Thread: O Neill resigns

O Neill resigns

Celtic manager Martin O'Neill is to leave the club after Saturday's Scottish Cup final.
    The club's chairman Brian Quinn says it is with "great reluctance" and "great regret" that O'Neill is leaving, after five years at the club.

O'Neill is going for "family reasons, to spend more time with his wife Geraldine who has been receiving hospital treatment for months."

His assistants John Robertson and Steve Walford will also depart the club.

More to follow
    In Trap we trust

Fair play to him

Seems like a really grounded guy.
    Could have brought a lot of crap on the club had he reacted to any of the rumours of him over the last few years re : joining United etc.

Hope his wife recovers and he gets a big job where he can challenge for the Champions League.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

From AERTEL

Martin O'Neill today confirmed he will stand down as Celtic manager after the Tennent's Scottish Cup final.

O'Neill, who had been expected to make the announcement regardless of Rangers' final-day championship triumph, has confirmed he will take a year off from football to be with his wife Geraldine, who is ill.

Former Southampton and Coventry manager Gordon Strachan is widely expected to step in.

The Hoops threw away the Premier League title when they crashed to a late 2-1 defeat at Motherwell having led 1-0.

3,501 Posts
    I'm gutted to see O'Neill leave a job he truely loved, but I completely understand and support his reasons for doing so. Strachan has massive shoes to fill, but I think he may have been the best choice available to the board. He did well at Southampton (more or less the same squad they have now played in the FA Cup final 2 years ago!) so I have high hopes for him at Celtic Park.

Truly sorry to see him go, but he's doing the right the thing. As he said himself, they don't have a monopoly on bad luck, but I hope it works out alright for them, I really do.
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

Fantastic man and a great character,will be sorry to see him away from football,hopefully it will all work out for his missus,some things are just more important than football.
    Can see Strachan doing a great job,if he can do well with a team like Southampton in the Premiership,he can certainly do the business in Scotland with the squad Celtic have.
    Good luck Martin and best of luck for the future Gordon.Cmon the hoops!.
    MOT

Thanks for the memories...

...we'll never forget ye bouncing around on the sidelines Martin!
    Showing that he's a brilliant man as awell as a brilliant manager by leaving behind the job and club he loves to be with his wife-Martin fair juice to ye for knowing family comes before football it's the right thing to do!
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

A shame to see him leave the club he obviously loves, but he clearly has his priorities right. I wish him and the family all the best for the future.

He has left Celtic in a much better state than when he took over and will have his pick of clubs should he decide to manage again.

67 Posts
    Best of luck the the new manager, Gordan Strachan, a HIBEE

71 Posts
    I have a very ominous feeling about the health of his wife. I hope it's more of a matter of helping her up from recovery than seeing out their time together. 5 years, 3 titles, 2 runners up, one on goal difference, one on a point, one UEFA Cup final, one League Cup win and runner up, Two Cup wins, one runner up and possibly a third win. Not a bad trophy haul and could easily have had a few more. Has left a somewhat aged core of a squad perhaps it is best to have someone come in and freshen things up. Pluses of Strachan are he is Scottish and he has no compensation package. He does tend to start off quite well in a job. I don't know what to expect from him but I wish him the best of luck.

I hope his wife recovers soon. O'Neill is an absolute gentleman and has always carried himself with dignity even under some pretty nasty sectarian stuff.

He's done a fantastic job for us and he leaves us as a Celtic great. I think the appointment of Strachan could be a good move.

I for one am more than happy with him and look forward to many good times ahead

My heart really wanted O'Neill to stay but my head wanted to see a new exciting manager in. MON insisted in playing Petrov out wide and either Thompson or Sutton in the centre. It was things like this that made me frustrated. Unfortunately I can't see Strachan doing any better than MON has done in Europe. O'Neill still gave us a load of great memories and will be welcome back any time.

I'm actually a bit worried about next seasons CL. I can't see Strachan doing well at all.

The media have at long last got their story about Martin leaving Celtic.
    It's been five great years with him..
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    I think the appointment of Strachan could be a good move.
    Strachan is good when things are going well. Have a feeiling he wont last a season!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Strachan

confirmed as manager on the official site.
    Good man.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

The jury's out for me. The club needs a strong man at the helm, of that there's no doubt, but whether wee Gordie is that man is another story entirely. I share eirebhoy's concerns on this one.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

I don't see how there's concern, obviously with any new manager there is a little bit of apprehension as to how things will turn out but the thing I'm looking forward to, is Celtic playing attractive football again. All Strachans teams have played decent football and as much as Martin did for the club, the football wasn't great at times.

One fella says to me yesterday that Strachan wasn't the right man for the job because he's never managed a big team.....of course the likes of Wycombe and Leicester that MON managed are European giants I said

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    I don't see how there's concern, obviously with any new manager there is a little bit of apprehension as to how things will turn out but the thing I'm looking forward to, is Celtic playing attractive football again. All Strachans teams have played decent football and as much as Martin did for the club, the football wasn't great at times.
    Well I'll give you the benefit of the doubt but I don't think we'll be seeing really attractive football. Especially after looking at his premiership team of the season:
    Best XI

Again I've excluded players from the top three: 4-4-2.

Nigel Martyn (Everton): Top performer and a big part of Everton's finishing fourth.

Tony Hibbert (Everton): Great engine and rarely beaten.

David Weir (Everton): Bags of experience and composure.

Sylvain Distin (Man City): Great in the air, gives balance on the left and scores the odd goal.

Franck Queudrue (Boro): Fantastic going forward, has improved defensively and calmed down.

Shaun Wright-Phillips (Man City): Has pace, scores goals and can go on to become world class.

Ivan Campo (Bolton): Can tackle, head and is a good user of the ball.

Michael Hughes (Crystal Palace): Brave on the ball, never gets rushed and hits good passes.

Darren Huckerby (Norwich): Unstoppable sometimes; plays from box to box and is a good crosser.

Andy Johnson (Crystal Palace): Bags of goals, good movement and great work rate.

Peter Crouch (Southampton): Has scored all sorts of goals, not only headers but nicely caressed volleys.
    This time last week I couldn't wait til next season. Now I feel like I better make the best of the summer.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    . Especially after looking at his premiership team of the season:
    Other than 2 or 3 players, that's a strange team to pick alright

Wish you hadn't shown me that