Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Irish acts of the 80's/90's- where are they now ?

Good album that alright,Urban Beaches.Not sure what they're doing now though.Remember that Cork band out around the same time called Cypress Mine,they were good aswell or The Gorehounds from Dublin or Blue in Heaven.Better music in the country around that time compared to the drival thats doing the rounds these days
    MOT

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kickeroo

How about Cactus World News? I have a copy of Live for Ireland on tape that has that killer live cut of "The Bridge"

I aslo had a tape of the album that had The Bridge on it, but it was lost when I wrecked a motorcycle bak in 92 or so.

i have that on vinyl .i 'll check the name of it later ,
    also on L.P. have"if i die i die" by the virgin prunes

Urban Beaches,look up
    MOT

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    Urban Beaches,look up

missed that,
    i think it was their only album

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Auto da Fe
    featuring robbie brennan on drums,mark megarry (ex radiators) on bass and trevor knight on keyboards ........great live band

250 Posts
    ...actually difficult to get good trivia, production notes etc. on those Irish bands. Heck, bar the poor enough Reverb (which for some reason finished with Johnny Cash clips lately), we don't even see most of the bands and videos any more. I mean, there's hundreds of good books teasing out every detail of any act that got into the UK top 40 (though I still thinkAltern8's plans to drop ecstacy laced mini plum puddings to poor people from a hot air balloon over Essex at Christmas is the best music story), but so little about Irish acts without scouring the place for Hot Press back issues.

reminds me of the coverage of a certain sport that we all love on here .

there are indeed rakes of good stories and yarns about irish bands so who knows .............................
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 02/06/2005 at 4:57 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Well sir hamish

They had a few singles released including " Love Me Simple" (my favourite one by them), and "Tunnel Vision" . There was a video for "LOve Me Simple" which featured a swinging lightbulb... don't know if there was one for Tunnel Vision or not maybe Lionel Richie can enlighten us
    I remember a video for Tunnel Vision coz they were only a four piece at the time and I remember a video that had a swinging lightbulb but dunno if it was for Love Me Simple was it in the Tunnel Vision one.

Anyone know what the lads in The Golden Horde are up to now?
    My favourite Irish band ever they are.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Fcuk you lot - now you have me rummaging through my old singles. Just came across some of these. Anyone remember?
    Rocky Develera/Rhythm Kings: John Wayne (its a bird, its a plane, its John Wayne)
    Jimmy Crowley: Aint every chap doin it but you
    Jimmy McCarthy: Miles of eyes (Hate that song, bird I was going with at the time loved it - should have sent it on with her)
    Stagalee: Give a little love
    Bogey Boys: Death of a clown
    Bogey Boys: Friday night
    Hot Press/ and the Silent Knights: December 24
    de Danann: Hey Jude - original single
    Mamas Boys: Belfast City Boys ( some cnut stole my needle in the groove single)
    The Atrix: The Moon is puce (John Borrowman is dead now??)
    I have a freebie from Hotpress - remember those "bendy" records you had to put on top of another one to play them? It's a Four of us compilation including "Mary"

I also have Brendan Bowyer and The Royal Showband single: The Fly

plus my first ever single I bought: "Um.Um.Um.Um.Um.Um. by Wayne Fontana and the Mindbenders It would probably be called the Humming Song today.

Guess what else I found. The Communist era Polish National anthem. It's a white rectangular shaped record with a map of Poland and towns on one side and the (Polish) lyrics and sheet music on the other.

As for Stagalee above. Does anyone remember Maggie Reilly (of Moonlight Shadow fame) singing with them for a while. They did a gig here in Beeslow in the early 80s or late 70s. Tell you a story about that gig again - she has a sweet voice but is/was one tough cookie.

Here's another two for ya... Galway's , Toasted Heretic and the very damn good Whipping Boy

Oh and we ought to get a Foot.ie chart up and running on Audioscrobbler.

Haven't been around in a few months but found this post too good to let pass.
    I was wondering if this thread would tease you out.

For all the Cork people, what about LMNO Pelican?
    I saw them support the Weddoes early/mid '90's, and I have their ep on tape. Or were they more well known for having their name written rather large on Grand Parade?
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Jaysus, that's eclectic. I'm struggling to remember the acts. let alone the singles you name. That Bowyer guy did the Hucklebuck, right?

