Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Shels statement

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    I'm not outraged just having a laugh at the incompetence that runs the Shels SC. If they can't even word a simple statement, then they haven't really a got a clue have they. Never said it was Ollie. I did say nameless bloke

Or means: uncertainty, indefiniteness, alternatives. The person quite rightly was uncertain of who it was so covered all bases.
    All this is you having a lauugh over the fact they put an or instead of an and? Yes, okay.

I thought colours of that sort where banned at the gate going into the ground as I've seen on various sites and the papers ?? I think your just making this up as you go along
    They were supposed to be, but it wasn't enforced.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    I'm to admit I bought Daily Mail/Ireland on Sunday yesterday. Most of news page given to row in Berties pub. Compare that to the size of match report. Tiny three column affair with small photo beside it. Again, deadlines for match report not an excuse as, obviously, row was after game and almost a full page given to it.
    Emphasise the negative on football. I'm so sick of it and will not buy that paper ever again, especially with wnaker's like Donal Keenan in it.
    Sorry if this is off thread a bit.
    Exactly but sure does it come as a suprise at all? Typical of the media in this country, I'm so sick of it. Fair play to Tiktok for the letter he sent in (posted it on the Shels forum) but these clowns will never change.

I'll break down a bit the statement, seen as you think its just worded poorly.

On behalf of all Shelbourne supporters the Official Shelbourne Supporters Club wishes to make clear that absolutely none of our members or other supporters of our club were involved in any clashes with any Linfield supporters, before during or after last Saturday’s Setanta Cup Final inTolka Park
    How does he know absolutely know no Shels fan was involved, would a Shels fan no wear a Celtic jersey ? Shels do sell Celtic jerseys in their Club Shop ? Bought by Shels fans obviously. Could of been some of them invovled.

We have received numerous reports from many of our supporters who witnessed these attacks on the Linfield fans, by thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic FC
    So he didn't actually see it himself ? So how could he absolutely sure it was true and absolutely sure no Shels fan was involved if he seen nothing

Shelbourne supporters have a long and proud tradition of exemplary behavior at all matches both at home and in out travels throughout Ireland
    Maybe so in general, but all matches, surely not ?

All in all a very poorly worded false statement made by a lapdog of Ollie on behalf of the Shels SC

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    How does he know absolutely know no Shels fan was involved, would a Shels fan no wear a Celtic jersey ? Shels do sell Celtic jerseys in their Club Shop ? Bought by Shels fans obviously. Could of been some of them invovled.
    Because these people were in a group together, had no Shels gear on at all, didn't join in any Shelbourne songs and had never ever been seen in Tolka Park before.

So he didn't actually see it himself ? So how could he absolutely sure it was true and absolutely sure no Shels fan was involved if he seen nothing
    Because EVERYBODY who saw it says Shels weren't involved, even all of the Linfield fans. Could all be a mass conspiracy, but given that you've no Cork avatar I'll give you a bit more credit than that.

Maybe so in general, but all matches, surely not ?
    Probably not every match in the history of football ever, but the vast majority of them yes.

All in all a very poorly worded false statement made by a lapdog of Ollie on behalf of the Shels SC
    Poorly worded yes, false, no. Why do you keep bringing Ollie up, is it some kind of obsession on here?

Because these people were in a group together, had no Shels gear on at all, didn't join in any Shelbourne songs and had never ever been seen in Tolka Park before
    Maybe silly little indian woooo wooo chants aint everyones cup of tea Besides the Shels support seemed quite enough. They where in the Shels end with Celtic jerseys that can easily be bought in the Shels Club shop, so they could easily of been Shels fans

Because EVERYBODY who saw it says Shels weren't involved, even all of the Linfield fans. Could all be a mass conspiracy, but given that you've no Cork avatar I'll give you a bit more credit than that
    yes they where in green and white and not red. So they must of been Celtic and Rovers fans by that theory and no one else

