Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Games 28/29 Feb

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Dogged organised display from Shels tonight thrilled with that 3 points great start to the season. Pats had most possession but they look soft could do with a Gary Deegan type in the middle and they were blunt in the final third they won't trouble the Top 4 spots this season
    Id go along with that assessment.

172 Posts
    Decent win for Rovers against dundalk. On to sligo next week.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Changing of the guards.... Jack Byrne class act both on and off the pitch RIP Mrs O’Neill

Long way to go but you can only break what’s in front of you
    I hope Rovers players and management believe they've broken Dundalk.

As for changing of the guard... Rovers have only beaten Dundalk twice when it matters, tonight and in the cup final. Every other time over the last 6 seasons have been when nothing was at stake. If you win league, then defend it a few times we'll start talking.

What tonight shows is that it's going to be a good tussle for the league this year, some great quality on show tonight, the Flores goal was outrageous and the winner from Byrne was excellent. Hopefully sets up 3 more epic games this season

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Don't let your bias cloud your judgement. Shields has been the most consistent performer in the league for the last five years. If you really think Shields is second rate you know little about the game.

I don't like Rovers but I can appreciate players like Byrne, Finn, McEniff, Grace, even Bolger
    Responsible for two goals ... that’s second rate imo.... plus as I said once booked he couldn’t play his normal game .... anyway you like him and that’s your entitlement , it’s a game of opinions and that’s the joy of it ... but bias cloud that is laughable.... guess you’ll just have to take it on the chin 🤣
    Last edited by Calcio Jack; 29/02/2020 at 1:07 AM.

31 Posts
    A strange game. Harps on top first half. Definitely a foul for the goal in first half. He was in his right to go for it but the follow through was a foul. The 3/4 minutes it took for the officials to talk to each other was farcical though! Never seen the like of it before. It had a galvanising effect on the cork players and fans and they were far the better team in the second half. We should have equilised late on but had one blocked off the line. Still impressed with the harps team but disappointed with the points lost tonight

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebronze14 View Post
    A strange game. Harps on top first half. Definitely a foul for the goal in first half. He was in his right to go for it but the follow through was a foul. The 3/4 minutes it took for the officials to talk to each other was farcical though! Never seen the like of it before. It had a galvanising effect on the cork players and fans and they were far the better team in the second half. We should have equilised late on but had one blocked off the line. Still impressed with the harps team but disappointed with the points lost tonight
    Just watched it. Red card every day of the week.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Total bolix. 'Wonder Boy' was sensational. Hopefully Mick McCarthy in the stand can see he's the best Irish midfielder. BTW, technically, his good was the football tonight from both teams? This is why we support LOI.
    I can only be in awe of the serene and composed way many Rovers lads elevate wonder boy to something he clearly is not.

A gifted footballer - yes. Scorer of a magnificent winning goal tonight - absolutely. But the best Irish midfielder - eh no!

Well done to Rovers on the win tonight - what is seldom is probably wonderful

53 Posts
    Id imagine its quite hard to play football when the opposition are focused on fouling you rather than tackling fairly. No suprise dundalk have a discipline problem with Perth as the manager. Not sure how hoare only got a yellow for his elbow on lopes.

Anyway enjoy your cornflakes in the morning

870 Posts
    Fair play to Rovers! I hate the 'real advertisement for the league' coments generally but it was. Not like Dundalk to not close out a game after hauling back in to the game and getting in front. Super goal by Byrne! Asterix you are sounding like Cork fans a few years ago - lets ban tackles altogether. I felt there were a good few soft frees awarded to Rovers at the latter end of 1st half, but each to their own! Were there other games played tonight ;p

342 Posts
    Great game in Tallaght a treat to watch as a neutral.
    As for us it seems it was a game of 2 halves that turned on the Harps 'goal' which was rightly disallowed, but Doyle contrived to make a complete mess of coming to that eventuality,I have a funny feeling that if it had been McGinley in that goal it wouldn't have been ruled out,anyway we gave away a complete hash of a goal in the 2nd half and then huffed and puffed to try and equalise. Only Dundalk and Rovers up next for us !!!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

194 Posts
    Defences win games and ours were way tooooooo slow tonight.To many stupid mistakes from a defence that usually doubles down and covers every loose ball back there - didn't happen this game .Our midfield couldn't slow the game down when it was needed.Shields needs calling out for his lack lustre start to the season and was poor. but there was a few along with him.(no excuse though)
    Hopefully we can get McEleney back soon and also see what Colovic is all about.

Decent match all the same and a good crowd in

870 Posts
    Very important win for Cork tonight. Shels picking up points again as a promoted side nicely. Pats a tad meh so far - how many people had O'Donnell for the chop before Buckley? Could be very nip and tuck between Bohs and Derry.

Sorry now lads but all ye rovers fans are delusional regarding Byrne and Ireland, hes playing at league 1 level at best, do it in england and i cant argue with ye

637 Posts
    I think tbf to JB he is on record as being not happy when he was away which effected him badly in terms of play, he also said he made a couple of bad moves for the wrong reasons.
    He is capable of playing at a lot higher level as recognised not only by rovers fans but by mick McCarty a man not known for BS.
    If JB isn't better than league 1 or 2 in the UK where does that leave the rest of the players in this league.

637 Posts
    The attendance for our next home match against harps will be interesting,
    5000 against cork in shocking weather was very good but you'd expect a big crowd for the first home game .
    7500 against dundalk, excellent.
    Against harps in 2 weeks will we be back to our core 3000 or will some of the 6700 rovers fans last night (dundalk brought 800 away) come back for more.

76 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
    Sorry now lads but all ye rovers fans are delusional regarding Byrne and Ireland, hes playing at league 1 level at best, do it in england and i cant argue with ye
    ah, that old "England is the ultimate barometer for all Irish footballeers" chestnut.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Responsible for two goals ... that’s second rate imo.... plus as I said once booked he couldn’t play his normal game .... anyway you like him and that’s your entitlement , it’s a game of opinions and that’s the joy of it ... but bias cloud that is laughable.... guess you’ll just have to take it on the chin 🤣
    Byrne was responsible for Dundalks second, you're conveniently forgetting that. You're also conveniently forgetting that second rate Shields kept Byrne very quiet in each game last season.

Of course it's bias, you don't like Shields because he has consistently got the better of Rovers players for the last 6 years. You got one back last night. Let's see how our second rate captain fairs in the next one. I expect normal service to resume

812 Posts
    Brilliant game in Drogheda, standard wanst amazing but I haven't seen a FD game played at that tempo for quite a while it was break neck intensity from both sides.

Longford took their goal well, keeper probably should be doing better than pushing it straight into the line of fire but he's very young, Drogheda had enough chances to get at least a point, even with 10 men they put us under unbelievable pressure and while I think there's more to come from us this has got to be a massive mental boost especially to do it without Dean Byrne. Couldn't guess an attendance but healthy none the less and around 80 away fans.

On a side note, the prices into that Absolute dump are farcical, not even a drop of soap or hot water in the jack's, so much for regularly washing your hands.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    It's not too often that anyone scores three against the league champions. Hat tip to Rovers for managing to do that this evening.

The wonder boy was fairly quiet all match until his wonder goal that was a fitting winner in any match.

No doubt the choir will start up with some premature deluded notions of grandeur (although Johnny 'Hot Take' Ward might be a little cautious this time). This Dundalk team us full of character and will not lie down - a 13 points point deficit turned into an 11 point winning margin last season. 3 points behind after 4 games is a minuscule blip
    Ah here Jack played very well. TBH there was not much between the teams with both being comprehensively on top for spells during the game. Dundalk are not going away as i keep telling folks and remain an outstanding side. As for us that was the 3rd and final massive psychological boost that they needed, they have ended the Bohs hoodoo, gotten a trophy and come back from behind to beat the countrys best team by a mile over the last 6 years. Is there a changing of the Guard, Not sure yet but one thing is for certain there is two big lads in the Guard house try to throw each other out. Also encouraging for us is our ability to cope with the loss of quality players through injury. Need to win in Sligo always a dodgy place for us we were horrendous there last season.

28 Posts
    Have you seen Jack play Buzzkill? actually at a match. Jack Byrne is currently the best creative midfield association football player eligible to play international football for the country name a better one. Might be harder more defensive minded players but when it needs a instep curling pass to the feet of a teamate between to opposition players who else can do it for us. Wes used to but now we have Jack. If i thought he could not play at that level i would call it out, he can, should but probably only will when he goes back to play in a UK league.
    Last edited by Kingswood Rover; 29/02/2020 at 10:45 AM.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast