Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Irish acts of the 80's/90's- where are they now ?

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    petecole, I'm only allowing that because PoD's guitar player is my brother in law and I'd like to see the Cork gig full, but be advised that if you lift a 5 year old thread or post commercial spam on Foot.ie again, you'll be our on your ear. It's just pure ignorant, period.
    so we can post anything we want to help family? or is it one rule for us and another for someone else.

no disrespect, just a question

522 Posts
    No, I can make exceptions for my family, what with me paying the bills and all. That ok with you?

Jeez, since this thread started you could add the Thrills to the list of "where are they nows" and their first album was only out!

246 Posts
    Best Irish band ever and no mention here yet ? Scandalous! I give you the very wonderful Stars of Heaven.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

No, I can make exceptions for my family, what with me paying the bills and all. That ok with you?
    yeah no bother, no need to get snappy sir

115 Posts
    What's Cathal Coughlan up to these days I wonder?
    Mocrodisney and Fatima Mansions were two of the best acts ever spawned on these shores.
    more bass

I had A-House - I am the greatest, on in the car this morning, still sounds good 18 years on. There was a lot of decent bands in the mid 80's to mid 90's but most of them had no more than a couple of good tunes and weren't able to sustain anything beyond an album or a couple of EP's
    "Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king"
    Sideshow Bob

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    What's Cathal Coughlan up to these days I wonder?
    Mocrodisney and Fatima Mansions were two of the best acts ever spawned on these shores.
    He's released a few solo albums since. All of them not bad in my opinion (Black River Falls is my favourite of his solo stuff), but nothing to match Microdisney or The Mansions. The last update on his site is from last Summer, where he mentions he's recording a new album. Still does the odd live gig every now and then as well.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Whipping Boy 'Heartworm', class album. Not sure whatever happened to them..
    They did a few gigs a couple years ago, including the Olympia, and re-released Submarine. At least one of them is a Civil Servant (for the where are they now? element).

I'm a wee bit young for this thread, and coming from the North I missed a lot of these bands (and Aslan thank Christ) but after finding this tune on a Tom Dunne that my dad bought me so I wouldn't be homesick when I was in America, this instantly became one of my favourite Irish songs of all time:

I'm actually not a fan of that album, I think the later stuff with Ian on guitar has much more presence. I'm not sure if he or the original guitar player is with them for the reunion, if he isn't I wouldn't bother going.
    Partial agreement. Ian (didn't know they had anyone else play guitar with them -Craig Walker himself aside) certainly completed the jigsaw for the live sound and the second record probably sounds better than I,E &I for his involvement. But the songs, like Slowdown, to my ear aren't as strong as those on the first album.

Age old problem ...a couple of decades to write your first album and a couple of months to write your second.

For the purposes of further informing the thread -Ian also plays (bass) with The Sultans of Ping these days I believe.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

sorry!

Hi all,

Sorry to have spammed! I am helping out Power of Dreams, so I did a Google search on 'Irish bands 90s'' and I found this thread...

The fantastic Ian Olney IS playing with the band on the reunion tour.

Cheers,

Pete

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Partial agreement. Ian (didn't know they had anyone else play guitar with them -Craig Walker himself aside) certainly completed the jigsaw for the live sound and the second record probably sounds better than I,E &I for his involvement. But the songs, like Slowdown, to my ear aren't as strong as those on the first album.

Age old problem ...a couple of decades to write your first album and a couple of months to write your second.

For the purposes of further informing the thread -Ian also plays (bass) with The Sultans of Ping these days I believe.
    Having never seen them live I can't comment on the live sound but I agree that the songs on the first album were much stronger. I felt that they became much harder and the poppy edge went which was a shame, I think Ash went down a similar road, they started getting grungier and lost the catchy power pop side which was what I liked about them.
    "Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king"
    Sideshow Bob

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    You're probably right, I'm not a big lyrics or musical style person, just one of those annoying "I know what I like" people. So while 2 Hell might fall down on lyrics or form, I love the power of it, whereas Immigrants comes off very wishy-washy.

That's right! I was too young to appreciate them in the raw first time round but I went to one of their gigs in Cork a while back and I'd great craic altogether. I totally wasn't expecting everyone to fall over.

Quote Originally Posted by petecole View Post
    Sorry to have spammed! I am helping out Power of Dreams, so I did a Google search on 'Irish bands 90s'' and I found this thread...
    Apology accepted. It's not the best way to promote things, it just annoys forum admins and users. It's generally a good idea to ask a forum admin or moderator first if you're coming to a forum just to post something commercial.

The fantastic Ian Olney IS playing with the band on the reunion tour.
    I'm not sure how he'd react to "fantastic", but that's great to hear.

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Having never seen them live I can't comment on the live sound
    I'd strongly recommend seeing them live, they're corking on stage.

246 Posts
    As I was saying. Pure bloody genius. Still listen to these guys all the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBw3kuLWtmw
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

115 Posts
    As we're now YT-ing...

To illustrate the previous point...

Oh and also what TonyD said, though this is far and away my favourite...
    more bass

115 Posts
    Also, would definitely be interested to know whatever happened to these lads!
    more bass

Anyone Remember/Ever hear of Scary Eire. a Hip Hop outfit from the Mid-Lands (kildare I think)
    seen some of there stuff on youtube recently, A real walk down memory lane, Dole Queue is as relevent today as it was in the early 90's

60 Posts
    Jaysus, I haven't heard the name in ages. I think I may have had one of their singles on cassette single
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Anyone Remember/Ever hear of Scary Eire. a Hip Hop outfit from the Mid-Lands (kildare I think)
    seen some of there stuff on youtube recently, A real walk down memory lane, Dole Queue is as relevent today as it was in the early 90's
    Was one not from "Tulla" - tullamore, and one from Dublin?
    In fact i never heard of them when they were around but have since then thanks to the wonders of YouTube - how did they not make it? And surely The Dole Q song would make it if re released?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast