belfield sometime, we'd be glad of the extra support.

Irish domestic football isd a non entity as far as I'm concerned. No offence but thats how it is....
    I disagree....but people with your attitude don't help. Probably a better standard of football here than will be on show in the City Ground next year - League One is it? .

Its whats in your heart that counts at the end of the day...
    Just out of curiosity Silvio, what draws you to Notts Forest? Are you from around there originally? Or whats the story?

The fact that so many people support English soccer teams says there is something seriously wrong with soccer in this country.

If we were like the dutch league, with decent stadia, decent enough football being played and clubs playing regularly in Europe then I dont think there would be SO MANY people cheering on English sides as their are at the moment.

We do well in Rugby with the 2 proviences. We need a European outlet to really justify the league here. We need lots of money too.

Personally I think a lot of supporters just latch on to a club here when they are doing well. I seen lots of Liverpool shirts today and I never saw them in 15 years. Where have all the Man Utd supporters gone who used to be in everyones face.

Irish supporters are very fickle. We always move on to the next sport that we are doing well. We like a sing song and the craic of the big day out but rarely stick with something.

Only 1 club wins the english priemership but all 20 teams get their fans out. We will never have that here. English fans are the best fans IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Personally I think a lot of supporters just latch on to a club here when they are doing well. I seen lots of Liverpool shirts today and I never saw them in 15 years. Where have all the Man Utd supporters gone who used to be in everyones face?
    You just saw them-they now wear Liverpool tops...Know exactly what you mean. Chelsea win league, Chelseas shirts sticking out of peoples holes. Everywhere.

Most people over here are just hopeless and ignorant when it somes to the EL, I sometimes get pi**ed off when the following conversation occurs:

Some1: Who do you support?

Me: Bray Wanderers

Some1: But who do you really support like?

Me: Bray

Some1: So you dont like support a real team from England or anything?

Then on the flip side its nice to go into school on a Monday morning and have people slag me over any bad Bray results (well when I say nice you know what I mean), a lot of people will check the text just to see how the local club (in my case Bray) did even if they have no major interest which is better than nothing I suppose.

I did'nt listen to the show but then again I think I have a fair idea about what was said. I have got no problem with people who support English clubs (sometimes I feel kinda bad for them coz they are missing out on something), at the end of the day its theyre decision and they have every right to support whichever club they like whether it be Man U or Grays Athletic or Bohs, the people I have a problem with are those who dont give the EL a fair go. Oh and I also hate the people (I know that sounds strong) who support Man U or whoever and then come out with something like ``United are gone sh*te, I like Chelsea know`` or ``Nah I dont like United anymore I just stick to watchin Celtic these day's`` BTW i'm not tryin to pick on Man U in patricular but the above are good examples.

People in Ireland suffer from an identity crisis. With the FA cup final last week I witnessed people trying to show their Irishness by changing the channel when the English national anthem was played before the match but yet had no problem supporting the two English clubs playing.

If you asked the vast majority of people in Ireland what team they supported, 9 times out of ten the answer would be an English team. I lived in Denmark for over a year. English football has a large following there, but if you asked the same question in Copenhagen, most people would say that they supported FC Copenhagen or Brondby.
    English football has still a large following in Copenhagen but the Danes would put their own teams first. The same should be done here but sadly some Irish people don’t even know the EL exists!
    I never apologize.
    I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am.

-Homer J. Simpson

I don;t understand how a supporter of a Premier****e team can be as emotinally involved who supports a team becuase it is theirs. I hate watching football on t.v because it doesn't compare at all to live football.

I hate the hypocrisy of people e.g England play and Rooney is branded "a fat British *******" then the same person will be roaring their lungs out the next week as he plays for ManUre.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

386 Posts
    Interesting poem by Pete, sums it all up really

The Loneliness of the Eircom League Fan

(Champions League Final)

Surprised at my own lack of grace,
    I supped my pint quite unperturbed,
    And sat there with a placid face,
    That great events had not disturbed.

I watched the scene as from afar –
    These wild-eyed men bedecked in red
    Who leapt around the tiny bar
    With veins protruding from their head.

Fists clenched in joy, with raucous chants,
    All self-control and balance gone,
    They acted a crazy dance
    For me, their audience of one.

They doubtless viewed me as a fool,
    No int’rest in the wondrous game,
    Who’d never heard of Liverpool,
    Who’d not been touched by football’s flame.

And, as I sat, I pondered why
    I could not share their great delight.
    Was mine a surly, jealous eye
    Upon this most amazing night?

I bear no ill to Liverpool,
    They well deserved to win the match.
    Also-rans now, as a rule,
    They’ll revel in this purple patch.

I’m saddened by this Irish mass
    Who wear the red and kiss the crest
    Such declarations I find crass
    And utterly bizarre at best.

When England play, they’ll mock and jeer,
    And laugh whenever things go wrong.
    And should they lose, they’ll raise a cheer
    And sing a heartfelt rebel song.

But do they follow Bohs or Cork
    And help to raise the standards here?
    Or will the season’s football talk
    Revolve ‘round Sky and pints of beer?

Throughout their native land, in pubs
    Our trophy-seeking young men give
    Allegiance to their English clubs,
    Notwithstanding where they live.

Eggs and chickens, chickens, eggs…
    Will we ever get success
    If they regard us as the dregs,
    Despite our native Irishness?

I sit here in my Shelbourne shirt,
    Surveying scenes of utter glee,
    Yet feeling all the righteous hurt
    Of dreams that have eluded me.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    If RTE, or anyone, set aside serious money to advertise, hype up and promote our league, we would get an audience soon enough.
    In England a few years back didn't On Digital try something along those lines with the English Football League (ie all of the teams outside of the Premiership) - they wanted to try and get people in England paying to watch more Football League games on TV so they invested heavily in marketing advertising etc etc ... in the end they attracted nowhere near enough customers to pay for it all and On Digital itself went out of business as a result! I'm not saying that it wouldn't work with EL clubs because that isn't exactly the same but I'm not sure that blindly throwing money at it is the solution either.

I think that the best solution would be to take the long-term view and focus on kids instead of adults. Stuff like giving free tickets to schools to get kids in watching EL football. They won't get any money off them now but when they have grown up and left school some of them will want to come back and will be happy to pay to do it.

Quote Originally Posted by 106 caller
    I don't like Eircom League football, it's too partisan
    He possibly means parochial (small-time, inward-looking)?

Not that I agree, like
    Last edited by Duncan Gardner; 29/05/2005 at 11:11 AM.
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    I don;t understand how a supporter of a Premier****e team can be as emotinally involved who supports a team becuase it is theirs. I hate watching football on t.v because it doesn't compare at all to live football.

I hate the hypocrisy of people e.g England play and Rooney is branded "a fat British *******" then the same person will be roaring their lungs out the next week as he plays for ManUre.
    Well those of us who attend matches in England on a regular basis are as emotionally attached to our clubs as you are with yours.

I've been to see Forest 8 times this season and have enjoyed every minute of it.

Quote Originally Posted by The Dublin Red
    Is that discussion still on????

Yeah loads of glamour following Nottingham Forest
    20,000 people in a modern stadium, it would be totally different if nottingham were playing somewhere like the carlisle grounds,with no decent facilities and crowds in their hundreds
    whether you like it or not the fact that its a modern stadium with 20000 people are there is a glamourous aspect regardless of the team or standard of football

Quote Originally Posted by The Dublin Red
    There is a pre season tour of Denmark coming up in July and I am considering going, its not for the football but for the craic with the lads who are going.
    you get the same craic at every EL team.i for one love the craic being a Rovers fan, the away trips, overnighters etc. you dont have to go to england to get that

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet
    I think that the best solution would be to take the long-term view and focus on kids instead of adults. Stuff like giving free tickets to schools to get kids in watching EL football. They won't get any money off them now but when they have grown up and left school some of them will want to come back and will be happy to pay to do it.
    Dundalk FC did that when I was in primary school.

Quote Originally Posted by anto eile
    you get the same craic at every EL team.i for one love the craic being a Rovers fan, the away trips, overnighters etc. you dont have to go to england to get that
    I agree my friend and no doubt there is a great craic but I've been a supporter for years now and I've made some great friends out of it so I couldn't change it!! It's a very enjoyable past time, even if the football is poor at times.

I take the earlier point about 20,000 in the stadium, the match day build up is something special and the atmosphere is unique especially when we travel with 5,000 fellow away supporters.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123