Thread: The Republican Party

Granada are a (not bad) kids team based, I think, somewhere in Shankill, south Dublin.
    Fair play if he has had that involvement, but he still needs to address Irish football's problems before issues to do with the game in another country.
    I'm feeling left out at this stage, as I haven't got a response (sob!)

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I don't think matters what he says about Man United just hilarious that is a foreign newspaper that making fun of him...
    You are right, but it is an opportunity to bring the eL to the attention of a TD and that can't be bad.....

I wonder if be good to send him a mail thanking him for Man United ripoff to see if he takes the bait...

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Got this response. Doesn't really address any of the issues I raised. He seems to miss the point that the very idea that parents should feel "pressure" because of "the corporatisation of English football" is utterly ludicrous.
    In fairness, when you have kids in school demanding things, it's very eary to feel pressurised by the likes of United.

As it happens I am a follower of (though not a regular attender at) UCD, a former programme seller at Glenmalure Park for Shamrock Rovers, a former coach of Granada FC in the South Dublin Football league, a current player for Blackrock College over 35s in the AUL and a former player for Portobello in the UCL.
    However I am at liberty to comment on all matters in public life including the expense and pressure that parents face arising from the corporatisation of English football.
    In fairness, I think he has been pointed out to me a couple of times in Belfield Park. I think it's a fact that Manchester United are an aspect of Irish life, and you can't just turn away from it because you don't like it, especially if you're a politician - your focus has to be Irish life, not just "Made in Ireland". Think it's a very fair comment. However, having said that, your reply made some good points as well which would be great if they were acted upon. Very big "IF" though.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    My concern was your suggestion that the only entertaining football experience available to an Irish Person lies across the Irish sea.
    Where do you draw that conclusion from?

Quote Originally Posted by Bohdiddley
    Granada are a (not bad) kids team based, I think, somewhere in Shankill, south Dublin.
    Dean's Grange/Foxrock area.

3,488 Posts
    [*]A decrease in alcohol consumption
    Incidentally, do you honestly think you drink less at an eL game than in the pub on your barstool?!

You forgot to mention money going into our local economy as opposed to leaving the country as well. Still, some good points well made.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Incidentally, do you honestly think you drink less at an eL game than in the pub on your barstool?!

You forgot to mention money going into our local economy as opposed to leaving the country as well. Still, some good points well made.
    Well I'm talking about the people who go for the 4 o'clock Sunday "event" and the Monday night "football" "event" etc. in the pub.
    I see a lot of families going down to watch the 4 o'clock Sunday game, and after half an hour, the kids are outside of the door of the pub, waiting around for the father/mother to stagger out around 7/8 o'clock.

I think I sort of mentioned the local economy in this point: "An injection of funds into a business which continues to gainfully employ many of our young boys so cruelly cast aside by the "corporate" entities of English football" ??

3,488 Posts
    I see a lot of families going down to watch the 4 o'clock Sunday game, and after half an hour, the kids are outside of the door of the pub, waiting around for the father/mother to stagger out around 7/8 o'clock.
    Ah yeah, fair enough. Just was down in Longford at the weekend - drinks in the pub before heading down, cans on the bus, cans during the match, cans on the way home...! Think a lot of people here can relate to that!

I think I sort of mentioned the local economy in this point: "An injection of funds into a business which continues to gainfully employ many of our young boys so cruelly cast aside by the "corporate" entities of English football" ??
    True, but just to emphasise that going to eL games puts money into the Irish economy as well as stops it leaving the country. It also creates jobs, etc. Still, small points.

For the record, Barry Andrews is a big supporter of UCD. I've often seen him in Belfield.

He doesn't know that plus not likely to be drinking during the game.

3,488 Posts
    plus not likely to be drinking during the game.
    Em...yeah - not drinking...!

He doesn't know that plus not likely to be drinking during the game.
    I suppose I would be a bad example, I don't drink too much, even on an away trip to Dublin, I'd only have 4 or 5 pints, absolute maximum, over the course of the whole day.... A LOT LESS than some of the lads on the Sheehan Express.....

Where do you draw that conclusion from?
    "I fear that if ticket prices were to increase, this form of entertainment will once more be denied"

This form of entertainment clearly refers to football, if an increase in ticket prices at OT denies the Irish parent access to 'this form of entertainment' then IMO that says he doesn't consider football in Ireland as a 'formof entertainment'.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

3,488 Posts
    Yeah, see where you're coming from now...

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    "I fear that if ticket prices were to increase, this form of entertainment will once more be denied"

This form of entertainment clearly refers to football, if an increase in ticket prices at OT denies the Irish parent access to 'this form of entertainment' then IMO that says he doesn't consider football in Ireland as a 'formof entertainment'.
    Thius guy is talking out of his arse. If ticket prices go up it won't make a feckin' difference to 99.9% of the parents in Ireland, because they and their kids have never been near Old Trafford. The sad muppsets who spend a fortune travelling over and back tend not to do so as a family unit either, and should be taken for all they've got IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    And all you care about is some poxy team who didn't even finish in the top two of their own league and got NO trophy last season.
    Hear hear. They're just an average side now-is he going to comment on Charlton in future?

I got this, 2nd, reply:

fair point

Thats it in it's entirety, and so ends my brief relationship with Barry Andrews!.....
    LOL, probably the most honest, un spin-doctored, response from an Irish politician on the Eircom League or indeed any issue, ever.

Fair play to you for a great response to which he had no other answer.

And fair play to him for admitting as much.

TG