Poorly worded yes, false, no. Why do you keep bringing Ollie up, is it some kind of obsession on here?
    I'm right on both counts and have seen no evidence to believe otherwise. I bring up Ollie because he started the whole thing off on Newstalk, then his lapdog SC back him up with that statement

[QUOTE=joeraki]Maybe silly little indian woooo wooo chants aint everyones cup of tea Besides the Shels support seemed quite enough. They where in the Shels end with Celtic jerseys that can easily be bought in the Shels Club shop, so they could easily of been Shels fans [.quote]

They WEREN'T Shelbourne fans. Argue it all you want I know it's true I saw them myself.

yes they where in green and white and not red. So they must of been Celtic and Rovers fans by that theory and no one else
    How many Shels fans wear Rovers jersies ffs?

I'm right on both counts and have seen no evidence to believe otherwise. I bring up Ollie because he started the whole thing off on Newstalk, then his lapdog SC back him up with that statement
    No you're not right, point out the factually incorrect parts of the statement rather than the poorly worded ones and don't just say omg they weren't there how could they know!!!11 I wasn't around in the 1940s and I know that Hitler wasn't the nicest guy ever. Every fan from every club who saw the incident has confirmed it was not Shels fans involved.

I'm to admit I bought Daily Mail/Ireland on Sunday yesterday. Most of news page given to row in Berties pub. Compare that to the size of match report. Tiny three column affair with small photo beside it. Again, deadlines for match report not an excuse as, obviously, row was after game and almost a full page given to it.
    Emphasise the negative on football. I'm so sick of it and will not buy that paper ever again, especially with wnaker's like Donal Keenan in it.
    Sorry if this is off thread a bit.
    That paper is a disgrace anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    That paper is a disgrace anyway.
    Totally agree - bought it 'cos I thought it might have a decent report on the game. Silly me. No point in relying on the Turbine for a report. Did any Sunday's carry a decent match report??

I think the Star on Sunday did have a decent report alright.

71 Posts
    They're the best by a mile for eL coverage on Sunday. Though some Sundays even they fail to carry a proper match report. They always have a column from Shoddy which can be quite painful to read sometimes.

The feature on Newstalk tonight was a laugh. Some guy from the 400 club on it and Ollie. Never heard of the guy from Rovers before but he spoke well and did a bit of research before going on the show, where as Ollie just ranted and raved. Ollie was asked for proof of Rovers fans in the incident. He had none apart from stuff he seen and what he heard from others. Laughable evidence with no facts from the Garda or FAI, though he said he'll get them and report back

If it had of been a courtroom, it wouldn't take a genius on who the judge would believe. A know thug within the EL, convicted criminal, bitter man, all his evidence is hear-say. He'd be hearing the words Guilty (again!) for spoofing

Thanks Eanna. Get the Star only on the odd, very odd, Tuesday to check out Junior/Schoolboy reports. Don't buy tabloids as a rule. Might buy Star on Sundays if there are EL games on Saturday nights.

71 Posts
    Thanks Eanna. Get the Star only on the odd, very odd, Tuesday to check out Junior/Schoolboy reports. Don't buy tabloids as a rule. Might buy Star on Sundays if there are EL games on Saturday nights.
    Hamish now the EPL season is over it might be worth it as they might give the eL up to four pages during the summer. Though GAA might overshadow it. Can't remember last season.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Hamish now the EPL season is over it might be worth it as they might give the eL up to four pages during the summer. Though GAA might overshadow it. Can't remember last season.
    Sounds like good advice Poor Student. Thanks man.

Joeraki, Eanna, et al

You can say all you want about Ollie Byrne (and as usual, you dish out the old dog eared lines) but when it comes to defending the integrity of club and fan, he rarely gets it wrong, and he does tend to come out on top of it.

Think about it for a second... why the hell is he saying something as sensational as this if, as you suggest, it is all a load of ********? This was a statement released by the SC, not the club, as there was a ton of misleading articles relating to Saturday's game that has tarnished the good reputation of Shels fans, and ultimately, all Eircom League Fans, Cork and Dundalk included. Shels through the statement and Ollie Byrne defend their fans, let it be know who or what they feel are to blame, and they are castigated.

The facts are this... guys in Green and White Hooped shirts caused aggro. May be Rovers fans, may be Celtic fans, may be Panakinaitos fans or Hibs fans. or St. Francis fans, I don't know, but you can bet your botton dollar that they have not specifically mentioned Rovers or Celtic without some foundation. But one thing is absolutely clear; it was not people wearing red shirts with the crest of Shelbourne FC on it.
    Shed End Invisibles. Where are we??

246 Posts
    Surprised no-one has commented on Ollies other outburst regarding throwing Rovers out of the league in relation to the licence issue. Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the incidents at Tolka on Saturday, and whether it was Rovers fans or not, this other stuff is far more insidious in my opinion, and totally out of order. Calling for other clubs to be thrown out of the league is a disgrace.

Quote Originally Posted by Shedendinvisibl
    Joeraki, Eanna, et al

You can say all you want about Ollie Byrne (and as usual, you dish out the old dog eared lines) but when it comes to defending the integrity of club and fan, he rarely gets it wrong, and he does tend to come out on top of it.
    Oh he's great at defending his club. But Oily Byrne and integrity in the same sentence? You're having a laugh! He's a thug, a bully and a criminal.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD
    Surprised no-one has commented on Ollies other outburst regarding throwing Rovers out of the league in relation to the licence issue. Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the incidents at Tolka on Saturday, and whether it was Rovers fans or not, this other stuff is far more insidious in my opinion, and totally out of order. Calling for other clubs to be thrown out of the league is a disgrace.
    It is totally out of order, but what would you expect from Oily. He's an absolute disgrace and a law unto himself at this stage

71 Posts
    But honestly Shels lads if Ollie's main concern is to keep your club's good name alone did the statement need to specify of what clubs the shirts were from? Would it not be enough to mention they wore shirts of clubs that were not Shels? Do you not think he is tarnishing Shamrock Rovers' name unecessarily here? The eL doesn't need this kind of bad publicity and he is highlighting the fact it was eL "fans" doing this. I think he could have handled this matter better in a more conscious way towards Irish football in general and towards other clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    But honestly Shels lads if Ollie's main concern is to keep your club's good name alone did the statement need to specify of what clubs the shirts were from? Would it not be enough to mention they wore shirts of clubs that were not Shels? Do you not think he is tarnishing Shamrock Rovers' name unecessarily here? The eL doesn't need this kind of bad publicity and he is highlighting the fact it was eL "fans" doing this. I think he could have handled this matter better in a more conscious way towards Irish football in general and towards other clubs.
    That's what Oily is good at though. Having a go at other clubs. If he's not wading into their fans fists first, he's mouthing off about them. I'm all for the integrity of a club and it's fans, but its a bit rich of Ollie Byrne to give out about anyone being violent at a football match

Did the Shelbourne supporters club release a statement condemning Ollie Byrne's assault on Derry fans, thuggish actions towards Pats fans or his attempted assault on a steward at Turners Cross a few years back. "Glass houses" and all that

71 Posts
    That's what Oily is good at though. Having a go at other clubs. If he's not wading into their fans fists first, he's mouthing off about them. I'm all for the integrity of a club and it's fans, but its a bit rich of Ollie Byrne to give out about anyone being violent at a football match

Did the Shelbourne supporters club release a statement condemning Ollie Byrne's assault on Derry fans, thuggish actions towards Pats fans or his attempted assault on a steward at Turners Cross a few years back. "Glass houses" and all that
    As I said before in another thread I think Byrne lacks a certain etiquette. He seems to be focused on pushing other clubs down as well as his upwards. In my opinion the game is about fostering relations with other clubs and working on mutual issues to drive the game as a whole forward whereas he seems to be highly Shels orientated with little regard for the others. I suppose it's his perogative but I see it as ungentlemanly and unsporting.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast