God i love to stereotype.......huh, English for yeeOriginally Posted by FarBeag
Did you see the news this evening on the three young girls who got pregnant at the ages of 12,14 and 16 years old, all from the same family.My God,i think this is scandalous.I would be devastated if they were my kids.
God i love to stereotype.......huh, English for yeeOriginally Posted by FarBeag
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach
I can't fathom how that could happen within at least some loose form of family structure. Surely after the first one got pregnant the parent(s) warned the other two. 12 is just downright dangerous to be pregnant at. Oh dear....Originally Posted by FarBeag
i think they all got pregnant (the first 2 anyway) within a month or so.Originally Posted by Poor Student
12 is shockingly dangerous and disgusting. Thinking back to when i was 12, i cannot imagine that happening, I was interested in other things, not boys. Far too young.![]()
Yeah, it's just hard to know what to think of that one. Is there some wider society problems to blame? Like media or something? Or poor or non-existent sex education? Or down right poor parenting?
erm, i dont know if ye saw it but they did a documentary on this family before they had the kids, the father wasnt there, but ithink there was a step dad, the mother was really happy for them!![]()
i dont konw, maybe some people in society think that there isnt anything better than kids, and that they dont look ahead for a career maybe first and then kids as they dont know what that is like.
I got a bit of a fright one day. I heard my young female cousin talking to my younger brother one day, she was in 3rd or 4th year at the time. She said a lot of her mates couldn't wait to get pregnant so they would be set up with social welfare and that. This school is in a middle class suburb (no disrespect to the working class) and all. I don't know what is going through young kids heads these days.
maybe that could have been a naive thing on their part like, that they see how well others get on, but have no "actual" experience of it, if you know what i mean.This school is in a middle class suburb (no disrespect to the working class) and all.
i think a lot of them don't have enough love from their parents family etc, therefore they want someone (i.e a baby) to love and love them. It is one reason i think can be used to explain why young children are having babies. They need more love and encouragement from families.Originally Posted by paul_oshea
ya well said KT, that makes a lot of sense.
I don't care what anyones says but the parents are surely to blame.It's bad enough one getting pregnant at an early age but the all three of them,what sort of parental control is there in this situation.The twelve year old's body has not even formed properly at this age. It makes me sick and angry as so many lives have been ruined here, Christ those young ones have so much growing up to do, with no support from a responsible father and to broadcast this to the media and probally getting paid for it is even more sad.
BTW Paul..You moved to Mayo fairly quickly.Is Hughie after you or something?
KT you're probably right, but feck me, we shouldn't even have these things to try and explain. I have also seen this craic on some crappy afternoon TV, of some mothers being delighted for their adolescent kids for having babies thinking it is great. They tended to be of the Southern US trailer park variety though.Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
The 12 year old could be a grandma at 24 if family history repeats itself... most 24 year olds I know havent even thought about kids, let alone grandchildren.
aye, he wouldnt be the first!!BTW Paul..You moved to Mayo fairly quickly.Is Hughie after you or something?
can you imagine if that happened though, that history did repeat itself, they could set a record like, there could be a great great grandma there. where along the line does it go wrong?
If only there could be an exam for parents we could issue licences to suitabel candidates.![]()
They probably just believed all the ranting bullsh*t they hear around them from wannabee hard men and their idols in the PDs.....Originally Posted by Poor Student
Exactly. I'd love to see just what the PD brigade would make of being given a month of living on social welfare with two kids to take care of. You'd have to throw in a few real-life events like having to get new shoes for the kids just to make it interesting....Originally Posted by patsh
don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......
happens here all the time, unfortunately![]()
official mascot of the USL-1 LEADING Richmond Kickers.
Did I see those reports right, was the mother blaming the government for her kids being pregnant???? Its up to the parent to educate the kids about sex etc ...
Its feckin awful because theres three young girls who can never live life now, lets hope the babies dont end up the same
Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!
"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991
2005 - a great year for Irish football
However you have a responsibility not to bring children into the world if cannot afford to raise them.Originally Posted by Jim Smith