Let's put it like this, the first thing I got in the music world was Nik Kershaw's 'Human Racing' - think you might have a few years on me...
    Cheers Conor 74 - I and my mates used to basically buy anything and everything that came into the record shops those days unless it was country n Irish so we often didn't know what the hell we were getting until it ended up on a turntable. Reason was simple, RTE radio played fcuk all new music, even by Irish rockers - in the 60s and 70s particularly so it was by word of mouth that a new band became known often or through mates who had seen them in Cork, Dublin, Belfast etc. That often gave it an extra buzz/adventure/callitwhatyou will - nowadays bands are in your face before they've even gigged or bought their first guitar so it's almost the other extreme.

During the punk boom a few mates of mine got carried away with it and decided to form their own punk band. They played the sum total of two gigs in a shed in the back of a house in St. Joseph's Place - just down the road from me, had a major fight (yep there were stitches involved, just as well Portiuncula Hospital was literally feet away) and split up. They really got the punk spirit 'cos they really bet the $h!ite out of each other - I was the poor fcuker that had to try and separate them. Musical differences!!! Kinda. The two "guitarists" (brothers) got annoyed with the drummer 'cos he wouldn't shut the fcuk up while they tried to "tune". Happy days.

Name of the band? Vomit. Could you get a more punk name than that!!

Must get back to that Maggie Reilly sceal (above post) later.
    Last edited by hamish; 03/06/2005 at 12:05 AM.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    Good album that alright,Urban Beaches.Not sure what they're doing now though.Remember that Cork band out around the same time called Cypress Mine,they were good aswell or The Gorehounds from Dublin or Blue in Heaven.Better music in the country around that time compared to the drival thats doing the rounds these days
    Cypress Mine were excellent, a few more Cork bands of the time were Burning Embers and Belsonic Sound, God that takes me back. Anyone remember the Emperors of Ice Cream?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Went into the magazine shop a few hours ago and asked the young lad behind the counter for the latest edition of Hot Press. He asked was it a girly magazine and I said, "No, it's a music magazine and has Rory Gallagher on the cover."

He said, "Oh Yeah Rory Gallagher, my dad is mad into him and some "PAIR" (his word) called Led Zeppelin."

Fcuks sake.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish

He said, "Oh Yeah Rory Gallagher, my dad is mad into him and some "PAIR" (his word) called Led Zeppelin."

Fcuks sake.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Cypress Mine were excellent, a few more Cork bands of the time were Burning Embers and Belsonic Sound, God that takes me back. Anyone remember the Emperors of Ice Cream?
    The emperors boys went on to form Bass Oddyssey and are now back in the rock nroll fold with an excellent band called Sylvia Saint.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Having just dusted off my copy of 'Immigrants, Emigrants and Me' to satisfy an inexplicable urge to hear '100 hundred ways to kill a love' by Power of Dreams, it made me think about whatever happened to the rash of bands that the country seemed to churn out in the late 80's and early 90's ?
    Dublin's Power of Dreams RETURN!

Reunion tour dates:
    5 March - London, The Luminaire
    6 March - Birmingham, The Flapper
    7 March - Guildford, The Boileroom
    8 March - Oxford, Jericho
    10 March - Dundalk, The Spirit Store
    12 March - Dublin, Whelans
    13 March - Cork, The Pavilion

Please check out/add the following pages:

http://www.myspace.com/powerofdreams
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gi...4751776&ref=mf
    http://www.powerofdreams.ie

A 2CD limited edition of the debut album 'Immigrants, Emigrants and Me' containing all 14 original tracks plus the debut “A Little Piece of God” ep and various b-sides, will be released on 1st March 2010. Pre-order @ http://www.onehundredpercentmusic.bi...igrants-and-me

Cheers, Pete
    Last edited by dahamsta; 14/01/2010 at 12:10 PM.

522 Posts
    petecole, I'm only allowing that because PoD's guitar player is my brother in law and I'd like to see the Cork gig full, but be advised that if you lift a 5 year old thread or post commercial spam on Foot.ie again, you'll be our on your ear. It's just pure ignorant, period.

20 Years, Jeez that makes a man feel old, if only they'd done an 18 year anniversary release & tour I might have got to see them.
    It was a cracking album, I think I still have the original on cassette, I had the cassette single of 100 ways too, I'll have to have a dig this evening to check if they survived the great tape purge of 2002.

Bit cheeky for a first post petecole but I'm glad you posted
    "Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king"
    Sideshow Bob

112 Posts
    Whipping Boy 'Heartworm', class album. Not sure whatever happened to them.. Kerbdog could have been huge.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

522 Posts
    I'm actually not a fan of that album, I think the later stuff with Ian on guitar has much more presence. I'm not sure if he or the original guitar player is with them for the reunion, if he isn't I wouldn't bother going.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast